Turkey Breakfast Sausage

I found this recipe from the good old site, allrecipes.com.  I have been buying turkey links from the grocery store, and I kept thinking, I could make this myself.  Or something similar to that.  I kept buying the ground turkey, and kept forgetting to make the sausage. Or, another excuse I usually use, life got a hold of me and making turkey sausage just did not become my first priority at that time.

So anyway, I want to make this short and sweet.  I am about to run out of the light in my eyes tonight and it’s past eight o’clock.  I’m ready to join the chickens in their coop.

I made this recipe twice, and each time, I modified some of the spices.  I cut down the amount of salt, since that was the original purpose of making my own Turkey Breakfast Sausage.  Then, instead of plain black pepper, I combined both black and white pepper – just because I had it premixed in my pantry.  Lastly, since Hubby was the one who eats this sausage for breakfast, he requested that I added more sage.  So I did.

And this recipe is super simple too.  It did not take that much time to make, and they were ready pretty quickly.  So, as usual, the list of ingredients was ground turkey, brown sugar, salt, black pepper and white pepper, rubbed sage, ground thyme, ground marjoram, and red pepper flakes.  Oh, I decided to use the black and white pepper mix at the last minute, so the picture only had the black pepper mill in it.

AK_Turkey Sau01

On my first try, I combined all spices in a little bowl and mixed them well.  On my second try, I just dumped them on top of the ground turkey – and I ended up having to mix the ground turkey and spices longer to make sure they were mixed well.  We didn’t want to have a sausage that was full of a lump of sage in the middle.  So, mix the spices well so that your life is easier.

AK_Turkey Sau02

Then, dump the spice mix into the ground turkey…

AK_Turkey Sau03

Mix them well…

AK_Turkey Sau04

So well that you shouldn’t see any lumps of spice in different places.

AK_Turkey Sau05

Then, since I was ornery, I used parchment paper to line my sausages.  I weighed the ground meat in two ounces portions, and shaped them round and flattened them up.  I used the parchment paper so the patties wouldn’t stick to each other.

AK_Turkey Sau06

Then, set the frying pan on medium high, drizzled some olive oil or just used PAM spray, I cooked the sausages away.

AK_Turkey Sau07

After five minutes, I flipped the sausages and cooked the other side.  I waited until the edges of the sausages started to brown and then flipped them.

AK_Turkey Sau08

A plate of sausages… what do you think?

AK_Turkey Sau09

And the turkey sausage was tender, and the pepper gave it a little kick. So, it is a healthier option than a store-bought one. Thank you mechanicmike for sharing the recipe!

AK_Turkey Sau10

Print recipe here:

Turkey Breakfast Sausage
Recipe adapted from mechanicmike

Ingredients:
2 lbs ground turkey
1 tbs brown sugar
1½ tsp kosher salt
½ tsp ground black pepper
½ tsp ground white pepper
3-3½ tsp rubbed sage
1 ½ tsp ground thyme
½ tsp ground marjoram
1/4 tsp red pepper flakes

Preparation:
Mix all spices into a small bowl. Stir well.
Mix spices into the ground turkey, mix well and shape into patties.
Fry in a medium heat for about 4-5 minutes on each side.
Patties can be frozen and reheated in microwave for 30 – 45 seconds.

This entry was posted in Breakfast, Food, spices, Turkey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

