Plum Cobbler with Marzipan-Biscuit Topping

This was another recipe that we received from cooking.com.  As I mentioned in the previous post, cooking.com is no longer an active site.

This recipe was requested by Hubby for his birthday and this was the first time I heard about Plum Cobbler and wasn’t sure what to expect.  On top of that, it used Marzipan, which I knew was some sort of almond paste and usually it’s in the form of pretty candies.

So before I committed to Hubby and agreed to make it for him, I checked my grocery store to make sure they carried marzipan.  And you know the answer to that, since I’m blogging about it.

Alas, I had no picture for the ingredients.  Apparently, I lined up everything for the photo op and just did not click the button!  So you will have to use your imagination to picture the ingredients: plums, sugar, marzipan, tapioca, baking powder, all-purpose flour, butter, cinnamon, whipping cream.

First I pitted the plums and cut them into wedges and put them into a medium size mixing bowl.

AK_PlumCobbler01

 

In a small bowl, I added the instant tapioca.

AK_PlumCobbler02

 

Added the cinnamon…

AK_PlumCobbler03

 

Mixed them well.

AK_PlumCobbler04

 

Then I poured the tapioca mixture into the plum bowl.

AK_PlumCobbler05

 

I coated the plums with the tapioca mixture and set it aside for 15 minutes.

AK_PlumCobbler06

 

Then I poured the plums into a greased 8 x 8 Pyrex baking pan.

AK_PlumCobbler10

 

I added sliced butter on top and baked it at 350F for an hour until the fruit was bubbly.

AK_PlumCobbler11

 

In a food processor, I added flour and sugar.

AK_PlumCobbler07

 

Baking powder…

AK_PlumCobbler08

 

Salt, and pulsed it to combine.

AK_PlumCobbler09

 

Then I added the marzipan…

AK_PlumCobbler12

 

Pulsed it until I got crumbles of marzipan and flour.

AK_PlumCobbler14

 

Then I added the cubed cold butter…

AK_PlumCobbler15

 

Pulsed the food processor while adding the heavy cream slowly.

AK_PlumCobbler16

 

When I was finished, I got this wet looking dough.

AK_PlumCobbler17

 

I transferred it to a small bowl for easier handling…

AK_PlumCobbler18

 

By this time, the plum was cooked and the juices were soaking the plums.

AK_PlumCobbler13

 

Then I put dollops of the dough and baked the cobbler at 350F for 40 minutes.

AK_PlumCobbler20

 

Isn’t this beautiful looking cobbler?

AK_PlumCobbler21

 

We served it with a dollop of whipped cream, and we were delighted to have this dessert. This recipe is definitely a keeper!

AK_PlumCobbler22

 

Try this recipe let me know what you think!

Print recipe here.

Plum Cobbler with Marzipan- Biscuit Topping
Recipe courtesy: cooking.com

Ingredients:

For the filling:
2 – ½ lbs or 6 cups – pitted, sliced plums
2/3 cup sugar
3 tbs instant tapioca
½ tsp cinnamon powder
2 tbs butter

For the Biscuit Topping:
1 cup all purpose flour
3 tbs sugar
1 ½ tsp baking powder
½ tsp salt
2/3 cup marzipan, broken into pieces
¼ cup chilled whipping cream
Vanilla ice cream or whipped cream for serving

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 375 F.
Pit plums and slice into wedges.
In a small mixing bowl, combine instant tapioca and cinnamon.
Sprinkle tapioca mixture into plum wedges and mix to combine. Set aside for 15 minutes.
Pour plums into a greased 8×8 Pyrex baking dish.
Bake for an hour until fruit mixture bubbles in the center.
While the plum is baking, combing all-purpose flour and marzipan in a food processor. Pulse until you get crumbles.
Add cubed cold butter, pulse the food processor while adding the heavy cream.
Spoon dough by a spoonful and put dollop of dough on top of the plum filling.
Turn down oven temperature to 350F.
Bake cobbler for 40 minutes, until biscuit topping is golden brown.
Let cool prior serving. Serve with whipped cream or vanilla ice cream.

 

This entry was posted in Cobbler, Dessert, plum and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

