Ham and Cheese Rye Muffins

I never had savory muffins before.  All of the muffins that I had eaten before were sweet muffins.  So, when Hubby gave me this recipe to try, I was wondering what would taste like.  It turned out these muffins were pretty good.  Although, if I am going to make it again, I would reduce the amount of onion salt since it was a bit salty for my taste buds.  Both the cooked ham and the cheese were already loaded with salt, so perhaps I would even just change the onion salt into onion powder next time. 

The ingredients were all purpose flour, rye flour, sugar, vegetable oil, milk (I didn’t have milk and only had this instant dry milk at the time), baking powder, salt, onion powder, caraway seed, an egg, cooked ham and Gruyère cheese.

AK_ham cheese muffin 01

 

While I was waiting for the egg to come to room temperature, I went ahead and shredded the cheese.

AK_ham cheese muffin 02

 

In a medium mixing bowl, I mixed all of the dry ingredients: all-purpose flour, rye flour, baking soda, sugar, salt, onion powder and caraway seeds.  Note that the original recipe calls for onion salt.  Since I didn’t have that, I just used onion powder and salt separately.

AK_ham cheese muffin 03

 

Then I mixed the milk with vegetable oil and beaten egg.  I probably should have used a bigger measuring cup than this one.

AK_ham cheese muffin 04

 

I poured the liquid ingredients into the bowl, and then added the ham in to it.

AK_ham cheese muffin 05

 

I added ¾ cup of the cheese next…

AK_ham cheese muffin 06

 

Mixed it lightly, just until the dry ingredients were moist.

AK_ham cheese muffin 07

 

Then I scooped the batter into a prepared muffin pans.

AK_ham cheese muffin 08

 

Baked it at 400F for 20 minutes…

AK_ham cheese muffin 09

 

Then topped it off with the rest of the cheese…

AK_ham cheese muffin 10

 

Put it back into the oven for 1 minute until the cheese was melted.

AK_ham cheese muffin 11

 

So what do you think?

AK_ham cheese muffin 12

It looks scrumptious, don’t you think?  It was scrumptious.  A bit dry, but it is not the recipe’s fault.  The recipe calls for milk, and I used dry, instant, fat free milk.  So next time, I’ll be sure to use the real thing.  And of course, remove the salt part of the batter.  Until my next recipe tryout!

AK_ham cheese muffin 13

 

Print recipe here.

Ham and Cheese Rye Muffins

Recipe slightly modified from: Weldon Owen via Cooking.com

Ingredients:

1 ¼ cups all-purpose flour 

1/3 cup rye flour 

2 teaspoons baking powder 

2 teaspoons sugar 

¼ teaspoon caraway seed 

¼ teaspoon onion powder 

1 beaten egg 

¾ cup milk

¼ cup vegetable oil 

2/3 cup finely chopped fully cooked ham (3 ounces) 

1¼ cups shredded Swiss or Gruyère cheese (5 ounces), divided 

Preparation:

Mix all of the dry ingredients in a medium bowl.

Line muffin pans with paper baking cups.  In a small mixing bowl, mix together the milk, vegetable oil, and beaten egg.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients mix.  Add ham and ¾ cup of the cheese into the mixing bowl, mix until the dry ingredients were moistened.  Do not overmix.   Spoon into the prepare cups, fill 2/3 full.  Bake in a preheated oven, at 400F.  Bake for 20 minutes, then sprinkle the remaining cheese on top.  Bake for another minute or until the cheese is melted.  Remove from pans, cool muffins on wire racks.  Serve by itself or with soup. 

This entry was posted in Bread, Breakfast, Food, Gruyere and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ham and Cheese Rye Muffins

  1. rubens says:

    It looks yummy. Nice work, anny!

    Like

Leave a Reply

