Nigella’s Instant Chocolate Mousse

I first saw about this Instant Chocolate Mousse from a fellow blogger, All Kinds of Hungry.  She had made this chocolate mousse that sounded so easy and yummy, and she worked out the kinks already!  Thanks Leashieloo!  So I had kept that in mind and also read up on the reviews on the Food Network, as well as checking out other foodies out there that had experimented with this recipe.  I had wanted to make it when the kids were here during Thanksgiving.  Alas, the kitchen was such in a whirlwind state that making the mousse simply did not enter my mind.

So, I was such in a cooking mood Saturday and finished up roasting Pastor Ryan’s style Roasted Chickens, and just finished up making the Smoky Lentil Soup too.  My hands were still itching to do something, and the kitchen was already cleaned!  Not so my home office, but that is not a pertinent subject here.  So I started thinking, what about making a quick dessert?  I remembered about the Mousse, and quickly went online to find the recipe and check that I had everything I needed to make the Mousse.

Mini marshmallows, water, butter, chocolate chips, vanilla, and cream.  My heavy cream was frozen, and after reading online, frozen cream can be thawed, but it might be separated and possibly cannot be whipped.  So I had to forgo the heavy cream.  I checked on my Whipping Cream, and yeah!  It was still in liquid state.  So I used that instead.  The difference between the heavy cream and whipping cream is just the fat content.  So, as long as it can be whipped… that will do, so I thought.

 

So I dumped the marshmallows into a sauce pan.

 

Sliced up the unsalted butter…

 

Dumped in the chocolate chips.  I am so glad that Ghirardelli decided to make chocolate chips for their cooking dark chocolate.  I bought a huge bag from Sam’s and was really happy that I now do not have to chop chocolate bars into pieces.

 

Then I boiled some water in a small pot…

 

Measured out about 1/4 cup….

 

Dumped them into the pan and turned on the heat into a medium/medium low heat.  I really do not like to melt chocolate in direct heat like this, since chocolate burns easily.  So I got my spatula ready and ready to stir…

 

The chocolate quickly melted…

 

And the marshmallow was the last one to melt…

 

Finally everything was melted and incorporated, and the chocolate was now ready to cool off.  I sped it up by putting the pan into a cold water bath…

 

Then I was ready to whip the cream…

 

I added the vanilla, turned on the machine…

 

And I got this…   I really love my mixer.

 

Then I folded the whipped cream into the chocolate mixture.  As the chocolate mixture cooled faster than it was supposed to, it looked somewhat grainy.  But, not to worry, it would smooth out once everything was folded.

 

A little bit more folding….

 

Voila!  I got my Instant Chocolate Mousse ready!

 

I poured them into about 6 dessert cups.  It was so rich, that you could probably only handle about half a cup each…

 

See how smooth it looks?

 

I whipped some more whipped cream to top the mousse…

 

The verdict?

 

Smooth, rich, creamy and heavenly, strictly for dark chocolate lovers.  Non-dark chocolate lovers might not find this as tasty as I do.  Why don’t you try to make it and see if you agree with me?   As for the leftovers?  I was forbidden to take them to work, since the concoction really pleased Hubby’s taste buds.  :)  But take them out of the refrigerator 5-10 minutes before you eat them, since the mousse hardened and bringing them to room temperature helps with the texture.

 

Print recipe here.
Instant Chocolate Mousse
Recipe courtesy Nigella Lawson, 2007, via Food Network

Normally, you need to make chocolate mousse a good few hours, or better still a day, before you want to eat it, so that the egg yolk sets and the whisked whites permeate everything with air bubbles. Forget that: here we have no yolks, no whites, no whisking, no waiting. Lack of raw egg, incidentally, also means that you might be happier giving the mousse to small children, though I certainly feel they should not be the only beneficiaries.

Prep Time: 10 min
Inactive Prep Time: —
Cook Time: 10 min
Level: Easy
Serves: 4 to 6 servings

Ingredients:
3 cups mini marshmallows
1/2 stick unsalted butter, softened
9 ounces best quality semisweet chocolate, chopped into small pieces
1/4 cup hot water from a recently boiled kettle
1 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:
Put the marshmallows, butter, chocolate and water in a heavy-based saucepan.

Put the saucepan on the stove, over medium heat, though keep it fairly gentle, to melt, stirring every now and again. Remove from the heat.  Cool chocolate mixture in room temperature, or you can put the pan into cold water bath to help speed up the cooling process.

Meanwhile whip the cream with the vanilla until thick and then fold into the cooling chocolate mixture until you have a smooth, cohesive mixture.

Pour or scrape into 4 or 6 glasses or small dishes and chill until you want to eat. Top off with some more whipped cream.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nigella’s Instant Chocolate Mousse

  1. leashieloo says:

    It turned out so well! I love the extra whipped cream on top!

    Like

    • axokuaci says:

      Thanks! I was thinking that I might add some shaved chocolate on top… but… I don’t have chocolate bar anymore in my pantry! I guess now I have a reason to keep at least one bar for decoration purposes?🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

