Chocolate Molten Cake

The first time we had Chocolate Molten Cake was when we were in Indonesia several years ago.  We were having dessert at our hotel with our family, and since then, I had been looking for an easy recipe.  The first time I made it here was using Betty Crocker’s recipe, Midnight Molten Brownie Cupcakes which came out pretty good, but not great.

Then I have been searching for a different recipe.  I remember I have a printout of a recipe which requires a homemade ganache for the filling in the middle.  As you can surmise, the recipe is still filed in the recipe clippings . . .

Then, Hubby saw Claire Robinson make this Chocolate Molten Cake on TV, and of course, Wifey dutifully received a printout of the recipe.  :)  The cake is fairly easy and quick to make.

I only needed Bittersweet chocolate, sugar, eggs, flour, and butter.

 

I cut up the butter and dumped it into the bowl.

 

For an extra step, I beat the egg a little bit.

 

Then I melted the butter and chocolate on top of a pan with simmering water . . .

 

Stirred it around and made sure the butter was completely melted and incorporated with the chocolate.

 

Then I dumped the sugar into the bowl . . .

 

Since I didn’t want to wait until my chocolate batter cooled off a little bit, I tempered the egg instead.  If I just dumped the egg into the bowl of chocolate, I might end up with a chocolate scramble egg.  I poured a cup of chocolate batter into the egg . . .

 

Whisked it until the chocolate mixture was incorporated and brought up the egg’s temperature without cooking it.

 

Then I dumped the egg and chocolate mixture back into the chocolate batter bowl.

 

Lastly, I added the flour and folded it into the batter.

 

Using a measuring cup, I scooped up the chocolate batter into ramekins.  Thank you Kelly for my ramekins!!🙂

 

Then, I broke off the Ghirardelli chocolate bar, and inserted two pieces of 1 inch square into the middle of the batter.  The recipe only asked for one square, but one square did not produce enough melted chocolate.  So two went into the batter.

 

I put the chocolate on top of the batter, and pushed the chocolate squares until they sank into the middle of the ramekin.

 

My ramekins must be smaller ramekins since I was able to get five servings.  I baked them for 20-25 minutes . . .

 

And when they were done, they looked okay.  Not too appetizing, plain, brown cakes.

 

This is one of those cakes that need to be spruce up a little bit to make it pleasing on the eyes.  So after I turned the ramekin over on a plate and the cake was released into the plate, I dusted it with powdered sugar and I put a fanned strawberry on top of the cake.

 

I was shy with the powdered sugar… I dusted some more…

 

Another variation was to dust it with powdered sugar more heavily, so the top of the cake was covered with white snow blanket, and put one raspberry on top.🙂

 

Basically, whatever I fancied at the time and whatever berries I had.  I asked Hubby if he wanted his with vanilla ice cream, but surprisingly, he declined!

 

After I ate about half of the cake, then I was able to take a better picture of the melted chocolate in the middle of the cake.

 

Sinful?🙂

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Molten Cakes
Recipe courtesy Claire Robinson, 2010, via Food Network

Prep Time: 10 min
Inactive Prep Time:
Cook Time: 23 min
Level: Easy
Serves: 4 servings

Ingredients
1/2 pound (2 sticks) unsalted butter, plus more for greasing
1/2 pound bittersweet chocolate, at least 60 percent, plus 8 (1-inch) squares
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 large eggs
3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Butter 4 (6-ounce) ramekins and set aside.
Over a double boiler, melt the butter and chocolate, whisking until smooth. Whisk in the sugar and transfer to a medium bowl. Whisk in the eggs and flour until smooth. Pour the batter into the prepared ramekins about 2/3 full. Place 2 of the small chocolate squares right in the middle of each cake and press down with your fingers so it rests in the middle of the ramekin. Bake the cakes until slightly puffy and set around the edges, 20 to 25 minutes. Don’t worry if your cake tester comes out wet, the center should still be loose.

BYOC: Use a nice sea salt to garnish, or try toasted coconut flakes, toasted and chopped nuts, fresh berries in the summer or freshly whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

