Tuscan Mushrooms

I have to thank two people for this recipe.  One is Katie, my daughter-in-law who gave me the Paleo Italian Cooking cookbook for Christmas, and the other is Cindy Barbieri, the author who created this recipe.  This recipe is very easy to make, yet it is so tasty.  And the family has approved of this recipe, so here I am logging it in this blog.

I love mushrooms, so much that whenever I see mushrooms in the grocery store, or those foot stools in the garden, I smile.  There is something about the perfect circular shape of mushrooms that just brings joy to me.  It started when my mom cooked some Chinese dish with canned champignon.  I loved the roundness of champignon, as well as the taste.

So when I saw this recipe in the book, I got really excited.  It’s Paleo without having to convert the recipe into a Paleo recipe.  The only thing I did different than the cookbook was to throw in the stems as part of the filling.

So I needed large white button mushrooms, roasted red bell pepper, green olives, green onions, olive oil, salt, pepper, fresh basil and garlic (not in picture).

AK_TuscanMush 1

 

 

Typically, I rinse my mushrooms.  I have read that it is not necessary to wash the mushrooms since you can just brush off the growing medium that might stick to the mushrooms.  But I do know that if you rinse the mushrooms, then it will absorb some of the water.  So in this case, I only wiped the mushrooms and just prayed to God that it was not contaminated with any killer germs.

AK_TuscanMush 2

 

 

I broke off the stems from each of the mushroom caps.

AK_TuscanMush 3

 

There you go, a bowl of mushroom caps ready to be filled.

AK_TuscanMush 4

 

Then I chopped up the mushroom stems and was going to stir fry them.

AK_TuscanMush 5

 

I heated a small frying pan and drizzled olive oil and dumped the chopped stems in it.

AK_TuscanMush 6

 

It was then when I thought, hmm… how about if I added minced garlic?  Since the mushroom was already cooking, I decided to grate the garlic with a microplane instead of mincing it.

AK_TuscanMush 7

 

While the mushroom was cooking, I chopped up the olives.

AK_TuscanMush 8

 

Then I put it in a small mixing bowl and worked on the roasted red bell peppers.

AK_TuscanMush 9

 

Mushroom stems were done and ready to be used as filling.  I also thought at the time, I could just eat this right now…. But I stopped myself since it had to cool a bit.

AK_TuscanMush 10

 

So I dumped the chopped stems into the mixing bowl too.

AK_TuscanMush 11

 

Added some black pepper, and mixed them well.  I skipped the salt since the olives were salty already.

AK_TuscanMush 12

 

Then I drizzled olive oil and sprinkled pepper and salt on the mushroom caps.

AK_TuscanMush 14

 

Lined the mushroom caps on a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

AK_TuscanMush 15

 

Turned on the oven to 400F – since I was using the small convection oven, it heats up pretty fast and I didn’t need to wait half an hour for the oven to get hot.  Then I worked on filling the mushroom caps.  Since I had plenty of filling with the help of the chopped stems, I had a mound stuffed mushrooms!

AK_TuscanMush 17

 

I think they look good to eat at this time too!

AK_TuscanMush 18

 

After being baked – the mushrooms shrank a bit, but they still looked delicious.

AK_TuscanMush 19

 

I transferred them to a serving plate and garnished them with the fresh chopped basil.

AK_TuscanMush 20

 

They were very yummy and I made them again as an appetizer for a family gathering, and everybody liked them!

AK_TuscanMush 21

 

So, if you need something to please a crowd, this recipe is it!

AK_TuscanMush 22

 

Print recipe here.

Tuscan Mushrooms
Recipe adapted from Paleo Italian Cooking cookbook by Cindy Barbieri

Ingredients:
1 lbs large white mushrooms
1 clove garlic, minced
½ cup diced roasted red bell pepper
½ cup chopped green olives
2 green onions, chopped
Extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
¼ cup finely chopped fresh basil leaves, for garnish

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 400F.
Clean mushroom and detach the stems.  Chop up stems and set aside.
Heat a skillet in a medium heat.  Add olive oil and add minced garlic and the chopped up mushroom stems.  Stir fry until chopped mushroom stems are tender. Set aside.
In a small size mixing bowl, add diced red bell pepper, chopped olives, chopped green onions and chopped mushroom stems.  Add a tablespoon of olive oil and sprinkle black pepper; mix well.
Line a cookie sheet with a parchment paper.  Arrange mushroom caps with the cavity side up and drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Using a teaspoon, scoop the filling into the cavity of each mushroom caps.
Bake mushroom until tender, about 20 minutes.
Transfer to a serving plate, garnish with chopped basil leaves.
Serve warm.

 

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Food, mushroom and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

