Morgan’s Veggie Patties

I’m one of those lucky people that loves to eat fruits and veggies.  I said lucky because I naturally like them.  I don’t have to be forced to eat them and I can eat them as they come from Mother Nature.  I like them so much that we have a basket in the refrigerator for just fruits!  At work, I usually just eat frozen vegetable patties and some frozen veggies if I don’t have any leftovers.  Sometimes though, I forget to add the frozen vegetable patties to my grocery list and I run out of frozen patties at the office and have to figure out something else for lunch.

One day, I was flipping the channels and I saw that Guy was making “Morgan’s Veggie Patties”.  I know Guy from his show, Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives, but I have rarely seen his cooking show.  I don’t know who “Morgan” was on this episode.  But what I saw made me want to make them.  Then of course I went online to see if they had the recipe out there.

When I first found the link, it turned out that they have the video on the Food Network.  So I watched it again, and then got ready to make my grocery list.  The list of ingredients almost made me stop and forget about the whole thing.   I never saw a recipe where the ingredients list takes almost half a page of 8½ and 11 inch paper!  I reread it and decided that it was not bad.  Granted it involved a bunch of stuff and spices, but after reading the reviews, I really wanted to try this recipe.

Now mind you, I did a lot of prep work for the picture below – otherwise, your reaction might be the same as mine too, ready to move on to something else.  The prepared ingredients: cannellini, garbanzo, and black beans and artichoke.  Since I already had a jar of Artichoke for Bruschetta opened, I used this instead.  Then, the chopped veggies were black olives, red bell pepper, red onion, jalapeno, garlic and parsley.  The dry ingredients: bread crumbs and oats.  Spices, eggs and oil.

 

The spices: paprika, chili powder, oregano, cumin, red chili flakes, cumin, celery salt and ground sage.


 

So there!  Whew!  Are you still here? :)

I sautéed the red onion in olive oil until it softened a little bit…


 

Added the red bell pepper, garlic, jalapeno, black olives, and parsley…

 

Stirred it all around.  This stuff already looked good to eat!


 

And I almost forgot the artichoke!


 

Stirred it all around again, and let it cook a little bit and turned off the heat.


 

While the veggies were cooling, I drained the beans…  I decided to double or triple the recipe, since if not, I would have a lot of beans left over.  That’s what the other reviewers did too, they used up all of the canned beans.


 

Dumped the beans into a large mixing bowl…


 

Added the cooked veggies…


 

Added the bread crumbs

 

Added the beaten eggs…


 

Oats…. Now, I decided not to triple the oats, since if I added the whole thing, it would make very dry patties.  So I just I added maybe 1½ times of what the recipe called.


 

Then lastly, the spices…


 

Then I grabbed the plastic food glove and start mashing the beans and the spices altogether.   I remember that Guy said that he did not completely smash all of the beans so I left them in chunks here and there.


 

When all of it was incorporated, I was ready to shape the patties.


 

Like Guy, I used a shallow plastic container and line it up with plastic saran wrap.

 


 

Then I filled up the container with the beans mixture..


 

Then I wrapped the patty…


 

Flipped the container over, and voila!  A vegetable patty, wrapped in plastic wrap already.  Clean, no messy hands!


 

So within a few minutes, I finished shaping up the rest of the patties.


 

I heated the olive oil in a cast iron pan…


 

Put the patties into the pan to cook for a few minutes…


 

And in three minutes, I flipped them over to brown the other side…


 

And done!  See how easy that was!


 

I brought these babies to work, and a couple of vegetarian co-workers tried a bite.  If I let her, Renuka would finished off the patty right then and there!  So if you are into vegetable patties, give this recipe a try!  Until my next post!

 

Print recipe here.

Morgan’s Veggie Patties
Recipe courtesy Guy Fieri via Food Network

Ingredients
olive oil
½ medium red onion, diced
2 tablespoons diced black olives
2 tablespoons diced red bell peppers
1 teaspoon diced jalapeno
1½ tablespoons diced garlic
1 tablespoon diced artichoke
1 can 15 ounces black beans, drained
1 can 15 ounces chickpeas, drained
1 can 15 ounces white beans, drained
10 ounces rolled oats
1½  teaspoon Hungarian paprika
1½  teaspoon chili powder
3 teaspoon dried oregano
3 tablespoon minced fresh parsley leaves
1½  teaspoon red chili flakes
1½  teaspoon ground cumin
1½  teaspoon celery salt
3/4 teaspoon ground sage
6 tablespoons seasoned bread crumbs
2 eggs

Directions
In a medium pan, sauté the raw vegetables over medium heat until soften.  Cool and set aside.
Add the cooked vegetables and the rest of the ingredients into a medium mixing bowl.  Mix the ingredients and gently mash most  of the beans.
Shape the patties, wrap in saran wrap, refrigerate for 30 minutes.
Cook patties two to three minutes per side.

This entry was posted in beans, Food, Vegetables and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Morgan’s Veggie Patties

  1. Those veggie patties look really good!

    • Anny says:

      They were pretty good, but I need to reduce the oatmeal, since they were a tad bit on the dry side. I ate them as is, without bread and condiment. So that might be why.

Leave a Reply

