PW’s Watermelon Granita

Whew!!  Last night I couldn’t sleep.  I worked all weekend on my travel blog, and I uploaded the post on Facebook right before dinner.  Then, after dinner, my sister told me that she couldn’t open the link from Facebook, and I was wondering what was she talking about.  So, I looked and my travel blog was suspended!!  At that time, I believed I was suspended because of the links I put on my post.  I was a traffic redirector!  I was a violator of WordPress’s TOS!!  Oh NO!!  I did not mean to!!  Luckily, WordPress had their staff working early in the morning.  This morning, I got an email that their system shouldn’t have suspend my blog.  I didn’t even have to remove the links which I thought were the offending subjects.  Whew!!!  I thought I lost all of my work!  I have backups of course; I saved all my posts in a Word Perfect document format, as well as the pictures.  But, the thought of re-inserting 50 something pictures into one post was not a thought that I relished very much.  Whew!!!!

So, my friends, if you are a blogger, please keep a backup copy of your work.  Because once you’re suspended, you are toast!  Even if you are not violating anybody’s TOS, it is a good idea to keep backup anyway.  So, if you are interested to see the offending post, check out Granny Anny Is On The Run.  I would have direct you to click on the RSS feed under my Gravatar icon, but the RSS feed has not been working all day.

Wheww!!!!

Sorry, I have to rant and rave a little bit.  You know, letting out some steam …

So!  It was a few days before the boys came down to visit when I saw this post at PW.  I thought at the time, it is very simple, and it is perfect for the hot weather in Houston.  So, when we went to the grocery store, I got two seedless watermelons, since they were on sale.  It turned out that Hubby also got one watermelon.  So we ended up with three watermelons!!  We got watermelon overload, but it turned out Grandma also likes watermelon.  I sent her home with some cut-up watermelon.  So that helps.  🙂

In the meanwhile, to make the granita, I didn’t need many ingredients.  Watermelon, lime and sugar.  That’s it!

 
First of course I cut up the watermelon into quarters…

 
Then, after chopping them up into smaller pieces, I put them inside the blender.  I also added the sugar… like we need more sugar with watermelon?  But it turned out that it was perfect, the watermelon was not quite sweet, so the additional sugar was just so right!

 
Then I squeezed the limes…

 
Blended them up…

 
Since I had to blend the watermelon in two-three batches, I just poured the one that was done into a big bowl.

 
Then, after I blended all the watermelon I wanted, I stirred them up to make sure the lime and sugar were incorporated, and poured them into containers.

 
Once they were frozen, I scrapped them out with a fork.

 

I didn’t follow PW’s step by step in freezing/scraping them – so I had to work harder on mine.  But at the end, I had a container full of this frozen, shaved watermelon juice.   You know, I thought about putting this frozen juice into the food processor, but I didn’t want to ruin the blade.  So I kept scraping using a fork.

 

Then I scooped some up into a small ramekin.  Tasted it, and I liked it!  The boys though, they said it was funky.  Ha ha… I think, because it wasn’t sweet enough for their palates.  Compare to the Lemonade Slush, this was not sweet at all.  But, I like it, and I enjoy sipping it in this hot weather to cool me down.  And then I will freeze, and then I have to make some hot tea…and it would be a never ending cycle….

 

Oh well, I just can’t please myself, can I?

Print recipe here.

Watermelon Granita
Recipe by: Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

1/2 whole Seedless Watermelon, Cut Into Chunks (rind Discarded) (about 8 Cups Of Chunks)
2 whole Limes, Juiced
1/3 cup Sugar

Preparation Instructions
Place half the watermelon, half the lime juice, and half the sugar in a blender. Process until smooth, then pour into a separate bowl.
Repeat with other half of ingredients. Pour into same bowl as other batch.
Transfer mixture to a 9 x 13 baking dish. Freeze for two or three hours, then begin the process of lightly scraping the top, frozen layer. Return pan to freezer with the shaved ice on top; remove a couple of hours later and continue scraping. Repeat the occasional scraping process until the entire mixture is shaved. Store, covered in plastic wrap, until serving.
Serve in pretty glasses with a twist of lime.
*Note: if you use a regular watermelon with black seeds, lightly blend the watermelon first, then push through a strainer to get rid of the seeds/seed particles. Then continue the recipe above.

This entry was posted in Drink and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

