Chocolate Midnight Pie

For those of you who like the taste of mocha, this pie is for you.  I found this recipe at King Arthur Flour’s website, which is a totally dangerous site.  It contains recipes, which are definitely tested by their bakers, and they work.  I don’t think KA will post a recipe if it will fail.  But of course, it also depends on each individuals skill in the kitchen.  Case in point: me.  I will tell you later.  And some of the recipes have a link to their baker’s blog, with a step by step tutorial.  And for those of us that think professional bakers don’t fail… well, check out this post.  It is so funny, but then, it made me realize that even professional bakers sometimes do not pass the chemistry test thrown at them in the kitchen.  :)  So, the moral of the story is, don’t be disheartened if your cake fails, just keep on trying, and you will eventually get better.

The ingredients for the crust were mostly the normal products for making pie crust, with the exception of the espresso powder.  KA indicated that this is optional, but it is good if you use it.  So, flour, powdered sugar, salt, espresso powder, heavy cream, and cold butter were the cast members.

 

 
After I mixed in the flour, powdered sugar, and salt, I cut into the butter with a pastry cutter.

 

 
Then I mixed the espresso powder with a tablespoon of the heavy cream in a small ramekin.

 

 
I drizzled the espresso into the pie crust, and followed with additional heavy cream (I only used additional three tablespoons of heavy cream)…

 

 
Until the pie dough could be formed into a ball and held together.  I put this pie dough in the refrigerator and started gathering my ingredients for the pie filling.

 

 

Eggs, heavy cream, cornmeal, sugar, salt, espresso powder, cocoa powder, chocolate chips, vanilla, and butter were the ingredients for the filling.

 

 
In a food processor, I combined the corn meal, espresso powder, and chocolate chips.  I wasn’t sure how fine a grind I needed, and eventually had some chunks of chocolate chips in it.

 

 
Then I set to work on rolling out my pie dough and putting it into my pie pan…

 

 
Then in a mixing bowl, I creamed together butter, sugar, and salt until soft.

 

 
Added the eggs one at a time, and set the mixer on low speed.  The recipe also said not to beat the egg too long, since the pie filling didn’t need all of the air in it.  So I just beat it until it was incorporated, scraped the side of the bowl, and added the next one.

 

 
Then I added in the cocoa powder and coffee…

 

 
Chocolate chips mixture, and vanilla and milk which weren’t in the picture..

 

 
And poured the batter into the crust and put the pie into a 350F oven.

 

 

And after 45 minutes… this is what I got.  Almost resembles the picture at KA’a website.

 

Now, this is where I failed.  I ran out of time.  By the time I finished baking this pie, it was time for bed.  I didn’t want to wait until it came to a room temperature before putting it into the refrigerator, so I did a quick water bath to cool it down some, and threw it into the refrigerator.  Well, not literally.   You know what I mean.  I probably could have let it sit on the counter, and then put it in the refrigerator in the morning, since we weren’t going to eat it until after dinner time.  And it didn’t help that I had to cover the pie with a foil, since I had BBQ sitting in the fridge as well.  I didn’t want the pie to taste like BBQ… although some people might think that is a nifty idea!

The result?  Well, I didn’t have that crackly top pie, and somewhere in the middle it was a bit liquidy.  But the taste?  Well, it was very rich, and had a very mocha-ie taste.  And  I probably would not make this again, but not because of the mishap, but because Hubby and I are both insomniacs.  So, having a pie laden with espresso probably would not help us sleep soundly at night…   I will reserve this recipe for some other occasion where the pie can be consumed during lunch hour.🙂

 

Enjoy!

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Midnight Pie
Recipe courtesy: King Arthur Flour

Ingredients:

Crust:
1¼ cups all-purpose flour
¼ cup confectioner sugar
Heaping ¼ tsp salt
6 tbs cold, unsalted butter
¼ tsp espresso powder
3 to 5 tbs milk or cream (I used whipping cream)

Filling:
¼ cup unsalted butter
1½ cups granulated sugar
¼ tsp salt
4 large eggs, room temperature
¼ cup Dutch process cocoa
2 tbs strong brew coffee

1 tbs cold milk or whipping cream
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp espresso powder
2 tbs yellow or white cornmeal
2/3 cup semisweet or bittersweet chocolate chips

Preparation:
Crust:
Mix in together, all-purpose flour, sugar and salt.  Cut in cold butter into the dry ingredients using pastry cutter or a fork, until it resembles coarse peas size crumbles.  In a small bowl, dissolve espresso powder with a tablespoon of milk.  Drizzle the espresso powder into the crust mixture, and add more milk as necessary.  I only used additional 3 tbs of milk.  Form the dough into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap tightly, and keep in the refrigerator for at least an hour.

Pie:
Preheat the oven to 350F.  Remove the dough out of the refrigerator; let it sit for 15 to 30 minutes before rolling it out to a pie pan.  Put the pie crust back into the refrigerator while you work on the filling.
In a food processor, combine corn meal, espresso powder, and chocolate chips, set aside.
Cream together butter, sugar, and salt until soft.
Add the eggs one at a time using low speed, scraping the side of the bowl before adding the next egg.  Do not overbeat.
Add in the cocoa powder, coffee, milk, vanilla, and the chocolate chips mixture.
Pour batter into the crust, bake for 45 minutes, until the internal temperature reach 165F.  Cover the crust after 20 minutes baking.
Let it completely cool to room temperature, then cover and refrigerate overnight.
Serve with whip cream or vanilla ice cream.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Pie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

