Good Ole Pecan Pie

As some of you know, I’m not really into sweets.  I just like making them.  Which, in that regard, I am very lucky.  Because if I liked sweets and liked making them, I would be in very, very, big, trouble.  I would be the size of our largely structured cat, Blue.  And to prevent readers going into a coma, I decline to upload his picture into this post.  Luckily, I’m more like Ace.  Ace appears to be skinny when compared to his brother, Blue.  But, Ace has his own belly to show off, since he is somewhat neurotic.  He likes to mow his own fur.  No amount of distraction, sprays, anything, or even to the extreme, the E. collar seems to help him with his obsession.  Now, the comparison of me and Ace stops short in the contour of his body line.  In no regards do I behave like Ace.  For one thing, I don’t have fur growing on my belly.  Believe me, I don’t.  If I do, you would probably read it on the news as one of those world wonders.  🙂  Let me get back on track here.  Pardon me.

I don’t remember where I had my first pecan pie.  My impression at that time was that pecan pie was awfully sweet.  It was so sweet that my teeth hurt, and I even start coughing from the sweetness.  So don’t ask me why I decided to make Fannie Flagg‘s Pecan Pie.  It was probably when I started practicing to make a pie.  As it turned out though, it was a good thing.  Fannie Flagg’s Pecan Pie was the “pie” for me.  The sweetness was just right and with no overkill and you get to enjoy it rather than worry about your teeth hurting.  And the thing is, Pecan Pie is very easy to make.

All I needed was melted butter, light brown sugar, light corn syrup, eggs, vanilla, pecans and a pastry shell.

 

 

First, I cut up the butter and put it in a sauce pan.  I love recipes that ask for melted butter, since I don’t have to let the butter sit on the counter to come to room temperature.

 

 

Then I dumped in a full cup of packed, light brown sugar.  When I said packed, it is really packed.  I squeezed the dickens out of the sugar and packed it into that measuring cup.

 

 

Then I added the full cup of light corn syrup.

 

 

Stirred and cooked it on medium/medium low heat until all of the sugar was melted and let it cool off a little bit.

 

 

In a separate bowl, I broke the four eggs.  These… I let it sit on the counter to come to room temperature.

 

 

I beat the egg and added the vanilla.

 

 

And the salt.

 

 

Then, there are two things I could do here.  In this picture below, I added the eggs directly into the sauce pan, and whisked the egg to incorporate it.  Now, if your syrup is still hot, you will have to be careful, since you might end up with cooked scrambled egg in syrup.

 

 

Another way was to temper the egg.  I poured in a little bit of the hot syrup (this is if you don’t want to wait for the syrup to cool off) and whisked it to incorporate it, as well as bringing up the temperature of the egg mixture up.  I kept adding the hot syrup into the egg mixture until they were all incorporated.

 

 

The end result was the filling for the pecan pie.  So, depending how much in a hurry I was, I would do one of these steps.

 

 

The recipe said to pour the filling into the pastry shell, and then scatter the pecans on top. Well, I like my pecans to be coated with that sugary mixture, so I just dumped the pecans into the pot.

 

 

Mixed them up a little bit, just making sure that each pecan at least was coated with the filling.

 

 

Then I poured it all into the pastry shell.

 

 

If you use a regular Pyrex dish, usually you would be able to put the whole filling in there.  Back when I was buying the store-bought, deep-dish crust, I usually ended up with extra filling.

 

 

Baked it for 50 – 55 minutes, and voila! Pecan Pie! The pie was puffed up a little bit, since it was full of hot air…

 

 

After it cooled off, it settled down and turned out to be a normal pie.   🙂

 

 

I just learned lately that to get a neat cut on pecan pie, used a steak knife! Usually, pecan pie will crumble or mess up as soon as you cut it, but I was able to get almost a clean cut using a steak knife.

 

 

Since we were in a hurry and didn’t remember to bring the vanilla ice cream out of the freezer…. We just put a dollop of whipped cream on top.

 

 

Mmm mmm good! So if you like pecan pie that is not too sweet, this one is for you!

 

 

Print recipe here.

Good Ole Pecan Pie
Recipe courtesy: Fannie Flagg’s Whistle Stop Café Cookbook

½ cup or 1 stick of butter or margarine
1 cup firmly packed light brown sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
4 eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/3 teaspoon salt
1 unbaked 9-inch pastry shell
1½ – 2 cups pecan halves

Preheat oven to 325F. In a medium saucepan, melt the butter in medium heat, and then add the light brown sugar and light corn syrup. Stir and cook until the sugar is dissolved. Let the sugar mixture cool slightly. Add vanilla and salt to the beaten eggs, mix well. Add the beaten egg to the sugar mixture, whisk until they are incorporated. Add the pecan halves into the sauce pan; stir until all pecans are coated with the sugar mixture. Pour into a deep dish pastry shell, bake for 50-55 minutes. Serve with a dollop of whip cream or a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Pie and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Good Ole Pecan Pie

  1. Rona says:

    Anny…this is a beautiful post! I grew up with pecan pie every holiday! (my family are all Texans, I am a Californian but long for my summers spent in Texas!) I enjoyed reading through your other posts, as well. Great job!

    Like

    • Anny says:

      Thank you Rona! I do like to make pecan pie since it is so easy to make. By default I’m probably can be considered as Texan, but I still can’t say “y’all” with the correct accent! Thank you again for reading! 🙂

      Like

  2. chrisannee says:

    You said you used to buy store bought crusts? Well, share how you made that one look so pretty! I’ve finally got mine to where the taste good, but they don’t look near as good as yours.

    Like

Leave a Reply

