Posole

I was busy this past weekend.  I had planned on making soup and banana bread to send to my friend (just the bread part, that is).  Alas, I was only able to achieve making the soup.  I guess I was overly ambitious with myself.  My freezer was full of some sort of broth from previous cookings.  Chicken broth, turkey broth, pork butt broth, you name it.  So it was time for me to use those up and make them into some sort of soup.  The weather in Houston was perfect for soup too, so, soup making was the project for Sunday.

The one that I want to talk about first was the Posole or Pozole, since this is the more complicated soup making.  Posole is a meat and hominy (white corn) stew, usually the meat is pork, but sometimes they make it out of chicken as well.  This soup is originally from ancient Mexico, possibly the ancient Aztec.  One thing from Wikipedia that caught my eyes was, that posole was made out of human flesh during some sort of ritual!  Prisoners would be sacrificed, the heart was taken out, and then the limbs would be going into the cook pot!  I was just aghast to find this story.  I then looked for some more information online about this dish, but people mostly talked about how to cook it, not about the history.  So, I moved on and did not press it further.  If I did press further, I might end up with making no more posole.

This recipe we used was found several months ago, when Hubby was researching about Smoked Pork Butt.  This recipe uses the Pork Butt Stock, which I made after we finished pulling the meat off the bone back in September.  So some of my work was already cut down.  The longest part anyway.  Simmering the bones to get the broth was easy actually, it just takes time to get that delicious flavorful of broth.

For this soup, since we already have the broth and Hubby likes to eat chunks of meat, I went and got half a pork loin.  The other ingredients were hominy, onion, garlic, lime, cilantro, poblano peppers, oregano, cumin, salt, and olive oil.  That’s it!

 

 

First I drizzled olive oil on the peppers.

 

 

Rubbed the oil into all sides of the peppers and threw them into the oven to roast until the skins were charred.  The recipe said about 15 to 20 minutes, but my peppers were not at room temperature.  They came straight out of the refrigerator, so it took me longer to roast them.

 

 

Then I chopped the onion, garlic, and cilantro, as well as squeezed the lime juice.

 

 

Cut up the pork loin into about one inch cubes.

 

 

After about half an hour in the oven, the peppers were completely roasted.

 

 

Then I put the peppers in a bowl, covered it with plastic wrap in attempt to steam the peppers.  Supposedly this action will help with peeling the skin off easier.

 

 

Then I put one pepper into a cutting board, and started to peel the translucent skin off the pepper.

 

 

Scraped the seeds with a spoon.  You will want to scrape them all out, since those seeds are pretty big.   The seeds diameter were about five millimeter, which are pretty big.

 

 

Then I rough chopped them…

 

 

Dumped them into a food processor…

 

 

And made a puree out of the peppers.  At this point, I understood how to make “verde” dishes.  The coloring came from pureed green peppers.

 

 

Then I pulled out my iron skillet, since I wanted to brown the pork first.  I heated up the olive oil and dropped in the onion into the iron skillet.

 

 

Then after the onion was starting to get caramelized, I dropped in the pork.

 

 

I let the pork to cook a little bit on the outside, since I didn’t want to completely cook it.

 

 

Then the garlic and cilantro went it…

 

 

Stirred it around…

 

 

Then the pureed peppers went in…

 

 

Added the cumin…

 

 

Oregano, salt, and mixed them in…

 

 

Meanwhile, I already defrosted the Pork Butt Stock into a stock pot, and heated it up.

 

 

Added oregano, which I then crushed with my fingers to get the smaller bits of the dried herb…

 

 

Cumin…

 

 

Then I added the pork mixture into the stock pot.

 

 

Added the lime juice…

 

 

Stirred it around, and let the soup came to a boil, and simmer for a good 6 – 8 hours to get the meat tender.  After an hour or two hours of simmering, I transferred the soup to a crock pot and let it cook that way.  That way I could leave it alone and wouldn’t burn the meat at the bottom.

 

 

Then, about an hour prior eating, I drained the hominy…

 

 

Dropped it into the crock pot, and let it cook for the hour.  I didn’t want to cook it at the beginning since I didn’t want the hominy to turn mushy.

 

 

So, we had the posole ready to eat!  The garnishes that went with this soup were sliced radish, shredded cabbage, cut-up avocado, sliced jalapeno, chopped cilantro, lime, and sour cream.

 

 

I ladled myself a bowl of soup, and top if off with the garnishes, and tortilla chips!

 

 

It was delicious, hearty soup, and delightful to our tummy!  It was guaranteed to make you warm in the tummy!

 

 

Print recipe here.

Posole
Recipe adapted from Steve Cutchen

Ingredients:

3 15 1/2 ounce cans of hominy
2 pounds pork loin, cut into 1 inch cubes
1 onion, medium, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
6 cups pork butt stock
2 teaspoons ground oregano
2 teaspoons cumin
3 poblano chiles
kosher salt, to taste
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1 lime, juiced

For serving:
1 avocado, diced
1 lime, cut into wedges
1 cup cilantro, chopped
1/2 cup sliced red radish
1 cup shredded cabbage
1/2 cup onion, diced
Crema Mexicana or sour cream
flour tortillas or tortilla chips

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450.

Rub poblanos with olive oil and roast for 15 to 20 minutes until charred, turning to cook evenly. Seal chiles in a bowl with plastic wrap and let them steam for 10 minutes to loosen the skins. Peel, seed, and rough chop the poblanos. Place the chiles in a blender. Add 1/4 cup of water and blend on high until a smooth puree has formed. Add additional water if necessary.

In an iron skillet, heat olive oil and sweat the onion for 10 minutes until tender.  Throw in cubed pork loin and cook until the edges are browned.  Throw in the garlic and cilantro, stir it around.  Add the poblano puree and mix well.  Pour the stock into the pot and add the oregano, cumin and lime juice. Add the pork mixture, return to boil and let simmer for an hour.  Transfer soup to a crock pot, cook on low heat for 5 to 6 hours or until pork is tender.  An hour before serving, add the hominy into the crock pot.  At this point, adjust your spices and salt. Serve.

Pour into bowls and serve with sliced radishes, shredded cabbage, lime wedges, chopped cilantro, avocado slices, sour cream and tortillas or tortilla chips.

This entry was posted in Food, Mexican, Pork and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Posole

  1. danmarie says:

    This is making me hungry.

    Like

Leave a Reply

