Nutella Pie

After making the Nutella Pudding Icebox Cake last month,  the next recipe I tried was the Nutella Pie recipe that I found at the Hill Country Cook’s blog.  I had no excuse not to make it, since I have a huge jar of Nutella in my kitchen, sitting in the cabinet.  I can’t believe myself that I haven’t finished up the Nutella.  And, even as I write this post, there is half a jar of Nutella.  I know!!  What’s wrong with me, right??  Well, I like things in moderation.  Ha ha!!  Hubby will roll his eyes when he reads this statement!  I am totally the opposite.  I don’t know the word moderation.  I am always into the extreme of things.  Like blogging, once I got going, I was unstoppable.  Every spare moment was used to find new recipes to try, to cook and to blog.  But once the mood was gone, then I went on hiatus, like these past month, and found something else to be extreme about, like, Farmville.  :D  I confess.  I am a Farmville addict.  I have gone cold turkey before, but I always go back faithfully, until the next extreme thing comes along.

Anyway, I’m supposed to write about food, not about myself.  Back to the pie.  The ingredients were very simple.  Nutella, cream cheese, heavy cream, powdered sugar, and the hazelnut flavoring syrup and chocolate bar (not pictured).  When I thought of making this pie, it was a spur of the moment thing.  So I didn’t have any hot fudge in the house, and I didn’t feel like going out of the house to get it either.  And I didn’t feel like making a homemade version either.  So, instead of having a naked pie, I decided that I’ll just shave some chocolate and use it as the topping.  The other thing that I modified from the recipe was the vanilla.  Since I already have a bottle of the Hazelnut flavoring syrup, I used that instead of the vanilla.

 

So, I just cut up the softened cream cheese into the bowl – I just thought that cutting it up making it easier for the mixer.  I could be wrong.  Then I dumped in the powdered sugar.

 

I turned on the mixer and beat them until smooth.

 

Then I dumped the Nutella into the bowl…

 

Beat it until the Nutella was incorporated with the cream cheese.

 

Then into another bowl, I poured the heavy cream, and added the powdered sugar.

 

Hazelnut flavoring syrup…

 

Beat it with the same mixer.  According to Katie at Hill Country Cook, no need to wash the beaters.  Now, mind you, I almost beat the cream too long – I almost ended up with butter!

 

Added the whipped cream to the Nutella mixture…

 

Folded in the whipped cream …

 

Until they were all smooth.

 

Poured it into my  Chocolate Graham Cracker shell…

 

Smoothed the top and put it into the refrigerator to chill for a few hours.

 

Half an hour before we ate it, I took it out of the refrigerator, and added the shaved chocolate on top.

 

Cut a slice… oh, it was a delight!

 

The creaminess of the pie just melted in your mouth.  The Nutella flavor was mellowed out, so it was not as strong as the real thing.  This would definitely make it to the super easy, yummy dessert in my book.  Thank you for sharing the recipe Katie!

 

Print recipe here.

Nutella Pie
Recipe adapted from: the Hill Country Cook

Ingredients:
Chocolate Cookie Crust, 9 inch
8 oz. cream cheese, softened
3/4 cup powdered sugar, plus 2 tablespoons
3/4 cup Nutella
1 cup whipping cream
1 tablespoon Hazelnut flavoring syrup
Hot fudge or Chocolate shaving

Preparation:
In a bowl, mix the cream cheese and 3/4 cup powdered sugar using electric beaters, about one minute. Add 3/4 cup Nutella and beat until fluffy, about three minutes.  Don’t stop once it’s just combined – three minutes adds air, making it nice and fluffy.  In a separate bowl, beat whipping cream, hazelnut flavoring syrup, and 2 tablespoons of powdered sugar until stiff peaks have formed – this takes about 3-4 minutes.  Starting with 1/3 of the whipped cream mixture, fold the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture.  Once it’s combined, add the remaining whipped cream to the chocolate mixture, folding gently until thoroughly mixed. Pour the mixture into a 9 inch cookie crust.  Freeze 4 hours or until firm.  When ready to serve, let the pie sit out 20 minutes to soften.  Top with chocolate saving and serve.

Hill Country Cook version was topped with hot fudge.  She also said that the pie can be topped with additional whipped cream, or chopped nuts.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Nutella Pie

  1. Tyler says:

    Would it be possible to replace the Hazelnut Syrup with Hazelnuts or even to leave the Hazelnut Syrup or Hazelnuts out of the pie altogether?

    Like

  2. Hill Country Cook here, I LIKE the addition of hazelnut syrup! Nicely done!! Looks gorgeous!

    Like

Leave a Reply

