Sweet Potato Kale Hash

It’s been awhile since I’ve written anything in my blog.  I confess.  I ran out of gas and I did not have much as time as much as I did before.  I was mentally exhausted due to the changes happening at work, and at home, somehow the evening just becomes shorter and shorter for us.  Without us noticing, the next day already comes upon us, and the cycle continues.

We tried new recipes here and there, but I just could not find time to sit down and write. So hopefully I can steal my own time here and there to blog about new recipes we tried.  I have had this recipe since last September, when Alice at Savory Sweet Life blogged about it.  I thought it was very interesting, so I saved the new post email I received from Alice.  And finally, I made it the other night. Yeah!!

The ingredients were sweet potatoes, bell pepper, onion, garlic, kale, cumin, chili powder, salt and pepper.  The olive oil and beef broth did not make it to the picture.  Why beef broth?  It’s just because I already had an opened box of beef broth in the refrigerator.  Otherwise, I would have used any other stock or just water.  I don’t have the pasilla chili powder, so I just used regular chili powder instead.

AK_SP Kale Hash 01

 

I cut up the sweet potatoes, chopped the onion and bell pepper, minced the garlic and combined all of them into a large bowl.

AK_SP Kale Hash 02

 

In a small bowl, I mixed the cumin, chili powder, and salt.

AK_SP Kale Hash 03

 

Then I drizzled the olive oil into the veggie bowl, shook the bowl to get the veggies coated with olive oil.

AK_SP Kale Hash 04

 

Then sprinkled the spices on the veggies.

AK_SP Kale Hash 05

 

Shook the bowl again, this time to get the veggies coated with the spices.

AK_SP Kale Hash 06

 

Then, I added the veggies into a preheated pan with olive oil. Stirred it here and there, until the sweet potatoes were fork tender.

AK_SP Kale Hash 08

 

Since mine took longer than 6-8 minutes as Alice’s recipe suggested, I finally covered the pan to get the sweet potatoes cooking faster with the steam.

AK_SP Kale Hash 09

 

Then, I added the chopped kale.  I decided to add the whole bunch of kale since I thought two cups of kale would reduce to nothing, and I like more veggies in the hash.  So I dumped the whole bunch of kale into the pan.  I also added the broth at this time.

AK_SP Kale Hash 10

 

I cooked the kale about two to three minutes to get it tender.

AK_SP Kale Hash 11

 

And finally, a bowl of Sweet Potato Kale Hash!  And I really enjoyed it very much.  The sweetness of the caramelized onion, red bell pepper and sweet potatoes balanced the bitterness of kale.  And what I like about it was that it was so easy to prepare and very tasty!  Thank you Alice for sharing the recipe!

AK_SP Kale Hash 12

 

Print recipe here.

Sweet Potato Kale Hash
Recipe adapted from: Savory Sweet Life

Ingredients:
1 large sweet potato, peeled and cubed into 1/2-inch cubes
½ medium onion, chopped
½ red bell pepper, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
olive oil
1 ½ teaspoons chili powder
1 teaspoon kosher salt
½ teaspoon cumin powder
1 bunch chopped kale
1/3 cup broth or water
Salt and pepper to taste.

Preparation:
In a large bowl, mix the cut up sweet potato, chopped onion, chopped red bell pepper and minced garlic.
In a small bowl, mix in chili powder, cumin and 1 teaspoon of salt.
Drizzle olive oil into the vegetable bowl to get the veggies coated with oil, and sprinkle the seasoning. Mix well until vegetables are coated with spices.
In a large pan, heat olive oil on medium high heat.
Put the vegetables into the pan, and stir frequently. Cook until the sweet potatoes are tender. Cover the pan if need be to help the sweet potatoes cook faster.
Add chopped kale and broth. Cook until kale is tender, about 2-3 minutes.
Taste, and if need be, add more salt and pepper. Serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Kale, Vegetables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

