Chick-fil-A’s Carrot and Raisin Salad

Have you ever eaten Chick-fil-A’s carrot salad?  It is very sweet and delicious.  At least that’s how I remembered it.  You see, I tend to bring leftovers for lunch or frozen food for the office.  I don’t like to buy lunch because that requires a lot of thinking and effort, in addition to being stingy (I can’t help it… It’s my Chinese heritage :D).  Seriously, there are several steps in getting lunch in downtown.  First step: Deciding what I would want to eat for lunch.  There are lots of restaurant establishments on the street level and tunnel level in Houston’s downtown.  I would have to sort through between Chinese, Mexican, Greek, Pizza, Indian, Vietnamese, Thai, Italian, French, BBQ, Cajun, Sandwich shops, Vegetarian, etc.  Step two: Check the weather forecast.  Is street level walk-able?  If it is raining, then I’m limited to the food vendors in the tunnel.  Step three: Pick the actual establishment where I am going to get my lunch.  Step four: Deciding if it is a walk-able distance or do I require a vehicle.  (I guess I can eliminate this step if it was raining outside.)  Step five: Calculating time.  Do I have enough time to walk/drive, wait in line, and walk/drive back and eat my lunch?  Step five: The actual action of heading toward the establishment.  Step six: The actual process of buying my lunch.  Step seven: Going back to the office.  Step eight: Eat.  And you think I’m crazy. That’s why I just bring my lunch and I am not bothered with all of this unnecessary decision making.  After all, I’m saving this gray matter inside my head for more important things, like… which sheep and ram would I breed in Farmville.  Har dee har har… Well, do you agree with me on the lunch part?  And Hubby would say, “Only you would complicate things like having lunch….”

So anyway, back to Chick-fil-A’s Carrot & Raisin Salad.  I truly apologize that you had to go through “the Downtown Lunch Conundrum”.  But I cannot promise you that one day I would stick to the purpose of this blog and would not rambling on about some ducklings I saw at the park today.  They are soooo cute and they grow way too fast!!  Oh.. there you go again….

So, anyway again!  I don’t remember now why I was making it, maybe because I had a bag of carrots staring at me day after day, day after day.  I looked for carrot salad recipes, and of course there are a bunch of them out there.  After looking around, I decided to settle with this recipe that claims it was generating carrot salad that tastes like Chick-fil-A’s.

Carrots, raisin, crushed pineapple, mayo, sugar, and lemon.  Easy enough.

 

 

Since I didn’t have any crushed pineapple, I just used this sliced pineapple I had in my pantry.  After all, I was going to use the food processor anyway.

 

 

After pushing two buttons, I got crushed pineapple!

 

 

Then, it was time to shred the carrots.  Thank you so much whoever invented food processors.  Otherwise, I might still be grating carrots today!

 

 

I think I used almost the whole bag of carrots to come up with 4 cups of shredded carrot.

 

 

I just put the sugar into the pineapple juice out of the can to dissolved them – although I didn’t use all of the juice since I didn’t want to end up with extremely wet carrot salad.

 

 

So after dumping the shredded carrots and crushed pineapple into a big mixing bowl, I dumped in the raisins too.

 

 

Mayo was next…   This is where I felt somewhat guilty to put in the amount of what the recipe asked for.  I tried to cut out the amount of mayo in another batch of carrot salad, and I won’t do that again!

 

 

Lemon juice…

 

 

Some of the pineapple juice…

 

 

Mixed them all up…

 

 

And that was it!  Easy right?  The salad was sweet and refreshing.  I think it resembles Chick-fil-A’s Carrot and Raisin Salad.  Even if it doesn’t, it is still good enough for me to share the recipe with you.  Until next time!

 

 

Print recipe here.

Chick-Fil-A Carrot and Raisin Salad
Recipe from Razzle Dazzle Recipes

Ingredients:

4 cups finely shredded carrots
1 can (20 oz.) crushed pineapple, with juice
1 cup raisins
3/4 cup mayonnaise
1 tbsp. sugar
1/2 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
Direction:

Chill all ingredients except sugar at least 30 minutes.  Dissolve the sugar in the pineapple, then combine everything gently in a large bowl.  May be refrigerated up to 72 hours.  Serves 8.

NOTE: Fresh carrots are the secret, according to Chick-Fil-A.

This entry was posted in Food, Salad, Side Dish and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Chick-fil-A’s Carrot and Raisin Salad

  1. LOVE chick-fil-a’s CARROT RAISIN SALAD
    I just have to shove the MAYO thought to the back of my head!
    ewwww hate mayo….but i can stomach it for Carrot raisin salad!
    please stop by and say hi
    xoxo
    bB
    http://www.itsybitsybrianna.wordpress.com

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      I don’t hate mayo, but I sure do think about the calories.. ha ha… but, since I tried it with reduced amount and it did not come out right, I guess I have to follow the recipe 🙂 Thanks for visiting 🙂

      Like

  2. I remember eating this carrot salad when I was a kid. For some reason I want to say it was called Flamingo Salad. Weird name for a salad. Maybe it was called something else. I’ll have to ask my mom.

    As far as over-analyzing things, that must be why I like you! I do the same thing. My husband says that only I can over complicate simple things!

    As for my soup, if you’d have left that comment sooner I probably would have reheated it and ate it! Oh well, I’ll know next time 🙂

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Oooohhh… now you put that picture in my head… those pink plastic flamingo…. chopped into flamingo salad… ha ha…. I wonder if flamingo taste like chicken? 🙂
      Thanks – but I sure do like to mull over the mundane things… ha ha… I guess that’s why Hubby and I complement each other.. I think of the little things and he thinks of the bigger things.. 🙂

      Like

  3. Olive Tree says:

    hahaha…. repotnya untuk bikin keputusan makan apa buat lunch… so complicated that you repeat step five twice…. hahahaah….
    Yeah, I feel you. I know what you mean, except that sometimes the walk to get lunch is a perfect excuse to take a break from the office, especially when the sun is out full force…like today here… so wonderful. But it’s still coooooold here, in the 50’s. I’m still wearing three layers of clothes, a short-sleeved t-shirt, a long-sleeve shirt, and then a spring jacket. When will it get warm enough here for me not to wear any jacket? Anyway, your food pictures make me hungry. Dinner time! 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi Anny! Have you made anything good lately? I always look forward to reading your posts! Hope you’re having a good day! 🙂

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Hi Chris 🙂 I am sorry that I haven’t post anything for awhile… I’m battling my addiction to Farmville! Whatever you do, if you have an addicted personality, don’t ever try to play it!! It will consume you! So that goes without saying, I haven’t been cooking anything lately. We just eat off the freezer, and I was being a lazy bum! 🙂 I am going to be better and trying to wean me off from Farmville so I can write again… soon I hope! 🙂 Thanks for checking, and I hope you have a good day too! 🙂

      Like

  5. Wow…we are SO much alike! I used to play Farmville so I totally understand. It actually took my cooking blog and my fan page on Facebook (did you know I have one of those?) to get me off of it so I’m trying really hard not to go back even though my brother says he needs me to send him nails and boards and stuff. I just get on long enough to do that and close it real quick 🙂 Maybe we need a support group for Zynga addicts 😀

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Wow!! 🙂 I didn’t realize that you used to play Farmville too… I know.. I accepted several gifts, but I did not play last night… and I know my crops are withering.. I’m trying to let it go… ha ha… Maybe I need to find a Zynga Anonymous online… I’ll look you up in Facebook… Have a great day Chris.. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

