Blue Cheese Butter

A few weeks ago, Hubby printed a recipe and asked me to get the ingredients when I went to the grocery store.  I glanced at what he printed and there was this huge photo of a porterhouse steak.  I was wondering why would he stray into a marinating recipe, since he prefers to eat his steaks with very few spices, so that he can enjoy the meat?  A closer look revealed that it was not the steak recipe’s ingredients he wanted me to get…  It was the topping.  Blue Cheese Butter topping… which made me promptly wrinkle my nose..  Eww… Blue cheese is notoriously stinky!  Why would you put stinky cheese on your steak?

Being raised in Indonesia where I had very minimal exposure to cheese, I don’t embrace cheese with open arms.  It took me a while to stir up any courage to eat cheese, and until now, I still don’t venture out to try all of the different varieties of cheese too much.  I can eat Parmesan, Mozzarella, Feta, Swiss, Cheddar, Gouda, Edam, which I would consider pretty mild tasting cheeses.  But anything else that looks blue or green, or any cheese that has strong odorous smell, I just keep my distance.  Until a few weeks ago, that was.

While I doubted myself that I would slather my steak with this Blue Cheese Butter, I was wrong.  I scooped up a small chunk of this Blue Cheese Butter, and put it onto a corner of my steak, and warily took a bite of it.  I was pleasantly surprised that offensive smell did not attack my nose, and that the butter actually enhanced the steak’s taste.  So I took a bigger portion of the concoction, and by then, I inhaled the rest of the steak.

If you never try this Blue Cheese Butter, try it, and you will be pleasantly surprised.

For those of you who are interested to read about blue cheese, click on this link, it is an interesting reading.  It explains where the blueness of Blue Cheese came from.  Happy reading!

Blue Cheese Butter
Recipe courtesy: Joshua Bousel

Ingredients:

2 tbs butter, at room temperature
1½ tbs crumbled blue cheese, at room temperature
½ small shallot, minced
½ small garlic glove, minced
½ tsp chopped fresh parsley
salt and pepper to taste

Preparation:
Mix the first five ingredients together, add salt and pepper to taste.  Serve.

This entry was posted in Condiment and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Blue Cheese Butter

  1. i guess you just busted to cheated on the strong smells of blue cheese…hehehe
    klo gak digituin emang rada nendang baunya, aku suka merk castello mbak…

    Like

Leave a Reply

