Spinach Balls

This past Thanksgiving, I tried to be more prepared than I was in previous years.  As you all know, Thanksgiving and Christmas can be a very stressful times, especially if you are hosting the dinner.  So, as soon as I knew that we were having Thanksgiving dinner at our house, I scoured the web for easy dessert or appetizer recipes that could be made ahead. Once I found and decided upon recipes that I wanted to make, I prepared them several weeks before Thanksgiving.  The result – I was less stressed and was actually able to enjoy the day.  I only needed to remember to thaw the appetizers or dessert the night before and just reheat them a few hours before the family are coming.

One of the recipes that I had made before was Spinach Balls.  This is definitely a recipe that can be made ahead, is easy and tastes good as well.  One time, I even made double batch and ended up taking the other batch to the office for a birthday celebration.

The ingredients were pretty simple, frozen spinach, onion, stuffing, butter, Parmesan cheese, garlic salt and pepper.

AK_Spinach Balls 1

 

Since I had made this recipe several times, I knew that I needed to get the chopped spinach rather than whole leaf spinach.  The reason was the whole leaf spinach is stringy, making it harder to bite into the balls or shape them.  After thawing the spinach, I drained it really well using a clean kitchen towel, and by squeezing the water out of the thawed spinach.

AK_Spinach Balls 2

 

So after the spinach was squeezed well, I added the stuffing into the mixing bowl, and then the Parmesan cheese…

AK_Spinach Balls 3

 

Garlic Salt…

AK_Spinach Balls 4

 

Pepper…

AK_Spinach Balls 5

 

Added the chopped onion and melted butter…

AK_Spinach Balls 6

 

Then the egg…

AK_Spinach Balls 7

 

Put on my plastic glove and started mixing the ingredients..

AK_Spinach Balls 8

 

Until they were all combined and incorporated.

AK_Spinach Balls 9

 

I shaped them into balls and put the balls onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.

AK_Spinach Balls 10

 

Baked them at 350F for 20 minutes, and they were done!

AK_Spinach Balls 11

 

I let them cool completely and then froze them. The night before, I placed the frozen balls into the refrigerator to thaw, and just reheated them at 350 for 10 minutes or until warm.

AK_Spinach Balls 12

 

Thank you Tracey for sharing this recipe!

Print recipe here.

Spinach Balls

Recipe courtesy: a friend of The Kitchen is My Playground

Ingredients:

2 – 10 oz of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained
2 small onions, chopped finely
2 1/4 cup of Pepperidge Seasoned Stuffing
6 eggs, beaten
1/2 cup melted butter
1/2 cup shredded Parmesan cheese
2 tsp garlic salt
1 tsp black pepper

Preparation:

Preheat oven into 350F.
Mix all of the ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Shape into a one inch balls.
Bake for 20 minutes.
If making ahead, let cool completely and then freeze. Remove from freezer 30 minutes, or thaw overnight, then bake at 350F for 10 minutes or until warm.

This entry was posted in Appetizer, Food, Parmesan, Spinach and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

