Tender White Cake

Baking a cake usually is not a part of my repertoire, mainly because it is harder to transport leftover cake to my office and because I just don’t have much experience with it. We could eat all of the cake, but I am already fighting my expanding waistline and I am losing that battle.  Also, you’ve heard about cakes collapsing while they were baking, or after they come out of the oven, and many other types of disasters related to baking a cake.  Plus, I don’t think I have enough patience to make pretty, decorative icing.  After all, you do need to experiment in making pretty icing and I don’t have enough tips for that.

Recently though, I have embarked on learning to bake cakes.  I guess you can call it a baker’s whim.  The first one was German Chocolate Cake from Fannie Flagg’s recipe, which almost ended up as a disaster.  I will write about that cake later.🙂 Today, I want to write about this Tender White Cake.

I baked this cake for my youngest grandson, Kameron, who just turned 14 years old.  I just couldn’t believe how fast time flew by.  All I know was, when I talked to him on the phone late last week to wish him a happy birthday, his voice had broken and I just couldn’t recognize his voice.  I thought he was his dad. Anyway, since the grandkids will be coming here for the rest of their summer vacation before they go back to school, I asked him what kind of cake he wanted for his birthday, and he said “Vanilla Cake”.

So I googled“Vanilla Cake” and actually found an interesting “Vanilla Wafer Cake” from allrecipes.com that will be on my next to do list.  In fact, I already bought a box of vanilla wafers when I was at the grocery store.  :)  Since typing “Vanilla Cake” did not yield that many results, I changed it to “White Cake”, and I got plenty of hits.  One thing that caught my eye was this recipe from King Arthur’s website.  This cake has tons of review, and the overall consensus was 4.5 stars.

What’s more, King Arthur even have one of their bakers blogged about it, and even provided a step by step pictorial!  So of course I love this recipe.  And as I recall, my HEB carries King Arthur’s flour, so I printed this recipe and made my grocery list.

This recipe is definitely a keeper.  Thanks King Arthur and Mary Jane for the step by step pictorial!  We all enjoyed the cake, and more important, the birthday boy really liked it.  That’s all that matter.  I will write about the frosting next.  Ciao!

Print recipe here.

Tender White Cake
Recipe courtesy: King Arthur

Ingredients:
2 ¾ cups of King Arthur Unbleached Cake Flour Blend
1 2/3 cups of superfine sugar
1 tbs baking powder
¾ tsp salt
¾ cup (12 tbs) unsalted butter, softened
4 large eggs whites plus 1 whole large egg
1 cup full-fat vanilla yoghurt or 1 cup whole milk
2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp almond extract

Preparation:
Preheat convection oven to350F.  Grease and flour 2 – 9-inch round pans.
Mix all of the dry ingredients using the mixer on low speed for 2 minutes.
Add the softened butter and mix until mixture is like damp sand.
Add the egg white one at a time and mix well before adding the next egg white and lastly, the whole egg. Scrape down the bowl before adding the next egg.
In a small bowl, add the vanilla and almond extract to the milk.
Add 1/3 of the milk mixture to the batter, beating well for one to two minutes before adding the next batch.
Pour batter to the prepared pans, bake for 25, or until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes clean.
Remove from the oven, let cool in the pans for 10 minutes before transferring to a rack to cool.

This entry was posted in Cake and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

