Cheesy Macaroni Lasagna

This is another recipe that we found at Cooking.com that was pretty good.  It can be prepared ahead and it probably can be frozen as well.

Ground beef, onion, garlic, macaroni, stewed tomato, mushroom pieces, spaghetti sauce, sour cream, provolone cheese and shredded mozzarella cheese were the ingredients for this meal.  I would imagine you can throw in pretty much anything you like in there, as well as using different variety of cheese.

AK_mac lasgn 01

 

First I got my onion and garlic chopped up.

AK_mac lasgn 02

 

Then I just dumped the ground beef, onion, and garlic into a preheated skillet.  Note that since the ground beef here came in a one-pound package, I just used all the two pounds ground beef.  I was not about to set aside the half a pound beef for later use.

AK_mac lasgn 03

 

After most of the beef was no longer pink, I poured in the canned stewed tomatoes.  They were already cut up in the can, so I didn’t have to cut them myself.

AK_mac lasgn 04

 

Spaghetti sauce was next, and I added extra sauce for that half a pound extra beef in there.

AK_mac lasgn 05

 

Mushrooms were next, and I added an extra can as well.  Except I drained my second can, since I did not want the meat sauce to be too watery.

AK_mac lasgn 06

 

Mixed all of them in, and looking at this picture below, this meat sauce could go a long way!

AK_mac lasgn 07

 

Meanwhile, the macaroni was ready and drained.

AK_mac lasgn 08

 

I put half of the macaroni into a baking pan and spread it at the bottom of the baking pan.

AK_mac lasgn 09

 

Then I put half of the meat sauce on top of the macaroni…

AK_mac lasgn 10

 

Half of the sour cream was next…

AK_mac lasgn 11

 

Half of the provolone cheese, which the sliced version was perfect for this.

AK_mac lasgn 12

 

I repeated the above steps, and lastly, I sprinkled the mozzarella cheese on top.

AK_mac lasgn 13

 

Covered it aluminum foil that I sprayed with cooking spray to prevent the cheese sticking to the foil and baked it covered at 350F for 35-40 minutes.  Then, I remove the foil and baked it uncovered for ten minutes until the cheese was golden brown and bubbly around the edges.

AK_mac lasgn 14

 
I let it cool for about 5-10 minutes, and served it with garlic bread.  Yum!  Pretty easy right?

AK_mac lasgn 15

 

Print recipe here.
Cheesy Macaroni Lasagna
Recipe adapated from Cooking.com

Ingredients:

2 lbs lean ground beef
2 medium onion, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1 – 14.5 oz stewed tomatoes, cut up
1 – 14 oz meatless spaghetti sauce
2 – 4 oz mushroom stems and pieces, undrained
8 oz uncooked macaroni
2 cups (16 oz) sour cream
12 slices (8 oz) provolone cheese
1 cup (4 oz) shredded mozzarella cheese

Preparation:
Cook macaroni according to the package.
In a large skillet, cook the ground beef, onion, and garlic until meat is no longer pink.
Add the cut up stew tomatoes, spaghetti sauce, mushroom into the skillet, and mix well.
Scoop half of the cooked macaroni into a baking pan.  Spread macaroni into one single layer.
Add half of the beef mixture on top of the macaroni layer.
Spread half of the sour cream on top of the beef mixture.
Cover with 6 slices of the provolone cheese.
Repeat the above steps and spread shredded mozzarella cheese on top.
Cover casserole with aluminum foil sprayed with cooking spray.
Bake covered for 35-40 minutes at 350F.  Uncover and bake for 10 more minutes or until the cheese begin to brown. Let cool for 10 minutes prior serving.

This entry was posted in Beef, Casserole, Cheese, Food, Macaroni, Pasta, Provolone and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cheesy Macaroni Lasagna

  1. i prefer to use the long shaped macaroni……

    Like

Leave a Reply

