Giada’s Chicken Burgers with Garlic-Rosemary Mayonnaise

One of the downsides of watching the Cooking Channel is that you have to change your shirts often, since whatever they cook usually will make you drool.   I am not saying that’s what happened to me when I watch the Cooking Channel.  I usually become hungry, and I have this urge to try to cook the same thing, and then I will get frustrated, because I don’t have all of the ingredients on hand.  And then, I turn grouchy and snippy… and I gorge on Fritos instead.  Now that I think about it… maybe that’s why my jeans are somewhat snug lately… and I have been blaming the dryer!

Anyway, lately we have been tuning in to watch Giada de Laurentiis to cook in the evenings.  She usually cooks pretty easy stuff, not complicated and she doesn’t use rare ingredients.  In this particular episode, she made Chicken Burgers, just with a very few ingredients.

Ground chicken, mayonnaise, rosemary, garlic, salt and pepper.  That’s it!  I happened to have ground chicken in the freezer, from one of my unrealized projects.  🙂

 

I chopped up my herbs first.

 

Then I measured about a cup of mayo into a small bowl and dumped the chopped herbs into it.

 

Mixed them up…

 

Then scooped half of the seasoned mayo into my ground chicken.

 

Salted and peppered it…

 

And mixed them up again.

 

Then I lined my cutting board with parchment paper.  See!  I did my homework this time 🙂  I actually read several reviews and I got this suggestion from them.  Then, being lazy and not wanting to get my hands dirty, I pulled on a pair of those disposable food gloves and started shaping my chicken patties.

 

When I was done, I put them on top of the parchment paper.

 

Then I had this idea pop up in my head, and I cut the parchment paper into four pieces, which I could then lift up one of the patties at a time without disturbing the others.  This way, I kept my hands clean too.

 

I transferred one of the patties into the frying pan when the oil was heated…

 

And I was able to put the patties into the pan without dirtying my hands and mess up the shape of the patties!

 

I fried them for about 6 -7 minutes on each side, and I flipped the burgers to get the other side cooked also.

 

Then when they were done, I put them on a plate lined with a paper towel to drain off the excess oil.

 

Since I didn’t have a bun, I just used a wheat tortilla I had at home.  I slapped the mayo on it…

 

Put a piece of lettuce on top, and then the chicken burger…

 

Voila!  Wrapped chicken burger!  It was delicious!!  The burger was moist and tender; the hint of garlic and rosemary just took the burger to the next level.

 

Some of you must be wondering what did I do with the left overs?  Well, I took it to work!  Instead of another wrap, I went to Jason’s Deli to get their Wheat Ciabatta, and assembled my burger at the office…  🙂  This time I slapped on a slice of tomato as well.  So what do you think?  It was even more delicious with the real bread…  So go! Make some  🙂

 

Print recipe here.

Chicken Burgers with Garlic-Rosemary Mayonnaise
Recipe courtesy Giada De Laurentiis, via Food Network

Ingredients

Mayonnaise:

1 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup chopped fresh rosemary leaves
1 clove garlic, minced

Burgers:

1 pound ground chicken
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
4 sandwich rolls or burger buns
1/4 cup olive oil
1 cup arugula, divided

Directions

For the mayonnaise: In a small bowl, mix together mayonnaise, garlic, and rosemary; set aside.

For the burgers: Preheat a gas or charcoal grill or place a grill pan over medium-high heat. In a large bowl, add the ground chicken, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1/4 teaspoon pepper, and 1/2 of the mayonnaise mixture. Using clean hands, gently combine the ingredients and form the chicken mixture into 4 patties. Place the burgers on the grill and cook for about 7 minutes on each side. Transfer to paper towels and let rest for a few minutes.

Brush the cut side of each roll with the olive oil and 1 teaspoon of the mayonnaise mixture. Grill for 1 to 2 minutes until slightly golden.

To assemble the burgers: Spread a dollop of the remaining mayonnaise mixture on the tops and bottoms of the toasted buns. Place the chicken burgers on the bottom halves of the buns. Top each with 1/4 cup of arugula and finish with the top half of the bun.

Serve.

This entry was posted in Chicken, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

