Food processor Ice Cream

Did you know that you can make homemade ice cream using a food processor?  I did not know that before, and therefore never even thought about making ice cream myself. Hubby found the View from Great Island blog and forwarded the link to me.  I read the post and immediately thought I would like to try the recipe.  I have made the recipe several times and even brought it to the office.  So this recipe is definitely a keeper and super easy. You just have to plan ahead a little bit since it does take time to make this ice cream, versus if you have the ice cream machine and pretty much can make it in no time.

I needed a bag of frozen mixed berries, heavy cream, whole milk, sugar, and vanilla. That’s it!

AK_FP_Ice 1

 

I poured the heavy cream into a medium-sized pot, and added the sugar.

AK_FP_Ice 2

 

Then I added the milk…

AK_FP_Ice 3

 

Added the vanilla…

AK_FP_Ice 4

 

And basically heated the cream mixture until the sugar was dissolved.

AK_FP_Ice 5

 

Then, after letting the cream mixture cool off a little bit, the cream mixture got poured into a gallon size freezer bag.

AK_FP_Ice 6

 

I put this bag on a cookie sheet and put it into the freezer to harden.

AK_FP_Ice 7

 

Once the cream mixture was hardened for four to six hours, I pulled it out of the freezer. At this time, this cream mixture was still pliable. I have made it when it was frozen for a whole night, and it was just fine. I just had to work a bit harder to break the frozen cream into pieces.  I broke it into chunks to fit them into my food processor.

AK_FP_Ice 8

 

I turned on the machine and basically it turned it into a frozen slush.

AK_FP_Ice 9

 

Then I added the frozen berries…

AK_FP_Ice 10

 

Turned on the button again, and this is what I got.

AK_FP_Ice 11

 

A beautiful, purple frozen slush.

AK_FP_Ice 12

 

I scooped the mixture into an empty container and put the container into the freezer to harden this yumminess.  Let me tell you, I decided to do a taste test and I ended up licking the spatula clean!

AK_FP_Ice 13

 

This ice cream was very creamy, not overly sweet, but sweet enough to satisfy your sweet tooth.  Thank you Sue for sharing the recipe!

AK_FP_Ice 16

 

 

Food Processor Ice Cream
Recipe courtesy: the View from Great Island
Ingredients:
2 cups heavy cream
1 cup whole milk
12 oz frozen mix berries
2 tsp vanilla extract
¾ cups sugar

Preparation:
In medium heat, heat heavy cream, milk, sugar and vanilla in a medium size pot pan until sugar dissolves.
Turn off heat and let the cream mixture cool a little bit. Pour the milk/cream mixture into a one gallon freezer bag. Squeeze out any air and close the bag.
Put the bag into a baking pan or on a cookie sheet and put into the freezer for several hours or overnight to harden.
Broken the cream mixture into pieces and put them into the food processor bowl.
Process until cream mixture becomes smooth.
Add frozen berries and process until berries are combined with cream mixture.
Scoop berries mixture into a freezer proof container and put into the freezer to harden.
Serve.

This entry was posted in Blackberry, Dairy, Dessert, Heavy cream, Ice cream, milk and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

