Homemade Chili

This is a major repeat. I repeat, this is a major repeat.  Ha ha….. Well I said repeat because I had somewhat talked about Chili in my Tex-Mex Enchiladas post, that’s why I felt that I need to put in this disclaimer.  However, the emphasis of this post will be the Chili itself, while the previous posting emphasized the Enchiladas.  And there are so many repeated steps in this cooking… you’ll see…  So… without further adieu, I am giving all the credit to Hubby.  This is his recipe and his best chili ever.  Before meeting Hubby, my best eaten chili was Chili made by Uncle Wolf.  Yes, do you know that I have all these Aunties and Uncles who are good cooks out there?  Like Uncle Hines and Auntie Betty?

I would buy the bulk of Uncle Wolf’s Chili at Sam’s Club, and I would eat that canned Chili without any further thought as to, perhaps there is better tasting Chili out there.  Wolf Brand Chili was my best friend, that was, until I met Hubby, or until Hubby (not yet bestowed with this title) cooked me up a pot of his homemade Chili.  I fell in love for the first time for his Chili, and since then, I did not go back to Uncle Wolf’s Chili anymore.  Not even a tinge of regret.  No pangs of guilt either.  Yes, it was that good, that you would forgo whatever Chili you ever had.  This one hit you smack dab in your taste buds and you would say, “Where have you been all of my life?”  Hmm… how come it sounds more like a paragraph in a romance novel rather than a food blog?

Ha… Let’s carry on and talk about the Chili itself. The ingredients look like a lot of stuff in the picture, but actually, it was pretty simple.  Tomato, meat, veggies, and spices!  You would need three kinds of canned tomatoes here, whole tomatoes, tomato sauce and tomato paste.  The whole tomatoes were thrown in there since we love to eat chunks of tomato when we eat our Chili.  The paste is thrown in there to intensify the tomato taste, so that the Chili does not taste like a water downed tomato based soup.  Then, three to four pounds of lean ground beef – usually I freeze the leftovers, so whenever Hubby cooks Chili, he always makes sure that I have plenty leftover to freeze.  Then the other ingredients were onion, bell peppers, Jalapeno and Serrano peppers.  The spices were just cumin, chili powder, ground pepper and salt.  Pretty simple right?

 

 

As usual, I chopped up the veggies first.

 

 

Then I opened up the canned tomatoes, taking care that the tomato sauces did not get splashed all over the counter and stain the countertop.  Not that anyone can see red marks on my granite countertop since it would blend in nicely…

 

 

So then Hubby was ready to start cooking. He heated up some olive oil in our new shiny 14 inch frying pan… That thing is huge… it is like cooking in a flying saucer!

 

 

Then the chopped onion went into the pan…

 

 

They were cooked on medium heat until they started to get translucent…

 

 

Then the bell pepper was next…

 

 

Stirred them around…

 

 

Jalapeno and Serrano peppers were next… mixed them around, cooked some more until the peppers started to soften up and released its aroma…

 

 

Then the garlic was next. Hubby put in the garlic last since garlic can brown and burn easily, resulting in a bitter taste.

 

 

Stirred them around again, let the veggies mingle and be merry…Then the spices were next… first it was a splash of cumin…maybe about half a teaspoon …

 

 

Chili powder…

 

 

Salt…

 

 

The black and white pepper…

 

 

Stirred them around, and the ground meat got its turn….

 

 

Then Hubby repeated with the spices… Chili powder…

 

 

Cumin…

 

 

Salt…

 

 

Black and White Pepper….

 

 

While Hubby was breaking down the ground meat from its packaging shape, I dumped the canned whole tomato into a stock pot.

 

 

Then the same deal… chili powder…

 

 

Cumin…

 

 

Salt…

 

 

Black peppers…. Didn’t I mention at the beginning of my post.. that this is a major repeat?

 

 

White peppers…

 

 

Stirred them around slowly… we didn’t want to get those whole tomatoes busted…

 

 

Then back into the frying pan… the meat was browning nicely…

 

 

And it got dumped into the pot…

 

 

Then, Hubby poured a can of the tomato sauce into the frying pan…

 

 

Added about a can of water…

 

 

Added chopped onion…  This was an after thought.  We usually cook about 3 pounds of meat, but this time we cooked about 4 pounds of meat.  So we added more onion so that it will balance the flavor.

