Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

When I was at my parent’s home several months ago, I was able to watch and help my oldest sister bake her cookies.  She loves baking and she knows her baking by heart.  She remembers the amount of ingredients and knows what she needs to do at any point in time.  She did not even refer to her recipe at all.  I, on the other hand, have to keep looking at the recipe.  And even then, I still forget some of the ingredients or skip some of the steps.

One time, I was making a Triple Chocolate Brownie, and I completely forgot to put the sugar in the batter and baked the brownie.  As I was cleaning up, I saw this bowl of sugar sitting on the counter and was wondering what the sugar for!  Ding ding!  An alarm in my head went off and I realized I forgot to put the sugar into the batter!  Duh!!  Well, the lesson I learned from this was, put the sugar in the batter before you put the batter in the oven!  :)  Since I was not about to redo the whole thing, I just dumped the sugar on the “preheated” batter and mixed it up, and prayed for the best.  The brownie came out coarse and crumbly, but luckily, office people still gobbled them up.

Back to my sister’s baking.  She was making these cookies for my brother-in-law, since he likes these particular cookies very much.  The ingredients involved were all purpose flour, oatmeal, baking powder, powdered sugar, butter, raisin, egg yolks and egg whites.

I went into the kitchen just in time to capture her making these cookies.  In this picture, my sister was just chopping up the oatmeal with a mini food processor.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 02

 

In this bowl, there was flour, oatmeal and cut up raisins, mixed well.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 03

 

This was powdered sugar…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 04a

 

Two eggs…. And it looked like a smile face with the contour of the bowl.  🙂

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 05a

 

Then she added two more egg yolks into the bowl.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 06a

 

Next, she beat the butter into the powdered sugar…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 07

 

Then after the powdered sugar and butter became a smooth, soft, shiny batter, she put the egg yolks in one by one, while continually beating the batter.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 08

 

When it was done, she came up with this soft batter.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 09

 

Then, this is when the fun began.  I was the muscle woman and was  put to work mixing the dough.  My sister added the flour mix into the batter…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 10

 

And I mixed it up…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 11

 

Until all of the flour went into the batter and was incorporated, and then we had this oatmeal raisin cookie batter.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 12

 

Then we both went to work and shaped up the batter into small round dough, and put them on a greased cookie sheet.  The dough was about ½ inch wide, so they were pretty small by American standards.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 14a

 

Then, using a fork coated by powdered sugar, my sister pressed these cookie doughs into flattened cookies.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 16

 

Then the cookies went into the oven.  By the temperature gauge, the temperature inside the oven was  about 175-200F.  For some reason, I found out that recipes in Indonesian tend not to have a set temperature and time.  I wonder if it is because of the type of oven they use, the humidity they encounter at the time of baking, as well as the elevation.  See, Indonesia is quite mountainous, and where my mom’s house is, it is about 500 feet above sea level.  So usually Indonesians will just bake the cookies until they are done.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 17

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 18

 

So after about an hour or so, the cookies were done.

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 22

 

And I was just going crazy taking pictures of the cookies…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 25

 

This one…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 24

 

That one…

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 23

 

And after they completely cooled off, these cookies went into this plastic container, ready to be given to my brother-in-law.  Thank you Ko Han for requesting these cookies – now I have documented my sister’s baking.🙂

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 20

 

AK_Oatmeal Raisin Cookies 19

Note: I have decided to disable the pdf link until I tested this recipe with American’s ingredients.  I heard the quality of the flour will make a difference in the results.  So, I listed the ingredients below for documentation purposes only.  I will update the post once I have tested it.  Thanks!

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Recipe copied from my sister’s collection – author unknown

Ingredients:
70 gr butter
70 gr margarine
Powdered sugar 100 gr
100 gr oatmeal, grind very fine
100 gr raisins, chopped
1 whole egg
1 egg yolk
180 gr all purpose flour
2 gr baking powder
Additional powdered sugar

Preparations:
Combine all purpose flour, baking powder, chopped raisins and oatmeal. Mix well, set aside.
In a medium bowl, beat together powdered sugar, butter, and margarin until combined and soft. Beat the egg into the batter by adding one egg at a time.
Then add the flour mixture into the batter by the spoonful, until all flour mixture is incorporated into the batter.
Shape the dough into small balls, put them into greased cookie sheet.
Using a fork covered in additional powdered sugar, press the dough to flatten it out.
Bake in 200F until cookies are golden brown.

This entry was posted in Cookies, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

