Vanilla Wafer Cake

I had almost forgotten about this Vanilla Wafer Cake.  I found this recipe when I was trying to find a recipe for my grandson’s birthday cake.  He requested Vanilla Cake for his birthday, and one of the search engines came up with this recipe from allrecipes.com.

Although I did not make this Vanilla Wafer Cake for his birthday, I kept this recipe and was going to make it later.  I am easily intrigued with unusual baking ingredients, like the Tomato Soup Cake, or the Peanut Butter Bacon Cookies.  Yeah, when I first read about these recipes, my reaction was “Do what?!?!”

This cake has no flour at all. So I was really curious about it and read all of the reviews really well.  Although there were only 15 reviews, this cake definitely will please a crowd.

Vanilla wafers, eggs, coconut flakes, pecans, butter, sugar, and milk were the ingredients.  See, no flour at all!

 

The vanilla wafers were ground with a food processor and it only took less than a minute. If you have grand kids around, you can delegate them to crush the wafers, but then you cannot guarantee that they will not sneak a bite or two.

 

Fine ground, almost to the consistency of coarse flour.

 

Then the next one was the pecans, I ground them using the food processor as well, but not as fine as the wafers.

 

In a separate bowl, I mixed the ground pecans and coconut flakes together.

 

Then I dumped the butter and sugar into a mixing bowl.

 

Creamed them together until soft and fluffy.

 

Added the egg one by one…

 

See how soft the batter was when I finished adding the eggs?

 

Then I added the ground wafers into the batter…

 

Alternating with milk…

 

And scraped the sides of the bowl, to make sure the batter was all incorporated with the “flour”.

 

Then the last step, adding the pecans and coconut flake mix into the batter.

 

Poured it into a well-greased Bundt pan.  Several reviews indicated that the Bundt pan needs to be greased well, and floured well.  Regular PAM spray did not work, resulting in breaking when the cake was turned over.

 

Baked it for an hour, and voila!

 

And I was very careful when I turned the cake over.  I didn’t want part of the cake sticking onto the pan and break my cake.

 

Eat it as is…

 

Or served it with whip cream… It was really good and moist.  One of the reviewers said that this cake was too sweet for her, but it was just right for me.  The kids gobbled it up, and I brought the rest to the office, and the office people gobbled it up as well.  Need I say more?  Thank you Joyce for sharing the recipe!🙂

 

Print recipe here.

Vanilla Wafer Cake
Recipe courtesy: Joycebold

Ingredients:

1 – 8 oz package flaked coconut
1 cup ground pecans
¾ cup butter
1 ½ cups white sugar
6 eggs
1 – 12 oz package vanilla wafers, crushed very fine
½ cup milk

Preparation:

Mix together ground pecans and coconut flakes in a medium bowl.
Cream butter and sugar until soft and fluffy.  Add the egg one at a time, scraping the side of the bowl before adding the next one.  Alternatively add the crushed vanilla wafers and milk, and lastly, add the ground pecan and coconut flakes into the batter.
Pour the batter into a well greased and floured bundt pan.
Bake at 325F for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes clean.
Let cool in pan for 10 minutes before transferring the cake into a wire rack.
Serve with whip cream, vanilla ice cream, or just by itself.

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

