Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

The other soup I was making this past weekend was Turkey Wild Rice Soup.  The recipe is just a “fly-by” recipe, since I just threw in whatever fancied me, or Hubby for that matter, since he will be the one who eats the soup.  Hubby comes home during lunch hour and eats out of the refrigerator.  Last month or two months ago, I made him Chicken Noodle Soup for his lunches.  The Chicken Noodle Soup was long gone, and I wasn’t able to made it last month since we were reserving freezer space for Thanksgiving.  Now that I have space in the freezer, I can make this soup for his lunch.  I actually brought it to work with me this week for lunch too, and it was good.  I might have to make soup sooner than I thought!

So, what I needed was the turkey broth, which I made out of the turkey carcasses, turkey meat (left over from Thanksgiving), chopped celery, chopped carrot, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, poultry seasoning blend herbs, white rice and wild rice.  I was worried when I went shopping that I wouldn’t be able to find the wild rice in my tiny grocery store, but I was lucky.  Next time I will probably stock up on wild rice whenever I go to the bigger store.  It’s just the tiny store is about 3 minutes away from me, so that makes me lazy to go to the bigger store.

 

 
The celery and carrots were chopped the day before, so I didn’t have to mess with them.  The onions and garlic though, I chopped and minced them that day.

 

 
The herbs blend was rosemary, sage, and thyme.

 

 
I defrosted the turkey broth in a large stock pot.

 

 
I added the minced garlic…

 

 
Chopped onion…

 

 
Carrots…

 

 
Celery…

 

 
Turkey meat…

 

 
Then I cut up a piece of cheese cloth for the herbs.

 

 
Bundled them up so I could fish them out easily from the stock pot.

 

 
The soup was simmering while I was wrapping the herbs.  At this point, Hubby added the salt and pepper to the pot.

 

 
Then I dumped the herbs in the pot.

 

 
After an hour, I added the rice into the pot and let it simmer for an hour.  I added water as necessary, since the rice soaked up the broth.

 

 
After an hour, I fished out the herbs…

 

 
And then the soup was ready.  So for our lunch that Sunday, we ate fresh Turkey and Wild Rice Soup.  It was delicious, tasty, and very good.  It was full of shredded, tender turkey meat, chunks of veggies, and the warm soup is just perfect for a cold weather.

 

Print recipe here.

Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

Ingredients:
Turkey broth, or chicken broth
Left over turkey meat, shredded
1 Onion, chopped
4 -5 stalks of celery, cut up
4 – 5 carrots, cut up
2-3 garlic clove, minced
poultry seasoning blend herbs (rosemary, sage, and thyme) – wrap in cheese cloth
White, long grain rice
Wild rice
Salt and pepper

Preparation:
Heat turkey broth until it comes a boil, turn down to a medium heat.
Put in vegetables, herbs, salt and pepper and turkey meat into the pot.  Let simmer until the vegetables are tender, about an hour.
Then put the rice into the pot, let it simmer for an hour.  Add water as necessary as the rice will soak up the broth.
Pull the herbs out of the stock pot and serve.

This entry was posted in Food, Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Turkey and Wild Rice Soup

  1. wilf rice itu apaan ya mbak???
    disini harganya mahal bgt loh, pake kemasan vakum pula…

    Like

    • Anny says:

      Ternyata… wild rice itu sejenis rumput. Bukan familynya beras. Selama ini aku pikir sejenis beras… dari wisegeek, katanya ini tumbuhnya liar, di danau atau area yang banyak airnya. Terus agak susah di commercializasikan, makanya harganya mahal dibandingkan beras biasa. Lah itu di foto, satu box kecil ricenya… yang ini nggak sampe di vacuum pack yah…

      Like

Leave a Reply

