Homemade Pasta… (again?)

Yes, again.  This will be my third posting of homemade pasta.  Well, I have several reasons why I am writing about this again.  One, because I want to.  Ha ha…. Two, this is a different recipe, well sort of; I was using Semolina flour instead of All Purpose flour.  Three, I found a Chef/food/video blogger that I like, and I want to share what I found with you.  Four, I forewent the bowl and used the mountain method to make my pasta.  Five, do you need a fifth reason?  Really?  Okay, if you really want to; Five, the grocery stores that I frequent did not sell fresh Tagliatelle.  There.  Are you happy now? 🙂

It all started when we were watching Giada de Laurentiis cook her Short Ribs and Tagliatelle.  It looked so good and you know that we would want to try it.  And I know I could have used Fettuccini instead of Tagliatelle.  After all, pasta is pasta is pasta right?  They just have different shapes, length and names.  But, then this gave me an excuse to make another batch of homemade pasta. 😉

So I went online and typed in Tagliatelle, and long story short, I found Chef John!  Instead of pictures for his food, he has a video!  Scrumptious!!  His video is simple, short, and sweet!  In this particular post, he was documenting how his Uncle Bill makes the “Homemades”.  Since he made creating the pasta using the mountain method look so easy (er… this is my term, so please do not quote me or anything), I wanted to try it too.

Now if you look at the recipe Chef John posted on his site, he uses the All Purpose Flour.  During my research, a lot of people mentioned that Semolina would produce better tasting pasta.  So I looked at the big HEB grocery store for Semolina flour – and I found Bob’s Red Mill’s one.  Perhaps if I go to the Whole Foods, they might carry Semolina in more than a 1 pound bag.  But for a try-out, one pound is more than enough.

So, the ingredients were Semolina flour, olive oil, egg, salt, and water (didn’t make it into the picture).

 

First I cleaned my countertop really well, and then after it dried, I scooped up a couple of cups of Semolina flour.  This flour is grainier than the regular All Purpose flour.  In fact, when I was pouring the flour, it reminded me about Couscous, since Couscous is made from Semolina flour.

 

Then I tried to create a well in the middle.  I think next time I need to dig the well a little deeper, since I barely had any space for the liquids.

 

I added the salt…

 

Olive oil…

 

One egg…

 

 

Two eggs…. Oopss….. it was really tight in there!

 

Using a fork, I carefully tried to scramble the eggs without destroying the flour bowl.

 

Finally, I was able to scramble the eggs without breaking the dam.  Phewww!!

 

Added the water…

 

And tried as heck to mix the water and egg, and my dam broke, as you can see from the picture.  There are traces of liquids running down the right side of the flour.  But luckily, I was able to do damage control and actually thickened up the liquid by stirring in more flour from the sides of the well.

 

At this point, I followed Chef John’s direction by pushing the flour into the middle.

 

Pulled more flour, kneaded with a few fingers, pulled more flour…

 

Until I got a wet pasta dough.

 

Then I started kneading, at which point I asked Hubby to take a picture.  I didn’t want to get pasta dough all over the camera, so Hubby pitched in.

 

After 10 minutes, the result was remarkable!  The dough had become smooth and elastic.  I have to tell you that there is a difference in kneading the All Purpose flour dough as compared to Semolina flour dough.  It seemed like the Semolina dough was a lot easier to handle and knead.  But I could be wrong…  What do I know?

 

When I finished kneading, I rolled it into a round dough…  I am just in love this dough.  So round, so smooth, so perfect.  I could just stare at this dough forever…

 

Then I was supposed to let it rest for 30 minutes so the gluten can develop or something and I wrapped it in plastic wrap so it did not dry out.

 

After 30 minutes, I cut the dough into fourths.

 

And started rolling one of the cut pieces of dough with my rolling pin.

 

I tried to roll it into a long rectangular shape as much as I could.

 

Then I folded it into thirds and cut the pasta with a very sharp knife, and I cut it into almost a centimeter wide – since I was making Tagliatelle, after all.

 

Unrolled the pasta, and voila!  I had homemade Tagliatelle!  :)  This time though, I put one chopstick in the middle of the length of my pasta.  You probably are wondering what the heck is she doing?  You’ll see.

 

I peeled the pasta on the left side of the chopstick, and then laid it across the chopstick.

 

Then, after unrolling the right side as well, I was able to pick up the strand of noodles with my chopstick!!  What do you think?😀

 

After that, I used my big mixing bowl as a makeshift pasta drying rack.  I actually wasn’t planning on drying my pasta, but I didn’t want them to stick to each other while I rolled the rest of the dough.  I even used a tea pitcher (not pictured) since my pasta was quite long.

 

Then I just picked up the chopsticks and dropped the noodles  into salted boiling water to cook!

 

So what do you think?

 

Doesn’t this sound so easy to make?  Thanks for the pointers Chef John!  And be sure to check out Chef John’s site, you will like it.

 

Print recipe here.

“Homemades” Pasta
Recipe courtesy: Chef John

Ingredients:
2 1/4 to 2 1/3 cup AP flour (you can always add flour, but not take it out, so even though we started with 2 1/3 cups, it may be better to start with 2 1/4 and then add a bit more latter if it seems too sticky.
2 large eggs
1 tsp salt
1 tbl olive oil
1/3 cup water

This entry was posted in Food, Pasta and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Homemade Pasta… (again?)

  1. Great post! We’re beginning to find that making pasta can become addicting!

    Like

  2. Lusi Njo says:

    Very nice & clear step-by-step photos.🙂

    Like

  3. potterstreet says:

    The chopstick idea is pure brilliance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