 

 

Same deal.. chili powder…

 

 

Cumin…

 

 

Salt…

 

 

Peppers… Hey.. this is getting more and more like chorus in a song!  What do you think?

 

 

Then Hubby added the second can of tomato sauce.

 

 

Added a can of water, basically to rinse off the leftover tomato sauce in the can, as well as adding liquid to the Chili.

 

 

Meanwhile, the stock pot was heating up, and the Chili was cooking nicely…

 

 

Then we added the sauces that were heated up in the frying pan…

 

 

Added the tomato paste into the pot…

 

 

Stirred them around and brought them to a boil…

 

 

Then we transferred the chili into two crock pots since we don’t have one crock pot big enough for all that Chili.  In one Hubby added more spices since I like spicy food.  Isn’t he very thoughtful?  I am very lucky to have him!

 

 

Mixed them up and then we just left them alone..

 

 

We set the heat on low and let the Chili cook all day long…

 

 

About an hour before dinner time, I pulled out my 20 years old rice cooker and dumped some rice in there.  Yes, believe it or not, this rice cooker is probably over 20 years old.  It was a hand-me-down from my sister while she was in college, passed on to my brother and finally I am the keeper of the rice cooker.  As long as the rice cooker works, why should I replace it?

 

 

Then I added the water…

 

 

Closed the lid, pushed down the button and let the magic do its works.

 

 

Half an hour later I have cooked, plumped, moist rice.

 

 

I scooped some rice into my bowl…

 

 

Ladled up some Chili into the bowl…

 

 

Added some fresh chopped onions…

 

 

Fritos…

 

 

Fresh shaved cheddar cheese… and I was ready to dig in.

 

 

I am telling you, as I am typing this post, my mouth starts getting watery and I want to have some more Chili!  The Chili burst with flavor, the sweetness of the tomato, the crunchiness of the Fritos…the fresh onion… cheese….  it all blended in and was just darn tasty.  Hubby added sour cream to his bowl of Chili, but I prefer it straight and not creamy.   So, while winter lurks out there, I am content sitting in the house with a bowl of warm, tasty Chili.  I can just stay in the house as long as I have Chili in the crock pot.  How about you?  Have I convinced you to try to make a batch of this Chili?

 

 

Print recipe here.
Homemade Chili

Ingredients:
3 lbs lean ground beef
1 28 oz can whole tomato
2 15 oz can tomato sauce
1 6 oz can tomato paste
1 large onion, diced
1 bell pepper, diced
1 Jalapeno pepper, minced
1 Serrano pepper, minced
3-4 cloves garlic, minced
Cumin
Chili powder
Salt
Black and White peppers
Olive oil

Directions:
Heat olive oil in large frying pan.  Cook the onion until it starts to turn translucent, and add in the bell peppers, Jalapeno and Serrano peppers and garlic.  Cook until the peppers become aromatic and put it an equivalent amount of chili powder and cumin powder.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Add in ground beef, add some more spices (from here on, spices means chili powder, cumin, black peppers, white peppers, and salt) to the pan, cook until ground beef is no longer pink.

Put the canned whole tomato into a large pot or a stock pot, seasoned with the spices.   Turn the heat in medium.

When the meat is no longer pink, pour the meat into the stock pot.   Do not clean the frying pan.

Turn the low/medium heat on the frying pan.  Pour one can of tomato sauce, and one can of water (use the tomato sauce can).  Add spices in, mix well.  Then add the other can of tomato sauce, as well as the addition of a can of water.  Pour the tomato sauce into the stock pot and bring them to boil.  Adjust seasoning as needed.

Transfer chili into crock pot(s) and cook on low heat for 6 to 8 hours.

Serve over rice, top with fresh chopped onion. Fritos, shredded Cheddar cheese and sour cream can also be added.

This entry was posted in Beef, Food, Tex-Mex and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Homemade Chili

  1. Nancy Cox says:

    Hi, Annie. I’m good friends w/Renee’ Addison. I made this chili yesterday and instead of putting the hot peppers, I substituted a can of Rotel (hot) and I mixed in three packages of mild chili mix. It was wonderful. Everyone gobbled it up. I only have enough for one bowl of leftovers.

    Like

  2. Peggie says:

    Looks delcious…loving your blog and recipes so far.. Making the Chocolate Trifle tonight!

    Like

Leave a Reply

