Low Carb Zuppa Toscana

I received this recipe from Lisa at Low Carb Yum’s email subscription.  It was a delicious, quick and tasty soup, and I could adapt it to make it Paleo by switching the heavy cream with coconut milk.  You can make this soup ahead as well and just leave it in the crock pot to simmer until dinner time.

To make this soup, I needed daikon, Italian sausages, onion, garlic, frozen chopped spinach, bacon (in here I used guanciale just because I had it on hand), chicken broth, black pepper, and coconut milk.  I skipped the salt since guanciale is plenty salty.  Guanciale is Italian cured meat made out of pork jowls or cheek and this particular brand is very salty to us.

AK_Zuppa 1

 

First order of the business was to chop the daikon into cubes.

AK_Zuppa 5

 

Then I chopped the onion and minced the garlic.

AK_Zuppa 3

 

Sliced the guanciale so I could pan fry it.

AK_Zuppa 2

 

After I pan fried it, I sliced the cooked guanciale into thin slices.

AK_Zuppa 4

 

Then, I browned the Italian sausages in a large nonstick skillet.  I was debating whether I wanted to brown the sausages in the pot or not, but then I didn’t want the sausages to stick to the bottom of the pot.  So, I just used the nonstick skillet and skipped the oil to brown the sausages.

AK_Zuppa 6

 

In the meantime, I started heating the chicken broth in a large soup pot.  The commercial broth only came in 32 oz, so I had to use about 8 oz of my own homemade chicken broth to make up to the 72 oz the recipe called for.

AK_Zuppa 7

 

Halfway through browning the Italian sausages, I added the onion and garlic.

AK_Zuppa 8

 

Then, after the Italian sausages were browned and the onion was caramelized, I put them into the broth pot.

AK_Zuppa 9

 

Then I added the cubed daikon and semi-thawed frozen spinach.

AK_Zuppa 10

 

Then I added the cup of coconut milk and sliced guanciale to the pot.  I also added fresh cracked black pepper to taste.  Next time, I will need to use the bigger pot.

AK_Zuppa 11

 

I let the soup come to a simmer, and then I transferred it to a crock pot and let it continue to cook until we were ready for dinner.

AK_Zuppa 12

 

It was a quick, easy soup to make and very filling.  It tasted even better the next day! Thank you Lisa for sharing this recipe.

AK_Zuppa 14

 

Print recipe here.

Low Carb Zuppa Toscana
Recipe adapted from: Low Carb Yum

Ingredients:
1.5 – 2 lbs mild bulk Italian sausage
1 small onion, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
74 oz chicken broth
1 lbs daikon, peeled and cubed
10 oz package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
1 can coconut milk (plus more if you like it creamier)
6 slices cooked bacon, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
Crush red pepper to taste

Preparation:

In a large pot pan, heat the broth.
In a large nonstick skillet, brown the Italian sausage with onion and garlic. Once the sausages are browned, pour the mixture into the broth pot. (Or you can brown your sausages in a large pot and then add the broth and skip washing the skillet).
Add the cut up daikon, spinach, cream and chopped bacon. Season with salt and pepper. Add crush red pepper if everyone in the household like spicy. If not, skip the crush red pepper.
You can let this soup simmer in a pot, or transfer it to a crock pot on medium/low heat until ready to serve.

This entry was posted in Daikon, Italian, italian sausage, Paleo, soup and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

