Southern Buttermilk Biscuits

This is a very simple, quick and easy biscuit recipe I found at Food.com.  Most of the ingredients are pantry ingredients.  For buttermilk, rather than buying a bottle of buttermilk, now I just have the powdered buttermilk in my refrigerator.  It is handy and I don’t have leftover buttermilk sitting in the refrigerator anymore.

I needed the all-purpose flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, butter, buttermilk powder and water.  The recipe called for sugar for topping, but it was not listed in the steps so I forgot about it all together.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 1

 

First I added the all-purpose flour into the food processor bowl.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 2

 

Then the baking soda.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 3

 

Baking powder was next.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 4

 

Salt…

AK_Sthrn_bisc 5

 

And lastly, the buttermilk powder.  At the time I was debating whether to make the buttermilk, or just adding the water separately.  The direction in the buttermilk powder can indicates to blend the buttermilk powder with the other dry ingredients and then add the appropriate amount of water.  So I ended up adding the buttermilk powder into the food processor, along with the other dry ingredients.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 6

 

Then I pulsed the food processor to combine the dry ingredients.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 7

 

I added the cold, cut up butter into the bowl.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 8

 

Pulsed it again a few times until I had a coarse meal mixture.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 9

 

I transferred the mixture into a medium sized mixing bowl.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 11

 

Slowly added the water and combined it until I had wet dough.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 12

 

Then I transferred the dough onto a floured wooden cutting board.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 13

 

I put flour on my palms and patted the dough until it was ½ inch thick.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 14

 

Then, using a pastry cutter, I started folding the left side of the dough into the right side.  Then the top of the dough toward me…

AK_Sthrn_bisc 15

 

Then the right side toward the left side…

AK_Sthrn_bisc 16

 

And then the bottom side to the top…

AK_Sthrn_bisc 17

 

Until I had a folded dough with an inch of thickness.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 18

 

Then I started to cut the dough using a 2 ½ inches round biscuit cutter.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 19

 

And transferred them onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 20

 

These biscuits looked very delicate…

AK_Sthrn_bisc 21

 

I baked them for 10 – 12 minutes, and they did look very scrumptious.

AK_Sthrn_bisc 22

 

I put butter in between the sliced biscuits… and it was yummy!

AK_Sthrn_bisc 23

 

Or, Pear-Apple Butter could be added to the biscuits, and it was HEAVEN!!  The biscuits were very fresh, with a little bit of crunchiness from the outer side of the biscuits, but very tender and soft on the inside.  Thank you P4 for sharing the recipe!

AK_Sthrn_bisc 24

 

Print recipe here.

Southern Buttermilk Biscuits
Recipe adapted from: P4
Ingredients:
2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
¼ tsp baking soda
1 tbs baking powder
1 tsp kosher salt
6 tbs cold unsalted butter
4 tbs buttermilk powder (1 cup buttermilk)
1 cup water – omit if using 1 cup buttermilk

Preparation:
Preheat the oven to 450F.
In a food processor, combine all of the dry ingredients.
Add cut up cold butter into the bowl and process until you have crumbles.
Drizzle the water and process until just combined. The dough should be very wet.
Dust a large wooden cutting board with all-purpose flour.
Pour biscuit dough onto the cutting board.
Gently pat dough out until it is about ½ inch thick. Using a pastry cutter, fold the dough five times, until it reaches 1 inch thickness.
Cut dough with a biscuit cutter.
Scraps can be gently kneaded together. But these will not rise as much.
Put biscuits on a cookie sheet. For crunchier sides, set the biscuits apart. For softer sides, put the biscuits touching each other.
Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, until light brown.

Notes: shaped dough can be frozen up to a month. Bake at 450F for 20 minutes from frozen state.

 

This entry was posted in biscuits, buttermilk, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

