Blue Cheese-Apricot Bites

Some of my family and coworkers know that I usually will try a recipe, and let my family or coworkers be the guinea pigs.  I make them, but I don’t eat them.  This Blue Cheese-Apricot Bites was one of those. For one, this appetizer has a stinky cheese in it, although once it got mixed in with the cream cheese, the stinky-ness became unnoticeable.  I am starting to enjoy cheese, but there is something about Blue Cheese that made me think twice.

I made this recipe two years ago, and some of my family really liked it.  So, I decided to make this recipe again, although I made this recipe the day of Thanksgiving.  And it was the same deal, I made the bites, but I did not eat them.  This time though, I decided to try it.  So I asked Cliff, my husband’s first cousin’s husband if he had tried the Apricot bites and how did he like them.  He said he liked them but he did not know who made it.  I told him that I did and he found it very funny that I did not know how it tasted!  I usually rely on reader’s reviews and since I got confirmation from two years ago that some of the family found it to be tasty, I feel that I can put this recipe on my blog.  And yes, it was very tasty, a combination of sweet and saltiness, the creaminess of the cheese… You will have to make it and try it yourself.🙂

The ingredients were dried apricots, blue cheese, cream cheese, butter, walnuts, sugar, and fresh rosemary.

AK_BC Apricot 1

 

First I chopped the walnuts very finely.

AK_BC Apricot 2

 

Then I melted the butter in a small skillet on medium heat.

AK_BC Apricot 3

 

Added the chopped walnuts…

AK_BC Apricot 4

 

Sugar…

AK_BC Apricot 5

 

Stirred the walnut-sugar mixture and cooked it until the walnuts were slightly toasted.

AK_BC Apricot 6

 

Then added the chopped rosemary, and let the walnut mixture cool.  When it cooled, it actually hardened and I had to put it into a ziplock bag, and then hit them with the rolling pin to crumble them.

AK_BC Apricot 7

 

In a medium mixing bowl, I combined the cream cheese and Blue Cheese….

AK_BC Apricot 8

 

Then I beat it up with a mixer…

AK_BC Apricot 9

 

Until well combined.

AK_BC Apricot 10

 

After that, I put the apricots onto a plate.  Note that the recipe calls for 16 apricots, but I doubled the recipe and I just put however many apricots would fit onto the plate.

AK_BC Apricot 11

 

Then I put dollops of the Blue Cheese mixture on top of the apricots.

AK_BC Apricot 12

 

Sprinkled the caramelized walnut on top.  Then I found out that I could take a pinch of the walnuts, then put it on top of the Blue Cheese mixture and pressed down a bit so that the walnuts would stick to the Blue Cheese mixture and would not roll off.

AK_BC Apricot 13

 

Lastly, I sprinkled minced fresh rosemary for garnish.

AK_BC Apricot 14

 

And it was ready!

AK_BC Apricot 15

 

So, are you going to make some?  It was really easy to make and very tasty!

AK_BC Apricot 16

 

Print recipe here.

Blue Cheese-Apricot Bites
Recipe courtesy: Bhg.com

Ingredients:

16-20 dried apricots
2 tbs butter
2 tbs minced walnut
2 tsp sugar
½ tsp minced fresh rosemary, and 1/4 tsp minced rosemary for garnish
1/4 cup crumbled Blue Cheese or Gorgonzola
1 oz cream cheese
Preparation:

Melt butter in a small skillet over medium heat.

Add walnut and sugar, cook for about two to three minutes until the walnuts are slightly toasted.  Add ½ tsp or rosemary, cook for half a minute or until fragrant.

Transfer to a bowl and let cool completely. If it gets hard, just put them in a ziploc bag and crumble it by using a rolling pin.

In a medium size mixing bowl, mix the Blue Cheese and cream cheese using a mixer.

Put apricots in the serving plate.

Depending on the size, put about 3/4 tsp of the Blue Cheese mixture on top of the apricot.

Sprinkle with walnuts mixture.

And sprinkle with the additional minced rosemary for garnish.

 

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Apricot, Blue Cheese and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

