Fruit Salad

Did I ever tell you that sometimes when I read, I don’t fully digest what I have read?  It is similar to “hearing” and “listening.”  Case in point, this fruit salad about which I am going to write.  My cousin texted me last weekend and asked if the fruit salad is on my blog.  I said not yet and that I would send the recipe to her.  Guess what I found when I looked at the recipe again?  The salad was supposed to be a layered fruit salad, not tossed and turned …  he he he …  And I had made this fruit salad a couple of times!  Duh!  But, despite how it looked, it was a great and refreshing fruit salad.

I found this recipe several years ago, when the kids came down from the Mitten.  It was during the Easter holiday, and I thought that I would do a brunch.  With a brunch, there was planning and chopping required ahead of time, so I would not run around in the kitchen like a chicken with its head cut off.  So I asked Aunt Goggle, and I found this site where it even gives you a whole brunch menu!  I made the Crustless Ham and Egg Tarts and Cracked Pepper & Brown Sugar Oven-Roasted Bacon.  All good stuff.  And now, I just need to write about the fruit salad. 🙂

It might look like a lot of work, but you will truly enjoy it.  And it can also be prepared the night before.  You can cut up all of the fruits and prepare the juice the night before, and just mix it in a few hours before you are going to serve it.

The recipe called for a variety of fruits.  I think you can use whatever fruits you like, just make sure there is a combination of soft and crunchy.  I went straight by the book, you know, since I’m not creative.  Truly, one night there was a show on tv, where they interviewed these people in China.  They all could be very smart students but, when it comes to creativity, they are very much so lacking in that department.  And they acknowledged it too.  It all came down to the education system in Asia – where memorizing takes a greater part of the education.  The result?  Look at me! 🙂

Back to fruit salad…  I used grapefruit, oranges, granny smith and gala apples, strawberry, banana, kiwi and grapes.  The other additions were just honey, from my local bee keeper and mint leaves.

 

Then before I cut up anything, I zested the citruses.  Lemon first…

 

Then the orange…

 

Isn’t this neat?  It’s like East meets West, but instead it is yellow meets orange? 😀

 

Then I squeezed the bald lemon to get the juice…

 

Then the bald orange as well…

 

Added the honey…

 

Then I poured the citrus juice into the zests…

 

Then I cut up all of the fruits and threw them into a salad bowl…  At this point, since I prepared it ahead of time, I put the juice into a tupperware container and the fruit into the refrigerator.

 

Then the next morning, I chopped up the mint and added it to the juice…

 

Sliced some banana on top – I didn’t want to slice the banana ahead of time and then have it turn brown on me…  huh?  Would banana turn brown?  Anyway…

 

Poured the juice all over the cut-up fruits…

 

Slowly mixed them around – the grapefruit fell apart on me…  but that was okay…  The other fruits were intact…

 

Isn’t this refreshing?  The combination of fruit juice and honey added the additional sugar, but not too much that it would cause your taste buds to quiver…  The mint also gave the fruit salad an oomph!  All in all, it was a very good fruit salad.  Thanks to Divine Dinner Party for the recipe! 🙂

Print recipe here.

Pretty Layered Fruit Salad Recipe
Recipe by: Divine Dinner Party.com

With all the bacon and eggs and rich buttery French toast we’ve included in this special brunch menu, your guests are going to be crying out for something fresh.  This pretty fruit salad is just the ticket.  It’s fresh, light, and delicious.  Plus, it’s a great presentation piece layered in its pretty trifle bowl.  Feel free to exchange any type of fruit below for one of your favorites– this is a very adaptable brunch recipe.

Ingredients:
1/2 C.  fresh orange juice
1/4 C.  fresh lemon juice
1/4 C.  honey
1/2 tsp.  orange zest
1/2 tsp.  lemon zest
2 C.  apples, chunked
1 C.  seedless red grapes
2 bananas, sliced
2 oranges, fully peeled & sectioned
1 grapefruit, fully peeled & sectioned
2 c.  ripe strawberries, sliced
3 kiwis, peeled & sliced
1 tbsp.  chopped fresh mint (dried will NOT do here)
1 sprig mint, for garnish (optional)

Instructions: In a small mixing bowl, combine orange juice, lemon juice, honey, and zests.  Mix well.  Stir in mint.
Prepare fruit and layer into a glass trifle bowl in the order listed.  (A glass serving bowl works fine, too.)
Pour juice mix over fruit.
Refrigerate several hours.  Garnish with mint sprigs before serving.

Note: If you don’t like a strong mint flavor, I suggest leaving out the mint.

This entry was posted in Food, Fruit, Salad and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

