Corsican Style Soup

Before today, I did not know that Corsica was an island.  I knew of its existence a long time ago, since I was in junior high school.  I did not learn about it from a geography class; so how did I learn about Corsica?  Well, my knowledge of Corsica came from reading Asterix comic books by Rene Goscinny and Albert Uderzo.  I love, love, loveeee, Asterix comic books.  Gee… did I over emphasize myself?

It is my goal one day to have the whole collection in my library, in the Indonesian language. For some reason, the funniness does not translate fully in the English version.  So, I have refrained myself from purchasing the English version.  I have to be patient and wait until I go to Indonesia, for when the book stores carry them.  I couldn’t find any Asterix comic books on my last trek home.

Anyway, one of the series told us a story of the son of a Corsican leader that was kept as a hostage by Julius Caesar’s army; while in the meantime, Asterix, Obelix and Idefix tried to save him and bring him home safely.  That’s how I know about Corsica!🙂

So when Hubby gave me a print out of this recipe, I wasn’t too surprised by it.  I looked at the recipe and it has a lot of vegetables!  I have to tell you that it was indeed a very good soup, but it did require a lot of chopping!  Or, if you possess a food processor, you might as well employ it to work for you.  As for me, it was too late by the time I realized it.  So I continued chopping by hand.

The vegetables involved in this soup were cabbage, leeks, onion, zucchini, green beans, potatoes and tomatoes.  It was too late for me to soak the beans, so I went and got a can of navy beans instead.  Then, the other ingredients were marjoram, basil, pasta, ham bone, olive oil, salt and pepper.  But, I did not even use the salt in this soup.  The salt from the ham bone was plenty enough.

AK_Corsican Soup 01

 

I chopped up all of the veggies…

AK_Corsican Soup 03

AK_Corsican Soup 06

 

Then the leeks, by removing the green hardy stalk and just using the white part of the leeks.

AK_Corsican Soup 02

 

To remove the dirt from the leeks, I let them soak in cold water.  This way the dirt sinks to the bottom of the container.

AK_Corsican Soup 04

 

In my large stock pot, I drizzled the olive oil and stir-fried the veggies, except the beans, basil and minced garlic.  I cooked them until the vegetables were somewhat soft.

AK_Corsican Soup 07

 

At this point, I looked at them and decided that I wanted more carrots. So I chopped up two more carrots and added them to the pot.

AK_Corsican Soup 08

 

Then I added the ham bone…

AK_Corsican Soup 09

 

Water next…

AK_Corsican Soup 10

 

Then I added the beans.

AK_Corsican Soup 11

 

Stirred it, and let it boil and then simmered it for two hours.  I actually was making this soup ahead of time, so then after that, I just let the soup cool off and put the whole pot into the refrigerator.

AK_Corsican Soup 12

 

Then the next day, I just reheated the soup, brought it to a boil, and added the pasta, chopped basil and minced garlic.

AK_Corsican Soup 15

 

And about 20 minutes later, I ladled a cup or two into my soup bowl…

AK_Corsican Soup 16

 

Topped it off with shredded Parmesan cheese… and oh my, it was very yummy!

AK_Corsican Soup 18

 

The soup was very good and very filling.  The amount of vegetables in the soup will make you smile.  :)  And this recipe made a lot of soup too.  So if you want to make this soup, just be prepared to be patient when you chop the vegetables!  Or, plan ahead and do the chopping the day before you plan on cooking the soup.  And it was definitely tastier the next day, as I had it for my lunch at the office the next day.  Until my next post!

AK_Corsican Soup 19

 

Print recipe here.

Corsican Style Soup
Recipe adapted from: Saveur Magazine via Cooking.com

Ingredients:
½ lbs dried navy beans, soaked in cold water for 4 hours or overnight, drained – in a crunch, use the canned version
Extra virgin olive oil
3 large onion, chopped
2 medium leeks, trimmed and finely chopped
2 medium zucchini, timed and diced
½ small green cabbage, finely chopped
½ lbs green beans, finely chopped
2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
2 medium tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped
4 sprigs fresh marjoram, chopped
1 ham bone with some meat, cubed meat
¼ lbs tagliatelle or any wide noodle, broken in half
3 cloves garlic, minced
5 fresh basil leaves, minced
10 cups water
Salt and pepper, as necessary
Parmesan cheese, shredded

Preparation:

Preheat olive oil in a large stock pot. Add onions, potatoes, leeks, zucchini, cabbage, green beans, carrots, tomatoes, marjoram and soaked beans into the pot, cook in medium heat for ten minutes, stirring often, until vegetables are slightly soft. If using canned beans, add beans when you add water.

Add ham bones and 10 cups of water, increase heat to medium high. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium and simmer for 2 hours, stirring often.

Twenty minutes prior serving, add pasta, minced basil and garlic into the pot. Cook until pasta is tender, stirring often. Taste with salt and pepper if necessary. Served with shredded Parmesan cheese and bruschetta.

This entry was posted in beans, Corsica, Food, soup, Vegetables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Corsican Style Soup

  1. Lusiana Njo says:

    Fond memories of Asterix….😀

    Like

    • Anny says:

      Did you try to read the english version there? Do you agree with me that the funniness just do not translate?🙂

      Like

      • Lusiana Njo says:

        Maybe we’ve become fussier with things we find funny. But, I still find some characters funny; like Cacofonix, the singer who always got ‘silenced’ but was still eager to sing at every chance.:D

        Like

Leave a Reply

