Iron Skillet Pork Chops

I just cannot help myself.  I know I have written about the Skillet Pork Chops… and they tasted good.  But I just have to share this one with you, since the taste just flabbergasted me, considering the seasoning I used!   And guess what seasoning I used on these pork chops?  Plain salt, black and white pepper and garlic powder!   That’s it!  Do you believe me?  I couldn’t believe it either!  So you will just have to try it and tell me if you agree with me.  The only caveat here though, you have to use an iron skillet to fry the pork chops.  I think the iron skillet had a lot to do with the taste of the pork chops.  The caramelization produced by an iron skillet tastes different than a regular frying pan.  You are welcome to experiment with the different pans, but you will eventually agree with me about the iron skillet’s ability to produce a better tasting food.

 

 

First I rinsed off the pork chops, and patted them dry.

 

 

Then I just sprinkled the garlic powder, salt, and the black and white pepper on both side of the pork chops.

 

 

Then I poured olive oil into my iron skillet and turned up the heat to medium low.  I used medium low since these particular pork chops were quite thick.  They were about an inch thick, so I had to cook them slow  so the inside will not be pink.

 

 

Once the oil was heated enough – you can sprinkle water and if the oil sizzles, the oil is hot enough – I put the pork chops in there.

 

 

Then, slowly but surely, I saw the edges on the bottom of the pork chops starting to brown, and the pork chops were showing that it was cooked up to the middle height of the pork chops, I turned them over to brown the other side.

 

 

Then, once they were done, I just served them immediately, alongside with the Roasted Fruits and Vegetables, a side salad and for Hubby, a small bowl of apple sauce.

 

 

Apple sauce goes really well with pork chops.  Try it… 🙂

 

 

See the crust of the pork chops?  It tasted like I had cooked it with bacon!   There was that just deliciousness of crispy cooked pork chops, so tasty, so juicy that you would want to eat another piece, and another piece, until there were no more pork chops to eat.

 

 

I constrained myself and ate only half of the pork chops, since I am trying to be a good girl and get rid of this muffin top of mine…  I took the other half for my lunch at work the next day, and even though it was heated up, I was expecting a dry, heated up pork chops.  Boy, I was wrong.  It was still juicy and the taste of the fried fat lingers on the pork chops.  I savored every bite of that left over, and wished I had more.  So, until next time!  Have a good weekend!

Print recipe here.

Iron Skillet Pork Chops

Ingredients:

Boneless pork chops
Garlic powder
Black pepper
White pepper
Salt

Preparation:
Rinse pork chops and pat dry.
Sprinkle both sides of pork chops with garlic powder, black and white peppers and salt.
Heat up olive oil on an iron skillet on medium heat.
Fry pork chops on both sides until they were  done, about  5-7 minutes on each side (depending the thickness of the pork chops).
Serve with apple sauce on the side.

This entry was posted in Pork and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

