Lemonade Slush

At our recent family reunion in New Braunfels, the only thing I contributed was to make Lemonade Slush.  It was way too hot to bake anything, plus, I wanted to play on the river rather than be cooped up in the kitchen, slaving away, while the others were having fun.

This recipe came from Hubby’s distant cousin, maybe about 50 times removed or something.  Seriously, it was that far.  My ex-boss’s ascendant married one of my hubby’s ascendants.  So, they’re 50 times removed cousins, right?  I guess technically speaking, they are not really related.  But I just like to say “50 times removed cousin” and watch the other person’s reaction.  Imagine the family tree, I bet you would get tangled in the family roots!

This recipe is very easy and guaranteed to please many taste buds.  Shall we begin?

First I needed pineapple juice, Real Lemon juice, Lemon Jello, sugar, water, almond extract, club soda and ginger ale.

 

 

I boiled the water first, and dumped the lemon jello  into the boiling water.

 

Then the sugar was next.

 

 

Stirred it around until all of the sugar mixture dissolved.

 

 

Then I added the lemon juice…

 

 

Pineapple juice…

 

 

Lastly, the almond extract.

 

 

Then, I stirred them around and transferred the lemonade into containers to  freeze.    After it was frozen, I scraped the frozen mixture.

 

 

Transferred some of the scraped frozen lemonade into a glass, or pitcher, mixed it with the ginger ale and club soda, stirred it around, and I got me Lemonade slush.

 

 

The beauty of this slush was, I could make individual servings or enough for a crowd.  For this blogs purposes, I just took a picture of the individual serving.

 

If you like your slush thicker, then don’t add so much of the bubbles.  If you can’t find one of the bubble, then ginger ale itself should sufficient.  I think there are others who even uses sprites for similar recipe.

So!  Go make some lemonade slush if your heat index reaches about 112F.  Cool yourself off with this “Deliciousness”, like Blake would say. 🙂

Print recipe here.

Lemonade Slush
Recipe handed down from my ex-boss

Ingredients:
2 small boxes of lemon jello
4 1/2 cups of water
2 cups of sugar
8 oz real lemon juice
1 – 46 oz can pineapple juice
1/2 oz almond extract
1 liter ginger ale
1 liter club soda

Direction:
Bring water to a boil, then add jello and sugar.  Stir until dissolved, then pour into a bucket.
Add the lemon juice, pineapple juice, and almond extract.  Freeze the mixture.
When about ready to serve, mash/scrape the jello mixture, then add 1 liter of club soda and 1 liter of ginger ale.  Serve.

This entry was posted in Drink and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lemonade Slush

  1. chrisannee says:

    Oh yummmy! I don’t have any almond extract, but I can pick some up when I get the other stuff🙂

    Like

  2. leashieloo says:

    That slush looks perfect for these summer days we’ve been having!

    Like

Leave a Reply

