Pineapple Pie

I have told myself many times that I need to quit looking at other people’s food blogs.  Well, I do!  Because I usually end up salivating over the pictures on the monitor, my eyes get dilated, my head starts getting dizzy over this “hunger” I suddenly have, accompanied by the growl from my belly.  Even if just a few moments ago I had finished a meal!  I feel your pain my friend, I understand completely what you’re going through when you read my ramblings…. Then I have this pile of print-outs of recipes that I never have enough time to try.  I guess I am still blessed that the only blog I follow almost religiously was PW’s and her Tasty Kitchen.  I could get into real trouble if I follow each of the foodies out there.  Do you know how many good cooks out there?  Gazillions of them!

So of course I couldn’t help myself when I saw Natalie posted this Grandma Inez’s Pineapple Pie on Tasty Kitchen’s blog.  With step by step pictures to boot!  Hubby loves pineapple, and thanks to the global market, now we can get fresh gold pineapple year around.  The pie doesn’t require fresh pineapples, so how could I refuse in trying this recipe out?  Plus, I never had pineapple pie before, so of course I had to try to make it, and taste it.  That way, if someone asks me if I have had pineapple pie before, then I could say yes!  Not that someone will ask me about it, but you never know!

Butter, crushed pineapple, corn starch, sugar, eggs, water, vanilla were all the ingredients for the filling. Very simple right?  Right before I made the filling, I made the pie crust and it was being baked in the oven as I was preparing for the filling.

 

 

I dumped the sugar into my mixing bowl….

 

 

Then the butter…

 

 

Egg yolk…

 

 

And creamed them until they were creamy… whatever that means…🙂

 

 

Then I added the corn starch.

 

 

Vanilla…

 

 

Then the crushed pineapple, along with its juice.

 

 

Water…

 

 

Mixed them up a bit and them dumped them into a medium size sauce pan.  I turned the heat on to medium and stirred the mixture slowly.

 

 

And in no time, I had the consistency of pudding.  Very heavy and thick.

 

 

While all that was going on, my homemade pie crust was done and cooling off.

 

 

So, I poured the pudding into the pie crust…

 

 

And there you go!  Pineapple pie!  I let the pie cool off in the refrigerator since I was in a hurry.  If you plan on making this pie, allow yourself plenty of time for the filling to cool off.

 

 

Then I was ready to make the meringue for the pie.  The egg white from the two eggs above, sugar, salt, cream of tartar and vanilla were needed to make the meringue.

 

 

I dumped the egg white into the mixing bowl – which already washed and dried.

 

 

Turned on the mixer until I got a foamy fluffy stuff.

 

 

Dumped the vanilla into the mixing bowl next.

 

 

Added the sugar and whipped some more…

 

 

Until I got a hard peak formed.  This was where I should have whipped the egg white some more, since it drooped a little bit when I plopped them on to the pie.  You’ll see.

 

 

So I scraped the bowl and plopped the meringue on top of the almost cooled pie… (Don’t do what I did… cool it off completely.)

 

 

Used a spatula to cover the pie with the meringue…

 

 

Then I teased the meringue to create those pointy shapes.  You can see that more of the peak were drooped down already – I am not sure if it was because that I did not whip the meringue long enough, or because the warmth of the pie causing the meringue to soften up. So, cool your pudding completely – so hopefully you won’t get the same result as I did.

 

 

Then I popped the pie in the oven for 6 minutes at 400F, which I could add a few more minutes to add the browning.  Then threw it back into the refrigerator to cool it off some more…

 

 

And we had it after dinner, and it was yummy.

 

 

It was not too sweet, the consistency of the pudding was thick and creamy, and the pineapple flavor was just right.  The meringue border lined with the pie was a little bit watery – but I think that was because the pie was still a bit warm when I put the meringue on top.

 

 

Overall?  It was a yummy to my tummy.  It is definitely a keeper recipe.  Thanks for sharing Natalie!

Print recipe here.

Grandma Inez’s Pineapple Pie
Recipe by Natalie (Perrys’ Plate)

Ingredients

FOR THE PIE:
¾ cups Sugar
2 Tablespoons Butter
2 whole Eggs (separated)
1/3 cups Cornstarch
½ teaspoons Vanilla Extract
½ cups Plus 2 Tablespoons Of Water
8 ounces, weight Canned Crushed Pineapple
1 whole 9-inch Pre-baked Pie Crust

FOR THE MERINGUE:
2 whole Egg Whites (from Separated Eggs Above)
1/8 teaspoons Salt
¼ teaspoons Cream Of Tartar
6 Tablespoons Sugar
1 teaspoon Vanilla

Preparation Instructions

For the pie, cream sugar, butter, and egg yolks in a saucepan. Add cornstarch and vanilla. Add water and crushed pineapple. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly until thick. Pour into a 9 inch baked pastry.

For the meringue, whip egg whites until they begin to get foamy. Add the remaining ingredients and continue to whip until the meringue has reached soft peak stage and is smooth and glossy. Place the meringue over the cooled pie. Brown at 400ºF for just a few minutes. Store in the fridge until ready to serve. Tastes great warm or cold.

This entry was posted in Dessert, Food, Pie and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

