Summer Pineapple Strawberry Cooler

I don’t remember now how I came across this recipe.  I don’t entertain at home often, so whenever we have guests coming, you know I have to use that rare opportunity to make colorful and different refreshments.  I personally just drink water.  Occasionally I will drink tea, but then, after a certain time of the day, I have to cut that off if I want to sleep well at night.  As I get older, I found out that this body of mine is betraying me in ways faster than I anticipated.

So when we had a cousin coming to have dinner with us and the kids, I went ahead and planned on making this drink.  It is almost similar to the Lemonade Slushy I made a year ago.  The most important thing about this drink is that it is very easy to make and can be prepared ahead of time.

To make this drink I needed frozen pineapple juice concentrate, limeade concentrate, club soda, cold water, mint, and fresh fruits such as oranges, strawberry, kiwi, lime, and mint leaves.

 

 

In a large pitcher, I put in the juice concentrates and then added cold water.

 

 

Now, due to the other preparations that I had to make that day, it looks like I only had a few pictures and basically don’t have my step by step pictures.   And all of the sudden I had the drinks made up and ready to serve… 🙂

Basically, after mixing the juices together, I got one ice tray, and poured some of the juice into the ice tray.  I made ice out of the juice.  So instead of using regular ice cubes, I used the juice itself so it did not dilute the drink when it melted.  Then, I cut up some strawberries and threw it in the pitcher, and off it went into the refrigerator to chill.

While the drink was chilling and the ice was hardening, I prepared the fruit stick.  I inserted cut up strawberries onto this 6-inch wooden skewer, then mint leave, orange section, and lastly kiwi.  Then these fruit sticks went into the refrigerator as well.

Prior to serving, I added the club soda and the juice ice cubes into the pitcher, and poured the drink into the cups with fruit stick in it.  The drink was very refreshing.  Although later on I added a half an ounce of almond extract into the pitcher to give it a little kick.  It definitely changed the taste of this drink.  Also, I think ginger ale would be a better substitute for the club soda if you prefer your drink sweeter.  So if you are looking for a simple refreshment to make, try this one.  It’s refreshing, and pretty to look at.  Enjoy!

 

Print recipe here.

Summer Pineapple Strawberry Cooler
Recipe adapted from Raeann

Ingredients:
1 12 oz. can frozen pineapple juice concentrate, thawed
1 12 oz. can frozen limeade concentrate, thawed
4 cups cold water
1 liter club soda, chilled – if you like it a little sweeter, substitute it with ginger ale
½ oz. almond extract
Cut up Fresh fruits (orange, kiwi, strawberry, lime)
6 inch wooden skewers
Mint leaves

Preparation:
Combine the pineapple juice concentrate, limeade concentrate with cold water.  Pour some of this juice into an ice tray maker and make ice from it.  Add cut up strawberries into the juice, and chill in refrigerator.
Prepare the fruit stick by inserting fruits and mint leaves into the skewer.  Chill in refrigerator until needed.
Prior serving, add the club soda or ginger ale, almond extract, and juice ice cubes.  Serve with fruit stick.

This entry was posted in Drink and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

