Self Filled Cupcakes

Last month at work, we had two co-workers sharing a birthday week.  Both are dear friends of mine.  So I had no excuse not to bake, right?  It’s not like I need an excuse to bake something anyway…

For this occasion, I chose to make the Self Filled Cupcakes.  Now… let me steer off from food just for a moment.  I was just checking the Dictionary.com on how to spell the cupcakes since I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be one word or two words.  So I went online and counted on the good ol’ dictionary.  Well, there are two entries – and yes, it is spelled in one word.  Cupcake.  Now, the first entry is a small, individual cake.  But the second entry?  It was a slang to refer a sexually attractive young woman!  Oh my!  I never heard of someone being called a cupcake before…  I have heard of a doll, but not a cupcake!  So now I have to be careful when I mention cupcake, not that I would associate someone with a cupcake!  :)  So there!  That was today’s English lesson.

I got this recipe from a coworker of mine a couple of years ago.  Betty got it from her coworker, who at the time, just made it for someone’s birthday at the office.  So Betty shared that recipe with me, and the last time I made it was a couple of years ago.  Now I am sharing this recipe with you, since it was very easy to make and delicious as well.  I don’t know the origin of the recipe; a search online showed that there are a bunch of sites out there which have this recipe, some with variety, some exactly the same.  So how about if I just start talking about these cupcakes?

The ingredients were a box of Devil’s Food cake, chocolate chips, cream cheese, sugar, flour, egg and salt.

 

 

And that did not include the ingredients specified in the box, which were water, oil and eggs.

 

 

The first thing I did was cut up the softened cream cheese into the mixing bowl.

 

 

Then I added the sugar…

 

 

Salt…

 

 

One egg…

 

 

And I turned on the mixer to cream them.

 

 

While the mixer was going, I lined my cupcake pans with paper liners.

 

 

I let the cream cheese mixture beat into a smooth, delicate, soft mixture.

 

 

Then I dumped a cup of chocolate chips into the cream cheese mixture – this was the double surprise when you bite into the cupcake.

 

 

Mixed them up a little bit…

 

 

And set them aside into a bowl.

 

 

What I like about a box mix is that they’re pretty straight forward. Just dump in everything and mix, and you got a cake batter!

 

 

I dumped the cake mix into the clean mixing bowl…

 

 

I added the water…

 

 

Oil…

 

 

The three eggs…

 

 

And they were ready to get mixed.

 

 

After a few minutes, all of the ingredients were incorporated and I got myself chocolate cake batter!

 

 

Then using a small ladle, I scooped some of the batter into the cupcake pans.

 

 

Filled them until about 2/3 full.

 

 

And then I used a teaspoon and scooped out the cream cheese mixture…

 

 

Dropped it into the middle of a cupcake, and somewhat pushed it into the cupcake.

 

 

And they looked like this when I was done with all of them.

 

 

I baked them for about 20 minutes at 350F.  There was a lesson that I want to share with you.  Don’t bake two pans at once together, especially if you have differently coated pans.   One of my pan was a silver, plain metal pan, and the other one was the nonstick coated one.  The cupcakes on the non-stick ones baked a lot faster and I ended up with some cupcakes with a few burned edges!  You see, I got in a hurry and did not want to wait 20 minutes before I put in the next pan…..  Sigh….  You just can’t win!

When they were done, they looked like this! I guess it depends on how much of the cream cheese mixture you put into it, it could have all been covered with the chocolate batter. I didn’t really worry about it, since I planned on frosting them anyway.

 

 

I will write about the frostings next, so I’ll just cut to the chase. I didn’t have any of those plastic decorating bags, so I just created my own using parchment paper. I remember when I was a little kid, that was what my mom would do, made her own decorating bags. All I needed was parchment paper, glue, and a pair of scissors.

 

 

Basically I just tear of a rectangle shape paper, and just started folding one edge of the paper in about 30 to 35 degree angle.

 

 

Then I just folded the paper again, following the edge of the first folded side.

 

 

I repeated the step…

 

 

Until I came to the end of the paper, and I have a cone shape folded paper.

 

 

Then I just glued the edges of the remaining side of unfolded paper…

 

 

Folded over, and I got myself a piping bag!

 

 

Then I just cut off the tip of the piping bag…

 

 

Threw in the tip inside the bag…

 

 

Filled the bag with the frostings, and decorated the cupcakes.

 

 

Then I just decorated the cupcakes, with any shape frosting… This one below was covered with stars…

 

 

Others were covered with circles of frostings, basically whatever came to my mind at the time. My decorating tip is only the sample set I got at the grocery store, so I didn’t have much to work with.

 

 

So then, when it was all said and done, I just had to try the cupcake myself.  I picked this one…

 

 

I started peeling the paper away from the cupcake…. What do you think?

 

 

I took a bite or two… and it exposed the cupcake to the yumminess within.  I don’t know if you can see it clearly, but there was a somewhat melted chocolate chip at the bottom right of the cupcake, within the cream cheese mixture….

 

 

I took one more bite for the sake of a good photo….. It was yummy, moist, and just super delicious. My friend Kim said “That was ridiculously good, and the middle part was super yum yum delicious.” So, are you going to make you some?

 

Print recipe here.

Self-filled Cupcakes

1 package Devil’s Food Cake mix
1 8 oz cream cheese, softened
1/3 cup sugar
1 egg
pinch of salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Direction:
Preheat oven to 350F.
Lined muffin pans with paper, set aside.
Cream sugar, egg, salt and cream cheese until well blended.
Stir in chocolate chips, mixed and set aside.
Prepare cake mix as directed.
Fill the muffin pans 2/3 full with the cake batter.
Drop a heaping teaspoon of cream cheese mixture into each cupcake.
Bake as directed, about 18 – 20 minutes.
Decorate with frosting (optional).

This entry was posted in Cake, Dessert, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self Filled Cupcakes

  1. leashieloo says:

    YUM!!!! Love the surprise in the middle.

Leave a Reply

