Slow Cooker Italian Vegetable Soup with White Beans

I like anything that I can throw into a crock pot, leave it all day long, and then, by the time I remember about it, dinner is ready.  This is another soup recipe from Betty Crocker that made it to my blog.  Anything that made it to my blog is recipe that I want to keep.

The ingredients were cannellini beans, frozen veggies, macaroni, pesto, water, tomatoes in a can, V8 juice, and salt – although, I ended up not using the salt at all.  The canned food and V8 juice provided enough salt that I did not need to add salt at all.

AK_Italian veg soup 01

 

I dumped the frozen veggies, beans, and tomatoes into the crock pot… I like to add solids into the pot and then liquid later.  Otherwise, the liquid would be splashed everywhere and that’s another clean up and I did not need to do.

AK_Italian veg soup 02

 

Added the water and then the V8 juice…

AK_Italian veg soup 03

 

Mixed everything up…

AK_Italian veg soup 04

 

Covered it, and cooked it for the whole day.  I started this at 7:30 in the morning.  And I wondered, did I really have to cook it all day long?  Everything in the cans were cooked already.  But, needless to say, I followed the recipe…  Not until I was about to chunk my recipe print out that I saw this at the bottom of the recipe: “Acidic ingredients such as tomatoes and vegetable juice keep vegetables from softening too much during all-day simmering”.  Now I know why the recipe asked for the soup to be cooked all day long!

AK_Italian veg soup 05

 

Half an hour before dinner, I added the macaroni.  The original recipe called for penne pasta, but I don’t have penne and I have macaroni.

AK_Italian veg soup 06

 

When it was done, I served it into a bowl, with a dollop of pesto on top.

AK_Italian veg soup 07

 

Later on, I added the shredded Parmesan cheese, and yum yum!  This soup tasted just like Mom’s vegetable soup – but hers has ground beef while this one has white beans.  If you want it to be a heartier soup, feel free to add sausages or anything you like.  The other thing that I will do different next time is to add more liquid.  This soup barely had enough juice, so I doubled up the amount of V8 juice and add more water in the recipe below.  Warm, comfort food.  Definitely a keeper!

AK_Italian veg soup 08

 

Print recipe here.

Slow Cooker Italian Vegetable Soup with White Beans
Recipe adapted from Betty Crocker

Ingredients:
3 – 14.5 oz cans cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 lbs frozen mixed vegetables
1 – 14.5 oz diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano, undrained
24 oz low sodium V8 vegetable juice
1.5 – 2 cups water
½ cup uncooked macaroni
¼ cup purchased pesto
Shredded Parmesan cheese
Salt, as necessary

Preparation:
In a 4 quart crock pot, mix in frozen vegetables, beans, tomatoes, water, and vegetable juice.
Cook on low setting for 8 to 9 hours. Stir occasionally.
Half an hour prior serving, put the macaroni into crock pot, cook for 15-20 minutes, or until macaroni is tender. Taste, and add salt as necessary.
Serve, topped with pesto and shredded Parmesan cheese.

This entry was posted in Crock Pot, Food, soup and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

