Deep Chocolate Brownies with Chevre Swirls

At the beginning of the month, we watched a couple of Bobby Flay’s Throwdown episodes that were being re-run.  One of them was a Brownie Throwdown where Bobby challenged these two ladies who own the Vermont Brownie Company.  Bobby made his Peanut Butter Caramel Swirled Brownies, while the two ladies made their Dark Chocolate Chevre

Chevre (pronounced “[shev-ruh, shev; Fr.  she-vruh]” is goat cheese, where I guess the consistency is similar to that of cream cheese, but there was that tangy and goat cheese aftertaste.  So I was intrigued by the Dark Chocolate Chevre.  I went to Bobby’s website and looked under the Throwdown recipes, and could only find his recipe.  I went to the Food Network’s website, and also could only find Bobby’s recipe.  The two ladies apparently were not willing to share their recipe, but I guess that is within their right for not sharing their secret recipe.  But I am too cheap to pay $23.00 for a half dozen brownies.  No matter how to-die-for they are.  Remember, my Chinese heritage dictates that I am stingy…  Ha ha…

So I searched online for other people who might have had this recipe – you never know – and found this blog, the Pink Apron, who undertook in recreating this Brownie with Chevre.  As I was typing this post, I looked for the recipe that I had used, and I realized that Kelly, the Pink Apron, had created three versions!  Oh my!  She truly is a dedicated chef!!  I looked at my pictures, and saw that the Chevre mixture contained honey.  I looked and looked and finally found the right link.  The version I tried was her original version – I guess I didn’t look too hard when I was researching her recipes.  So thank you Kelly for opening the gateway to the Brownies with Chevre for us!  If you are interested to see the different versions, click here for version 2, and here for version 2.1.

So I added the goat cheese to my grocery list.  I have tried goat cheese several times, and I still could not bring myself to say that I like goat cheese.  It just has that aftertaste that was… I don’t know… reminds me of goat?  Ha ha ha…

Anyway….  I needed the chevre or goat cheese, butter, egg, flour, and honey for the chevre swirls inside the brownies.

 

And for the brownie part, I needed the dark chocolate chips, semi-sweet chocolate chips, flour, butter, brown sugar, eggs, baking powder, salt and vanilla.  I’m loving these chocolate chips stuff – no more breaking chocolate bars – now, if I can find the unsweetened chocolate chips, then my world will be perfect!

 

Now, before I started, thanks to Nigella Lawson, now whenever I bake brownies, I lined the pan with parchment paper.  It wass not so much as an easy clean up, since you still have to wash the pan, but it was for lifting the brownie out of the pan – and no buttering the pan needed!  As you can see, I employed the help of paper clippies to hold the parchment paper inside the pan – sometimes they just have a mind of their own and wouldn’t stay inside the pan.

 

Then I was ready to make the brownies.  First I made the Chevre mixture by dumping the goat cheese into the mixer…

 

Then I added the butter…

 

Turned on the mixer and beat them until both the butter and goat cheese were mixed and creamy.

 

Dumped in the honey…

 

Turned on the mixer again until they were incorporated.

 

Added the egg…

 

Beat them up again…

 

Until smooth…

 

Then I added the tablespoon of flour…

 

Beat it again until smooth…

 

And transfered it to a small bowl, since I had to wash the mixing bowl for the brownie mix.  I guess I could have used my old mixer stand, but that was just too much trouble.  It was a whole lot easier to wash the mixing bowl rather than dragging all of the other gadgets out of the cabinet.

 

I was then ready to melt the chocolate.  You can’t see it from the picture below, but I was using a makeshift double boiler.  Basically I had a medium size sauce pan with water simmering in it, and I put a medium mixing bowl on top, with butter and the chocolate chips.

 

As you can see, the butter and chocolate chips started to melt.

 

I let the chocolate mixture stayed there until they were all melted, stirring occasionally with a spatula.

 

While I was letting the chocolate mixture cool off, I dumped the eggs into the clean, washed mixing bowl.

 

I dumped in the brown sugar…

 

Beat the mixture until creamy…

 

Then I added the flour…

 

Baking powder…

 

Salt…

 

And beat it up until smooth…

 

Then dumped the egg mixture into the chocolate mixing bowl.

 

Using a spatula, I mixed the egg mixture and the chocolate mixture…

 

Until they were all incorporated.

 

Then I dumped half of the chocolate batter into the baking pan…

 

I smoothed out the chocolate batter and then I was getting ready to dump the Chevre mixture…

 

I spread out the Chevre mixture all over the pan…

 

Until pretty much the Chevre mixture covered the bottom half of the chocolate batter.

 

Then I dumped the remaining of the chocolate batter on top of the Chevre mixture.

 

Spread and smoothed the edges…

 

Then using the same spatula, I just kind of swirled it around in attempt to create the marbling look.

 

Then, in this step, I remembered the two ladies sprinkled the chocolate chips on top of the brownies, instead of adding them to the batter.

 

There!  Then I baked the brownie at 350F for about 30 minutes.

 

The chips did not melt, they were all pretty much stayed on top – I was wondering if they were going to sink – but I guess the batter was thick enough to prevent that.  So after this, I just left the brownie to cool off completely.

 

Then…  after dinner, we just cut it up and took our first bite…  It was very moist and the dark chocolate was not over powering.  It did have the goat cheese aftertaste after I finished each bite.  It was very crumbly though, and some people like that.  So, of course I brought the leftover to the office, and as usual, people devoured it.  So now, our agenda is trying to make a regular cream cheese brownie and see what is the difference.  So we will see when will that happen.  Until my next post!  Thanks for visiting! 🙂

 

Print recipe here.

Deep Chocolate Brownies with Chevre Swirls
Recipe by: Pink Apron

Yields: 16 brownies
Ingredients:
Chevre Swirl:
4 ounces chevre, room temperature (I like Vermont Butter & Cheese)
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, room temperature
1 tablespoon honey
1 large egg
1 tablespoon all purpose flour

Brownies:
6 ounces good quality bittersweet chocolate, chopped
1 stick unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup sugar (I like raw sugar for its richer flavor)
2 eggs
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon chocolate extract (optional)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

Method:
Make swirl
Preheat oven to 350°F.  Lightly butter 8-inch square nonstick baking pan.  Using electric  mixer, beat chevre and butter in medium bowl until light and fluffy.  Gradually add honey and beat until well blended.  Beat in egg.  Mix in flour.  Set mixture aside.
Make brownies
Stir baking chocolate and butter in heavy small saucepan over low heat until smooth.  Cool
slightly.  Using electric mixer, beat sugar and eggs in large bowl until slightly thickened, about 2 minutes.  Mix in flour, baking powder and salt. Mix in chocolate mixture and extracts.  Stir in chocolate chips.
Spread half of chocolate batter in prepared pan.  Using rubber spatula, spread chevre mixture over chocolate batter.  Using tip of knife, gently swirl through batter, forming marble design.
Bake brownies until tester inserted into center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 30 minutes.  Cool brownies in pan on rack.  Cut into squares.

This entry was posted in brownies, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

