Smoked Meatloaf

Aiya yay… that’s what came to my mind when I started working on this post. Well, quite frankly, this dish was so memorable, and it is now ingrained in my brain. The taste, the texture, the look, the smell, basically the whole shebang is framed forever in my brain. This is one thing that I will probably will not forget even if I have dementia. I think… Check back with me in 20 years.

It started with Hubby. Well, as some of you probably know, anything related with “grilling” or “smoking”, that would have to do with Hubby. He likes to frequent his fellow BBQ’ers in the cyberspace, just reading or cross-checking his knowledge with these fellows. Well, he found this recipe from Smoker-Cooking.com that got his ears perked up. It is called Smoked Meatloaf. Thanks Billy for sharing your recipe!

It sounds fancy, and it was fancy, since it involved the extra effort of smoking the meatloaf. Otherwise, a meatloaf is just a meatloaf. But, I have to say that even if we didn’t smoke this meatloaf, I would eat it just as is. The ingredient that made this meatloaf extra yummy was the Italian sausage. The smoke flavor brought the meatloaf over the top. Other ingredients were those of regular meatloaf. Ground beef, crumbly saltine crackers, garlic, chopped bell pepper, chopped onion, egg, salt, pepper, cayenne pepper and BBQ sauce of your choice.

 

 

First I sautéed the onion in a skillet.

 

 

Then I added the bell pepper..

 

 

I cooked them until the onion started turning translucent.

 

 

Then I added the chopped garlic, mixed them around, turned off the heat and set it aside.

 

 

In a mixing bowl, I dumped in the ground beef. I liked to use the lean version, the 97/3 ratio, since it cut down a lot of the fat.

 

 

Then I peeled off the casing from the Italian sausage (this was due to that my small grocery store didn’t sell Italian Sausage not in casing) and added the egg.

 

 

Then I added the veggies into the bowl.

 

 

Saltine cracker crumbs…

 

 

Added the pepper, salt, and cayenne pepper.

 

 

Mixed them all up with a plastic glove, since I was lazy… Although the consistency of the mixture tend to grab my glove and as a result, it was a tug of war between me and the meatloaf… It wasn’t that bad, I won… ha ha..

 

 

Then I dumped the meat mixture on to a aluminum lined cookie sheet, and shaped it up into a square loaf.

 

 

Then, when the grill was ready, then Hubby took over and put the meatloaf into his smoker.

 

 

After 3 hours, then the meatloaf was ready.  Oh, during the last 30 minutes of the smoking process, Hubby poured the BBQ sauce on top of the meatloaf.

 

 

So what do you think? First it looked like it was an ordinary blob of meat……

 

 

But then… Hubby started slicing the meatloaf. Oh, and by the way, the smell of this meatloaf was just unbelievable. It turned on every single nerve ending you have and made you just want to sit down and start eating…

 

 

And you could really see the smoke ring on the meatloaf… the red line just below the crust, extending into the meatloaf about 1/2 inch.

 

 

I’m not sure if you can really see it in the pictures, since the BBQ sauce was smearing the top part of the sliced meatloaf.

 

 

Oh, no worry, you can really tell in the next picture.

So what do you think? Well, let me tell you what I think. I think, right now, I want a piece of that meatloaf… my mouth is watering… and now my tummy is starting to gurgle. Bah…. The suffering of food bloggers….  And you thought it was only you who suffer when you read a food blog, eh?

 

 

The meatloaf was very tasty and very moist. Every morsel of this loaf made you think this world is worth living.  At the end, it was a hearty meal, and you are guaranteed to smile after you eat this.  So now I just have to wait until Hubby will smoke some more meat loaves for me… Yes, meat loaves… I want more than one.  I guess I am a greedy-gut!  But that’s okay.. that’s who I am and I accept it as is.  🙂

 

 

And guess what??  Hubby smoked more meat loaves for me this past weekend….  😀  Well, he was smoking briskets anyway, so I asked Hubby if he can smoked two meatloafs for me since he would have had the fire going already…  He was all for my idea and the result was the picture below…

 

 

Each has its own beauty… ha ha…

 

 

They are now safely stored in the freezer, and waiting to be consumed… 🙂  So do you want some?

 

 

Print recipe here.

Billy’s Smoked Meatloaf
Recipe modified from: Smoker-Cooking.com

Ingredients:
Two pounds lean ground beef
One pound fresh Italian sausage, medium or hot
One cup BBQ Sauce

One fresh bread crumbs or saltine cracker crumbs
Two large eggs
One large green pepper, finely chopped
One large onion, finely chopped
One tablespoon olive oil
2 cloves chopped garlic
One teaspoon salt
One-half teaspoon black pepper
One-quarter teaspoon cayenne pepper

Direction:

Fire up your smoker. The temperature needs to be right at 250 degrees Fahrenheit for meatloaf.

Saute the chopped green pepper, onion and garlic in the olive oil until soft. Spoon the veggies out of the frying pan, and combine with the rest of the ingredients, mixing thoroughly.

Form the ground meat mixture into one large loaf, or several smaller loaves. I usually divide the smoked meatloaf recipe into four smaller loaves. They cook quicker, and they make nice looking leftovers.

Use your favorite wood for smoke. When the internal meatloaf temperature reaches 160F, it’s done. Smaller loaves may be done in as little as two hours. A large loaf may take 3 to 4 hours.

If you like, you can top the smoking meatloaf with ketchup or barbecue sauce one-half hour before removing it from the smoker. I like barbecue sauce, myself.

Give the meatloaf at least fifteen minutes to rest before serving so it firms up a little.

This entry was posted in Beef, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Smoked Meatloaf

  1. You definitely have my mouth watering!

    Like

  2. You’ve been tagged for Easter! See my blog for details. Hope you can participate 🙂

    Like

  3. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again soon!

    Like

  4. Barb says:

    This looks delicious! I am making it tonight. How do you reheat them after you have frozen them?

    Like

    • Anny says:

      Hi Barb, I freeze them in Food Saver plastics and heat them in a pot of hot water. Reheating in microwave works too, since I brought the leftovers to the office.

      Like

Leave a Reply

