Roasted Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese

A few months ago, I purchased an acorn squash to try, since I never had them before.   I had had butternut squash, zucchini squash, spaghetti squash, yellow squash, but not acorn squash.  Do you like reading about all these squashes?  Try to say it out loud… 🙂

That poor squash sat in my pantry for over a month before I found a recipe to try.  Well, the thing is, if you look for acorn squash recipes online, the most popular hit is the “Baked Acorn Squash” which is basically melting a stick of butter and brown sugar into the squash.   Umm… I have no problem with that except we were on a healthy-eating kick at that time.  In another time, I would go for it.   But that time, I was just reluctant to put butter in my food.  So I kept looking until I found Guy Fieri’s recipe in Food Network.

I had to tweak Guys’ recipe though, since I only had red bell peppers and I didn’t have goat cheese at hand.  I had Parmesan cheese instead.  I also substituted olive oil for butter.  To cut cooking time, I nuked the acorn squash in the microwave instead of roasting it in the oven.  So I guess, by this definition, this post’s title probably should be “Steamed Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese” right? But Steamed Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese just doesn’t sound as appetizing as Roasted Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese.  So I decided to keep the title as is.  After all, there is more than one way to Rome, right?

So, acorn squash, cabbage, red bell pepper, onion, garlic, canned mushrooms (since I didn’t have fresh mushroom), Parmesan cheese, olive oil, salt and pepper were the ingredients.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 01

 

I cut the acorn squash horizontally since I was going to make this acorn squash into some sort of bowls.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 02

 

Using a melon baller, I scraped the seeds out and put them aside.  I made sure that I scraped all of the strings out since I didn’t want to fight with it when I was ready to eat it.  Once that was done, I lopped off the top and the bottom of the acorn squash, so that they could stand upright.  Then I dug up my Pyrex baking pan, poured in a half a cup of water, and placed the halved acorn squash inside the pan.  I cooked them in the microwave in five minute-increments, until the squash was easily pricked by a fork.  It took me about less than ten minutes to get the squash tender, compared to half an hour in the oven.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 03

 

Meanwhile, while the squash was cooking, I chopped up the veggies…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 04

 

Shredded the Parmesan cheese…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 05

 

I cleaned the seeds and baked them in the toaster oven.  It did not take long at all, and it did not take the twenty minutes that Guy mentioned in his recipe.  I guess partly because I was only cooking one acorn squash while he was cooking two of the acorn squashes.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 07

 

The acorn squashes were ready…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 06

 

In a large saute pan, I stir fried the vegetables…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 08

 

Once the cabbage was tender, I added the mushroom and garlic, as well as salt and garlic.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 09

 

Mixed them up… and now the filling is ready.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 10

 

I drizzled some a little bit of olive oil into the acorn halves…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 11

 

Put the vegetable filling inside the acorn halves…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 12

 

Added a heaping of shredded Parmesan cheese on top…

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 13

 

A few seeds… and broiled them until the cheese was melted.

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 14

 

See!

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 15

 

Transferred them to a plate… and enjoy!

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 16

 

I was surprised by Hubby, he cleaned it all out… well, either he liked it very much or he was starving that night! 🙂  Until my next squashes!

AK_Acorn squash & vegs 17

 

Print recipe here.

Roasted Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese
Recipe adapted from Guy Fieri via Food Network

Ingredients:
1 Acorn squash
Olive oil
Salt and pepper
Filling:
Olive oil
1 cup shredded cabbage
½ cup ¼ inch sliced onion
½ red bell pepper, seeded, sliced in ¼ inch julienne
½ yellow bell pepper, seeded, sliced in ¼ inch julienne
Salt and pepper
1 cup mushrooms, sliced or quartered
1 clove garlic, minced
2 oz shredded Parmesan Cheese
Chopped fresh parsley for garnish, optional

Preparation:
Cut acorn squash horizontally, as well as trim the top and the bottom off. Clean the inside of the squash with a mellon baller or a spoon. Separate the seeds from membrane, wash, and dry off with paper towel. Set aside.

In a microwave save baking dish, pour ½ cup water, and put the halved acorn squash with the cut side down. Cover with saran wrap. Cook in 5 minutes increment time, until acorn squash is easily pricked by fork. Let cool a few minutes before seasoning the acorn squash with olive oil, salt and pepper.

[Original recipe by Guy was roasting the squash acorn (seasoned with olive oil and salt and pepper) in the oven at 375F for 30 minutes .]

[optional] Bake the seed at 375F for 20 – 30 minutes. Shake the pan about 5 – 10 minutes, watch carefully since the seeds can get done under 20 minutes, depending on your oven. Season with salt, set aside.

In a medium size pan, heat olive oil. Stir fry shredded cabbage, bell peppers, and onion until the cabbage are wilted (about 5 minutes or so). Season with salt and pepper. Then add mushroom and minced garlic, cook for another 2 – 4 minutes. Adjust seasoning if necessary.

To assembly: Preheat boiler to low. Fill the squash acorn halve with the stir veggies, top with Parmesan

This entry was posted in Food, Side Dish, Squash, Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Roasted Acorn Squash with Mushrooms, Peppers and Parmesan Cheese

  1. believed of not, baby labu acorn ini harganya smpe 18.000 per ONS loh mbak wkt ada PROMO produk US dsn…..
    kurasa dsn harganya murah ya…
    aku bli 3 biji kecil2 hampir 50 rb-an n waktu disodorin testernya aku cicip memang SEDIKIT lbh manis dr kabocha, tp dgn berat hati terpaksa sy tinggalkan labu cantik yg sudah di tagged itu…hehehe

    Like

  2. Anny says:

    Haha… iya… mahaldi ongkosnya..

    Like

Leave a Reply

