Cracked Pepper and Brown Sugar Oven Roasted Bacon

Our tradition for New Year was very simple.  We cooked breakfast for dinner.  Instead of a fancy schmancy meal, we just cook a plain breakfast meal.  So, of course breakfast would include some tasty, crunchy bacon.  Usually, I just pan fried the bacon, but this time I had to do everything myself, so I oven roasted it instead.  I found this recipe last year, and had served the bacon for an Easter Brunch and my family loved it.

So I needed the bacon, brown sugar, black pepper, and for a variety, red pepper flakes.


First I lined up my cookie sheet with parchment paper for easy clean up.


Then I lined up the bacon strips on top of it.


I sprinkled the brown sugar on top of the bacon…


I only did two strips with this.  The rest of them would be plain bacon, since Hubby preferred to have the plain bacon with his breakfast.


Then the fresh cracked pepper went on top of the two slices of bacon…


Then on one, I sprinkled the red pepper flakes to give it a little zing.


The bacon slices were ready to be baked!


So I let them bake at 400F for about 30 minutes, since we really like our bacon crispy.


I served it alongside the sunny side up eggs and hash browns..

The bacon was delicious.  It was crispy and sweet, with a hint of the spiciness from the cracked pepper.


The one with the red pepper flakes was pretty good too.  Not too spicy, just a hint of spiciness.


So, when you don’t feel like dealing with the splatter from frying bacon, try the oven roasted method.  Slam, Bam and they were ready!

Print recipe here.

Cracked Pepper & Brown Sugar Oven-Roasted Bacon Recipe
Recipe adapted from Divine Dinner Party.com

This is the star dish of brunch menus. You can make this sweet, spicy, crisp bacon recipe in the upper rack of the oven while your ham and egg tarts bake on the lower. If you’ve never tried a recipe for oven-cooked bacon, now’s the time to start. It comes out crisp, cleanly-shaped (no rolled up bacon “balls”), and absolutely delicious. Be sure to use a rimmed jelly roll pan unless you want bacon fat to drip and fill your whole house with nasty fat-smoke.

Serves 6-8 people.

Ingredients:
1 lb. lean bacon, sliced
1 tsp. fresh cracked black pepper
2 tsp. brown sugar
red pepper flakes (optional)

Instructions: Preheat the oven to 400 F. Line a jelly roll pan with parchment paper.
Arrange bacon slices on parchment paper. Sprinkle with pepper and brown sugar and red pepper flakes (optional).
Bake about 10 minutes. Lots of fat will collect during this time– drain that now.
Return bacon to oven and bake another 5 to 10 minutes, until it has reached your desired level of crispness.
Remove from oven and immediate transfer bacon slices onto paper towels.
Note: This is also wonderful made without the sugar and pepper– when I want to make plain bacon, I always do it this way. It comes out perfect every time!

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment