Chocolate Banana Bread

Chocolate and banana.  Do the two of them go together?  I think so.  A perfect example would be the dessert  called Banana Split.  Granted that Banana Split also has vanilla ice cream and strawberry ice cream on it, but you get the picture.  Banana and chocolate, they do work well together, Nick.

Do you know that according to Wikipedia, the person who invented the Banana Split  was a pharmacist?  You would think that the first person who would came up with this idea would be a person related to an ice cream factory or a restaurant…  🙂

Anyway, I had bookoos of banana in my freezer.  Note this please.  This is the first time I am using the word “bookoos” in a sentence.  I had heard it before, but never really see it written.  So as I was thinking about the bananas, I had to ask my friend Kelly how to write it.  I asked her “Hey, How do you spell… boo-hoos? For indicating massive quantity?  I think it’s a slang…?”  And my friend Kelly said, “Oh my gosh – you shouldn’t even try…haah – it’s boo koo goofball – as in boo-koo bucks…  Boo hoo is like a baby crying…boo hoo hoooooo….”  Ha ha ha… well, in my defense, I had really never seen it written.  And I wasn’t really sure if I heard it as boohoo or bookoo…   So after Kelly told me about how to spell it, I went to the Free Dictionary and look it up.  She was right, and bookoo is also a variant of Beaucoup, which also means an abundance.  There! That’s today’s English lesson folks!  🙂

So I have these bookoos of ripe bananas in my freezer, and it was to the point that they ate up about a third of the space in the freezer.  For the past month, I had been thinking about making banana muffin bread, but there was always that other stuff that was more important to do.  Until we had a snack day at the office last month.  I knew I could not bake anything the night before the snack day, since I had another engagement that night.  So I was racking my brain – what could I make a day ahead and it would still taste good?  Well, duh!  Banana bread!

I remember my friend in Illinois had baked this Chocolate Banana Bread, so thanks Oni, for sharing. I also remembered reading before that it used a lot of bananas.  So I looked for the recipe, and sure enough, it required 6 bananas.  The recipe will make about 2 loaves of banana bread.  So I started pulling the ingredients from the refrigerator, freezer and my pantry.  Bananas, eggs, margarine, sour cream, flour, sugar, baking soda, cocoa powder, mini chocolate chips, and vanilla.

 

 

First I measured out the flour that I needed.

 

 

Added the baking soda…

 

 

Cocoa powder…

 

 

Whisked the flour together so that it was all mixed.

 

 

And I got this chocolate flavored all purposed flour!  🙂

 

 

Then I sprinkled the chocolate chips with all purpose flour…

 

 

Shook the bowl so that every single morsel was coated with flour.  This was so the chips would float in the batter, instead of sink to the bottom of the pan.

 

 

Then I peeled the banana, and dumped them into a mixing bowl.

 

 

I got lazy here, so instead of mashing the banana with a fork or something (I don’t own a potato masher), I just turned on the mixer. 🙂

 

 

Then I transferred the mashed banana to a different bowl, and then dumped the margarine into the then empty mixing bowl it.

 

 

Then, this was where I made my mistake.  I dumped the sour cream into the bowl too!  After I dumped the sour cream in it, and then I re-read the recipe and realized that I wasn’t supposed to do that.  I scraped out the sour cream as best as I could and continued on.

 

 

I poured in the eggs…

 

 

And then the sugar…

 

 

Beat them up until it came out smooth – as smooth as it could be since it was margarine – I think, or maybe because it had some sour cream in it, I wasn’t sure.  Somehow, the batter did not have that smooth looking consistency as butter-sugar and egg batter’s consistency.  This batter was somewhat grainy and separated looking.

 

 

Then I added the mashed banana…

 

 

Vanilla…

 

 

Then, this was where I was supposed to add the sour cream into the batter.  Duh!!

 

 

Mixed them up, and at this point I really didn’t like the look of the batter.  I prefer to look at the smooth, glossy look of batter than this grainy and separated looking.

 

 

After that, I dumped the chocolate flour into the batter…

 

 

Folded the flour into the batter, taking care of not beating the batter too much because I didn’t want to have a brick bread…

 

 

Dumped in the chocolate chips…

 

 

Folded them in…

 

 

And poured the batter into a greased bundt pan.  I had so much batter that I was able to pour the rest into a small loaf pan as well.

 

 

I baked them at 350F, the small loaf at 40 minutes, and it came out perfect.

 

 

The bundt pan…. I baked it for 80 minutes and  I will have to reduce the baking time next time.  The edges got too brown and the bread was a tad bit harder than the mini loaf, and there was a color difference between the loaf and the bundt cake.  The bundt cake was darker because it was baked longer.  But luckily it wasn’t burned, although, at the time, I was saying to myself….. Burnt or not burnt, that’s what they’re getting…  So, do you feel sorry for my coworkers?

 

 

The result though?

 

 

This was not your everyday banana bread.  It was very moist, the sweetness was just perfect.  There were melted mini chocolate chips in every bite, and it was a dense bread.  So!  If you find yourself with tons of ripe banana in your freezer, make banana bread!  🙂

 

 

 

 

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Banana Bread
Recipe by: Tracie P.

Ingredients

1 cup margarine, softened
2 cups white sugar
4 eggs
6 bananas, mashed
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 cup lite sour cream
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Directions

1.     Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease two 9×5 inch loaf pans.

2.     In a large bowl, cream together margarine, sugar and eggs. Stir in bananas and vanilla. Sift in flour, baking soda and cocoa; mix well. Blend in sour cream and chocolate chips. Pour batter into prepared pans.

3.     Bake in preheated oven for 60 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into center of a loaf comes out clean.

This entry was posted in banana, Bread, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Banana Bread

  1. So that’s how you get the chocolate chips to float…coat them with flour. I will remember that! I never thought about adding chocolate chips to banana bread. Sounds like the perfect combination to me!

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Yeah, I read that long time ago from blogs I read… and it seemed helps them to float around and not sinking. Usually I just use the flour for the batter itself.. I guess I could have used the chocolate flavored AP with those chips…
      Our cousin is asking for one, so I’ll be making it again for Easter, and this time I’ll just bake them in mini loafs so everyone can take them home 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

