Spicy Sweet Potato Fries

Hubby found this recipe from Rodale recipe finder when he started looking into food that has lower glycemic index and Paleo friendly.  This is one of my to go to recipes that is very easy and quick to prepare.  When I want a side dish that is rather filling, I just automatically think of this recipe.  And, it is so easy, I don’t need to pull up the recipe and re-read it again.  But, knowing how my brain works, I decided to go ahead and blog this.

We only needed sweet potatoes, olive oil, cayenne pepper, paprika, and salt.

AK_SWP Fries01

 

After scrubbing the sweet potatoes clean, I cut them up into wedges.  Then, I put the wedges into a large mixing bowl, drizzle olive oil, and toss the sweet potato wedges around until they were coated with olive oil.

AK_SWP Fries02

 

I put the wedges onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper.  Previously, I had lined the cookie sheet with aluminum foil, but then, I had to spray the foil with cooking spray to prevent sticking.  When I say sticking, I really mean it.  The sweet potato would caramelized and that liquid would glued to the foil.

AK_SWP Fries03

 

Then, I sprinkled the cayenne, paprika and salt on the wedges.  The recipe said to toss the spices with the olive oil in the mixing bowl – but I just prefer to sprinkle the spices.  That way I know every single wedge had some spices.

AK_SWP Fries04

 

Then, I baked the wedges in a preheated convection oven to 400F for 30 minutes.

AK_SWP Fries05

 

That’s how easy it was to make the Spicy – Sweet Potato Fries.  Nothing complicated, very simple and tasty side dish.

AK_SWP Fries06

AK_SWP Fries07

AK_SWP Fries08

 

 

Print recipe here.

Spicy – Sweet Potato Fries
Recipe courtesy: Rodale Recipe finder

Ingredients:
Sweet Potato
Olive oil to coat
Cayenne pepper
Paprika
Salt

Preparation:
Preheat oven to 400F.
Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
Wash and cut sweet potato into wedges, put them into a large mixing bowl.
Drizzle sweet potato wedges with olive oil, toss to coat.
Put wedges in the cookie sheet, sprinkle cayenne, paprika, and salt to taste.
Bake for 30 minutes (convection oven) or 35 to 40 in regular oven, until they are browned on the outside.

This entry was posted in Food, Side Dish, sweet potato and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

