Snickers Salad

This is a forgotten post that I found when I was trying to find a recipe in my inbox. It had been reviewed and ready to be uploaded, eight months ago.  So, let me just upload this post as is, before I forget about this post again.🙂

Although we are trying out healthy Paleo recipes, I am not a total convert yet.  I am still cleaning out our pantry, and working slowly at it, too.  Usually, I stock up on light brown sugar and powdered sugar, but now I only have half a bag of each.  In a way, I am glad that the supplies are being used, but then, I’m also nervous.  What if I had a sudden kick to bake something?  Will I have enough brown sugar to use?  I don’t know if I like the feeling that I don’t have enough basic baking ingredients on hand anymore.

But there is one ingredient that I’m glad that I don’t have anymore.  A half-eaten Giant Snicker’s Bar.  We had half of a Giant’s Snickers in the refrigerator that Hubby can’t eat anymore.  I don’t really like sweets that much, so, I wasn’t even thinking that I would eat the candy bar myself.  So instead, I went to the net and looked for recipes that involved Snickers, and I hit the jackpot.  It was something easy too.  Snickers Salad. Who would have thought?🙂

So when we had a birthday celebration at the office, I made this recipe.  All I needed were Granny Smith apples, cream cheese, whipped cream, powdered sugar, and Snickers candy bars.  And believe me, I had all of the ingredients except apples.  So apples made it to the grocery list.

 

AK_Snickers 1

 

When I was reading the review, someone commented that it was easier to break the Snicker after it was frozen.  So I did just that, froze the Snickers.  After it was frozen, or half frozen, I went to the garage and got the hammer and started hammering the Snickers. That person was right, the Snickers broke into pieces easily.  But I went ahead and used the food processor to make the Snickers into tiny bits.

I peeled and cubed the apples and then I beat the powdered sugar into the cream cheese with a mixer . . .

AK_Snickers 2

 

Until it was smooth.

AK_Snickers 3

 

Then I added the whipped cream into the cream cheese mixture.

AK_Snickers 4

 

Then the Snickers bits . . .

AK_Snickers 5

 

And the dressing was done.

AK_Snickers 6

 

Put the cubed apples into the mixing bowl…

AK_Snickers 7

 

Mixed it until the apples were coated with the cream cheese mixture.

AK_Snickers 8

 

Mine came up very thick, but since this was for the office, it wasn’t eaten immediately.
After overnight, there was some liquid at the bottom of the bowl, and I just remixed the apples and it was just fine.

I scooped a little into a ramekin, to taste it.

AK_Snickers 9

 

The crunchy, tartness of the apple, combined with the sweetness of the Snickers were the magical combination.  It was sweet, but not too sweet, and it was just simply delicious.  My co-workers liked them, and it is definitely a recipe that can be prepared ahead of time.

AK_Snickers 10

 

Print recipe here.

Snickers Salad
Recipe courtesy: LoriInIndiana

Ingredients:

Snicker bars
1- 8 oz cream cheese, softened to room temperature
1 cup powdered sugar
1 – 12 oz container Cool whip, thawed
6 Snickers bars
4-6 Granny Smith apples, peel, cut into half an inch cubes.

Preparation:

Freeze Snicker bars for a few hours.
Put Snicker bars into a ziploc bag, and break into pieces with a rolling pin or a hammer.
For chunkier Snickers, use the broken Snickers as is.
If you prefer small bits, process with food processor as desired.

In a large mixing bowl, beat powdered sugar into softened cream cheese until combined.
Fold in cool whip and Snicker chunks/bits into the cream cheese mixture.
Add chopped apples, mix well.
Cover with plastic wrap, store in refrigerator for at least an hour.
If there is liquid in the bottom of the bowl, just mix the salad to incorporate liquid into salad.
Serve.

 

 

This entry was posted in Apple, Candy, Cream cheese, Dessert, Food, Salad, Snickers and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

