Turkey Pot Pie

Making this dish was was a rare moment for me.  Not only I planned on cooking it, I actually did cook it! 🙂   Usually, when I sit down and plan, only a few of the ideas that I was planning come to fruition.  So, I was pretty pleased with myself that I actually accomplished something!

The recipe I used for this Turkey Pot Pie was actually for Chicken Pot Pie.  It came from the Whistle Stop Café Cookbook, written by Fannie Flagg, an Alabama belle who is funnier than Ray Romano.  If you haven’t read her book, the Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café, you need to get that book and read it.  This book made me think that I missed a lot by not growing up during the Depression era!

The recipe is very easy, too.  I just bought a cooked turkey leg from the grocery store instead of the chicken.  Then I needed frozen veggies, chicken stock, pastry shell, half and half, salt, pepper, pimiento, self-rising flour and margarine.

 

 

Before I started anything, I defrosted my homemade chicken stock by heating it up in a pot.

 

 

Then I went to work and cut the meat off the turkey leg, and got quite a lot of meat from it.  I was planning on using two turkey legs, instead, I just used one.

 

 

Then I drained the pimiento…

 

 

I dumped the turkey meat into the chicken stock.

 

 

Then the frozen veggies…

 

 

Pimiento…

 

 

Stirred it all up and let it heat up.

 

 

Meanwhile, I poured the half and half into the measuring cup, and added the self rising flour into it.

 

 

Stirred it….

 

 

Until it was as smooth as I could get it.  I think next time I would strain it, since I had small clumpy flour that wouldn’t dissolve.

 

 

Poured it into the pot…

 

 

Stirred it again…

 

 

I tasted it, and added some pepper.  The turkey leg provided enough salt that I didn’t need to add salt.

 

 

Then while the turkey mixture was cooking, I worked on my pastry.  I found whatever oven-proof bowls I have and lined them up with the pastry.

 

 

And poured the turkey mixture into the bowl.

 

 

Covered it with the other half of the pastry, and sealed the edges by pressing the tip of a fork into the edge of the bowl.

 

 

Then I got two turkey pot pies ready to be baked!  Oh and I brushed melted margarine on top to help with the browning of the crust.

 

 

I baked them for about 50 minutes or so, and I got this!

 

 

Homemade Turkey Pot Pie for a winter night!

 

 

The turkey was tender and the vegetables were creamy.  The salty, flaky crust complimented the dish and it was perfect.

 

 

First I thought I couldn’t finish the pot pie, but I was wrong!  Would you like some turkey pot pie?

 

 

Print recipe here.

Turkey Pot Pie
Recipe adapted from Whistle Stop Café Cookbook

Ingredients:

1 large cooked turkey leg, cut up into bite size
pieces and skin removed
4 cups of chicken broth
1 16 ounce bag frozen mixed vegetables, cooked and drained
1 2 ounce jar diced pimiento, drained
1/3 cup self-rising flour
½ cup half and half, milk or water
Melted margarine
Ready made pastry shell

Direction:

Put chicken broth into a large saucepan. Add turkey pieces, vegetables and pimiento.
Combine flour and half and half, mixing until smooth. Stir into broth mixture.
Cook until thickened, stirring constantly.
Preheat oven to 350F. Roll out half or the pastry and lined into a greased baking dish.
Spoon turkey mixture into the baking dish.
Roll out the other half of the pastry and cover the dish, sealing the edges of the pastry by
pressing it with the tip of a fork.
Brush lightly with melted margarine, bake for 1 hour or until top pastry is golden brown.

This entry was posted in Food, Turkey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

