Giada’s Short Ribs with Tagliatelle

If you read my previous post, I am assuming that you’re wondering about Giada’s Short Ribs with Tagliatelle.  After all of that trouble making the pasta, did she make the Short Ribs?  Yes I did!  And let me tell you all about it, as long as you’re not falling asleep while reading my blog.  Drooling is allowed, but not falling asleep… 🙂

The short ribs that Giada used in her recipe are Beef Short Ribs.  We don’t usually cook Short Ribs often, since it is quite greasy, and often times, it needs a longer cooking period to make the meat tender. One of the methods we used a while back was using a crock pot, where we used Paula Deen’s recipe.  So we know how good Short Ribs can be when you take the time to cook them.

The main ingredients for this dish were short ribs.  The other ingredients were Pancetta, carrot, onion, fresh parsley, garlic, canned whole tomatoes, beef broth, bay leaves, rosemary (not in picture), dried thyme, dried oregano, salt, pepper, dark  chocolate, non-alcoholic cooking wine, and olive oil.

 

First I poured some olive oil into our French oven.  Some of you probably think that I should have said “Dutch oven” instead of “French oven”.  Well, Le Creuset called theirs French ovens instead of the Dutch ovens. And I’m not going to argue with them over a name.  For all of I care, it is a pot. 🙂

 

Then I dropped the Pancetta into the pot.

 

Stirred it around to brown…

 

While the pancetta was browning, I washed and dried the short ribs.  I also trimmed some of the excess fat a little bit.  From the recipe reviews, several people mentioned that this dish will be very greasy if you don’t skim off the fat.

 

Salted and peppered the ribs…

 

In the meantime, the pancetta was browned and I scooped it up and transferred it into a bowl.

 

Then I dredged the ribs with some flour…

 

Put the ribs into the pot, and this is when I mentioned to Hubby that we need to have a bigger pot.  I could barely fit the ribs in there, and I had to position them in certain way to make sure they all fit in there.

 

While the ribs were browning, I cut the veggies.

 

Aren’t they looking good?  I continued cooking the ribs until all sides were browned.

 

Then, I put all of the veggies, including the parsley into the food processor and pushed the button to chop them up.

 

This way, I did not need to shed one single tear to mince that onion!  :)  No tears involved in this cooking!

 

I added the canned tomato in there – and at this point I was wondering, should I have use the medium work bowl instead of the small work bowl…

 

Pulsed them, and nope, I did not need to use the medium work bowl.  It fit just fine.

 

The color of the veggies sure looks good.

 

The ribs were browned on all sides…

 

 

Then I dumped the processed veggies into the pot…

 

Added the pancetta back in…

 

Made sure everything was coated with the veggie sauce…

 

Added the chopped rosemary and dried herbs…

 

Bayleaf…

 

Beef stock…

 

And the non-alcoholic red wine…

 

And what was inside the pot looked really good to eat…  :)  I let it come to a boil, and then let it simmer for 2 hours covered.  (This is for not reading the recipe closely.  I was supposed to simmer it covered for 1.5 hour).

 

After two hours, I let it simmer uncovered for another hour.  At this time, I skimmed off the grease as much as I could.

 

After three hours, I scooped up the ribs onto a plate, and was wondering if I would have a hard time shredding the beef like some of the reviewers.

 

Not at all.  The meat fell off the bone easily, and I was able to shred the meat off with a fork, as well as trimming the fat at this time too.

 

I poured the shredded meat back into the pot…

 

I was ready to eat this stuff!  But, since I was making it ahead of time, I just let it cool before I put the meat sauce into the refrigerator.

 

So the next day, I heated up the meat sauce on a low heat, while my pasta was cooking.  When the pasta was ready, I lifted it up with a pair of tongs…

 

And it went into the meat sauce pot.

 

Aren’t the noodles looking good?

 

Then I tried to mix the noodles and the meat sauce…

 

Put some onto our plates…

 

And I decided to put some chocolate shavings onto half of my noodles.  This way I got to taste the noodles with and without the chocolate.

 

I twirled my fork and got one long strand of noodle wrapped onto my fork, coated with the sauce.  It was delisshiousss!!  The meat sauce was very, very good.  It wasn’t greasy at all; the meat was tender and flavorful.  The fresh pasta was chewy, and I would do this all over again.  Even if it took me 3.5 hours to cook this thing.  The shaved chocolate added a smooth flavor to the meat sauce, but I am a stranger when it comes to pasta and chocolate.  So I preferred mine without the chocolate.  The next time I make this dish again, I would double up the recipe so I can freeze some of the sauce.  So, until my next post!

 

Print recipe here.

Short Ribs with Tagliatelle
Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis via Food Network

Ingredients
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 ounces chopped pancetta (about 1/2 cup)
2 ½ pounds short ribs
Salt
Freshly ground black pepper
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 medium onion, chopped
1 carrot, chopped
1/2 cup fresh parsley leaves
2 cloves garlic
1 (14-ounce) can tomatoes (whole or diced)
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 teaspoon chopped fresh rosemary leaves
1 teaspoon dried thyme
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
1 bay leaf
2 1/2 cups beef broth
3/4 cup red wine
1 pound fresh or dried tagliatelle

4 to 6 teaspoons shaved bittersweet chocolate

Directions

Place the olive oil in a large heavy soup pot over medium heat. Cook the pancetta until golden and crisp, about 4 minutes. Meanwhile, season the short ribs with salt and pepper, and dredge in the flour. Using a slotted spoon, remove the pancetta from the pan and set aside. Add the short ribs to the pan and brown on all sides, about 7 minutes total.

Meanwhile, combine the onion, carrot, parsley and garlic in a food processor and blend until finely minced. Then add the tomatoes and tomato paste and pulse.

Once the short ribs are browned, carefully add the mixture from the food processor to the pot. Return the pancetta to the pot and stir. Add the rosemary, thyme, oregano, bay leaf, beef broth, and wine. Bring the mixture to a boil. Reduce the heat and simmer, covered, for 1 hour and 15 minutes. Remove the lid and simmer for another hour and a half, stirring occasionally. Remove the meat and bones from the pot. Discard the bones. Shred the meat and return it to the pot. Season with 1/2 teaspoon salt and 3/4 teaspoon pepper, or to taste.

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes for dried pasta and 2 to 3 minutes for fresh. Drain the pasta, reserving 1 cup of the cooking liquid. Add the pasta to the pot and stir to combine. Add the reserved pasta liquid 1/4 cup at a time, if needed, to moisten the pasta. Transfer to serving bowls, top each bowl with 1 teaspoon of chocolate shavings. Serve immediately.

This entry was posted in Beef, Italian, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

