Spinach and Red Onion Quiche

I think it was last month that we went to have dinner with our cousins, and one of the things we were talking about was eating healthier.  In fact, our cousins had gone and bought Jillian Michael’s cookbook – while we bought the Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred dvd.  Except, you know, our cousins did follow what was in the cookbook and tried to change their lifestyle.  Us?  Well… we tried the dvd three times and now it sits there collecting dust.  So kudos to our cousins! 🙂

Our cousins gave raves to Jillian’s Spinach and Red Onion Quiche.  I asked them to send the recipe to us, so we can at least once in awhile eat something healthy.  Oh, it was healthy all right.  No butter, no whole milk, in fact, when Hubby looked at the ingredients I lined up on the counter, he commented “No claws, no beak, no hoofs… hhmmm….”  Well, he was right.  Almond milk, instead of cow milk.  So definitely no hoofs there.  Well, eggs, so there was some part of beak in the future of the eggs, if the eggs were about to be sat.  Parmesan Cheese, so I guess there is some trace of hoofs product, although, the recipe only calls for a smidgen, only half a cup, of grated cheese.  So I guess I can say there were no hoofs involved.  And the rest of the ingredients?  Fungus, red onion, spinach, nutmeg, salt, pepper, and olive oil.  Oh and I forgot to put the egg beater in there, since I halved the eggs with regular eggs and egg beaters.  So this was really super healthy food! :)  Healthier than if Jillian Michaels made it herself!

 

 

So I grated the cheese the night before – there were a lot of things here that I could prep the day before.  Like slicing the mushrooms (which, my small grocery didn’t carry shitake mushroom, so I chose regular button mushroom instead.  I didn’t feel like driving across town just to get shitake mushrooms…) and slicing the red onion.  So I had these ready, and when I got home after work, I was ready to rumble!  And no, I did not partake to do the 30 Day Shred while I was cooking Jillian’s Spinach Quiche.  I don’t think that was possible.  But if some of you think that can be done, please be my guest and report back to me to share your experience.🙂

 

 

I heated up the olive oil in my large skillet and was ready to sauté the red onions.  First, I was hesitating about using this 14 inch skillet, but I was glad that I did that.  Because at the end, I needed to use a very large skillet.

 

 

Then I salted and peppered it.

 

 

Dumped in the garlic…

 

 

Mushrooms…

 

 

And while the mushrooms were cooking, I mixed the eggs with the egg beater.

 

 

Added the almond milk…

 

 

Sprinkled in some nutmeg…

 

 

Added the smidgen of grated cheese…

 

 

Salted and peppered it…

 

 

And whisked it until everything was combined.

 

 

Then by this time, the mushrooms had started to soften, and I added the spinach leaves.

 

 

I used the baby spinach leaves for this, since I like that tender baby spinach.

 

 

Cooked it until the spinach leaves were wilted.

 

 

Then I transferred the spinach-mushroom mixture into a colander…

 

 

Squeezed my wooden spoon into the spinach-mushroom mixture to drain the liquid.  I guess if you have cheesecloth you could use it too, just put the mixture into the cheesecloth, and squeeze it dry.

 

 

I had my homemade whole wheat crust  ready – but I won’t post it yet.  I should have used whole wheat pastry flour, which I didn’t have, and I used straight whole wheat AP flour.  It was a dry crust – so I need to remake the crust with the real ingredients and then I can write about it. 🙂

 

 

I poured the spinach-mushroom mixture into the crust…

 

 

Spread it around so that the mixture covered the crust evenly.

 

 

Then I poured the custard onto the spinach-mushroom mixture.

 

 

I was afraid that I got too much custard, but then it was just fine…

 

 

Baked it and I got this!

 

 

I cut a wedge of the Quiche, and alas, at the time I had a cold, so I couldn’t really taste anything.  But the recipe made so much quiche that we were saving the leftovers for the next night.   Thank goodness I got some of my taste buds back, and I liked the quiche.  For a vegetarian meal, it was very good.  Although, as I was munching the quiche, I could feel that if we put some bacon bits in the quiche, it would even taste better!  Ha ….  I can’t help it but said the truth.  It was definitely missing that greasy feeling that we’re so used to consuming.  But, if you are looking for a really healthy meal, this is definitely for you!  So  are you feeling healthy today?

 

 

Print recipe here.

Spinach and Red Onion Quiche
Recipe by: Jillian Michael
Ingredients:

1 frozen whole-wheat piecrust, set at room temp. for 20 minutes
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 medium red onion, thinly sliced
¼ teaspoon salt
¾ teaspoon ground black pepper
4 ounces shiitake mushrooms, stems trimmed and discarded, caps thinly sliced.
1 pound fresh spinach, trimmed and coarsely chopped
3 large eggs
3/4 cup almond milk
½ cup grated parmesan cheese
Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Direction:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Use a fork to prick the piecrust in several places to prevent bubbles.  Bake until lightly browned, about 20 minutes.  Remove from the oven and set aside.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, heat the olive oil over medium-low heat.  Add the onion and 1/8 teaspoon each salt and pepper, and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 4 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook until fragrant and lightly browned, about 30 seconds.  Add the mushrooms and cook until softened, about 4 minutes.  Add the spinach to the skillet and cook until wilted, 1 to 2 minutes.

Transfer the spinach mixture to a colander.  Press firmly with the back of a spoon to squeeze out as much as liquid as possible.  Transfer the spinach mixture to the crust and spread to cover.  Place the crust pan on a rimmed baking sheet, if desired, to make it easier to transfer the quiche to the oven.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs, almond milk, Parmesan, nutmeg, and remaining 1/8 teaspoon each salt and pepper.  Pour the egg mixture over the spinach.  Bake until the quiche is just set when the pan is gently nudged, about 40-45 minutes. Let stand for 15 minutes before serving.

This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spinach and Red Onion Quiche

  1. I’m thinking some steak fajita strips in it would be really good! Your lucky you have a husband who will try something like this. My hubby would have took one look and asked what I was really cooking for dinner🙂

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      I know, it definitely missing some meat products!🙂 hahaha… that’s funny actually..🙂 Yes, I am lucky that Hubby would eat food that I prepare… even if it was not good, he would attempt to eat some…

      Like

Leave a Reply

