Quick Fudge with Sea Salt

Last month, I was looking at the birthday calendar and noticed that my ex-boss’s birthday was approaching soon.   Unfortunately, it fell on the day when I was going to stay late at work to meet deadlines.  So, I banished any thoughts of making anything, with the guilt pouring down on me like the Monsoon rain fell to the earth.  After all, I had been baking for other co-worker’s birthdays and I wouldn’t have the time to bake for her.  So how could I not feel bad about it?

Luckily, I didn’t stay too late that day, so I had the time to make something.  Alas, except I had no idea of what to make.  I had basic baking stuff at home, so I scrambled my brain to think of something.  I didn’t want to make anything too complicated, since I was pretty tired at the time.  Then I thought, well how about fudge?  It is a candy, can be cut into a very small piece, and if you’re on a diet, it won’t really botch your diet.  That is, if you put the self- restraint on and only have one piece, as well as construction tape around the fudge.

So I typed in “quick fudge” into Google, and it turned out there are a bunch of them.  I settled on this recipe since it also utilizes microwave, and made it into a super quick fudge.  It was pretty good, considering the quickness of the candy.  A can of condensed milk, a bag of chocolate chips, vanilla, and chopped nuts.  And it was super easy too.

 

 

First I lined my pan with wax paper.

 

 

I just dumped the chocolate chips into a big, microwavable bowl.

 

 

Dumped in the contents of the canned condensed milk.

 

 

Scraped the can clean…🙂

 

 

Then I microwaved it for 30 seconds and stirred it…

 

 

Repeated the heating until all of the chips were melted.

 

 

Then I added the vanilla to the mixture.

 

 

Dumped the chopped nuts into the bowl…

 

 

Poured the mixture into the pan…

 

 

Spread the mixture to the edges of the pan.

 

 

And at the spur of the moment, I sprinkled coarse sea salt  on top of the fudge.

 

 

Then I put the fudge in the refrigerator to be chilled.  At this time, the mixture had already thickened and it tried to set already.

 

 

Then the next morning, I brought it to work and cut it up there into little tiny squares.

 

 

I took a piece to try for the sake of the blog, although the picture did not come out to my liking.  It was a bit blurry.  You see, people at the office think that I am weird, taking pictures of candy.  I was taking pictures under pressure… fear of being judged as crazy… ha…

 

 

 

How was the fudge?  It wasn’t too sweet, it was just right for me.  Maybe not sweet enough for others though.  It was chocolatey, smooth, and the burst of the sea salt flavor provided an interesting blend of flavors.  The moment your tongue tasted the salt, it melted away, and then you tasted the sweetness of the chocolate.  I think the salt actually intensified the chocolate flavor.  So, if you’re in a pinch, this is something you can make real quick.  Until my next adventure in the kitchen!  :)  See ya!

 

 

 

Print recipe here.

Quick Fudge with Sea Salt.
Recipe modified from  mcboo

Ingredients

1-12 oz. chocoate chips (or other chip flavor)
1 c. sweetened condensed milk
1 tsp. vanilla
optional: 2/3 cup chopped nuts
coarse sea salt
How to make it

Direction:
Melt chips and sweetened condensed milk in microwave.
Stir until blended.
Add vanilla
Add nuts (optional)
Spread in an 8 inch square pan.
Sprinkle coarse sea salt grains
Chill at least 4 hours before cutting.
**you can add what ever chips you like–peanut butter etc. You can add 1/2 choc. and 1/2 peanut butter for a great flavor.

This entry was posted in Food, Fudge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Quick Fudge with Sea Salt

  1. chrisannee says:

    Looks so good! By the way, the picture you say is blurred…looks like it was meant to be that way. It actually is a good picture with the single piece crisp and clear and the background blurred. You still know what it is, but the attention is on the single piece of candy. I love taking pictures of my food! My husband gives me a hard time about using his plate of food for a photo opportunity!

    In answer to your question about the monkey bread, I know the pan he served me first, he had made the day before and it was still soft. Also, he didn’t have cream cheese topping on the first pan, so I’m pretty sure that would help seal some of the moisture in. If you make it, let me know how it turns out!

    By the way, I’m using your recipe today to make self filled cupcakes!

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Thanks Chris. I don’t know why, but to me it wasn’t sharp enough..🙂
      I will try to make the monkey bread the next time we have snack day.. So how did you like the cupcakes?🙂

      Like

  2. chrisannee says:

    Love, Love, Love the cupcakes. As a matter of fact, I’m going to eat another one right now! I had never tried the frosting recipe on the back of the Hershey’s can. It’s wonderful! Thank you so much for posting the recipe. I’ll be trying this fudge recipe soon!

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      You are so welcome Chris🙂 When I got the recipe from my coworker, it didn’t come with the frosting recipe.. So I looked at the cocoa can, and there it was!🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

