Mom’s Fruit Salad

The first time I ate this Fruit Salad was many, many years ago.  It was at a Christmas dinner at my mother-in-law’s house.  I liked it so much that since then, my mother-in-law has let me make it every time we have a holiday dinner together.  It is quite easy, quick and pleasing to the taste buds, that is, if you like sweet and coconut.  I know there are people out there that don’t like coconut.  I myself, grew up in coconut country, so, coconut-liking is ingrained in my DNA.  Coconut for cream, coconut for dessert, coconut for sauce, you name it.  Here, it was harder to find.  They have the processed, shredded coconut, which usually is already sweetened.  Grocery stores started carrying whole coconuts in the past few years, but, lacking a “parang” or a machette to chop it open, I did not even think about buying it whole.  I don’t want to end up with a dozen of blunt knives in my kitchen trying to chop open a coconut.  Believe it or not, I learned how to shave the top part of the coconut and create the hole so I could drain the coconut juice.  The only thing I didn’t get to learn was climbing a coconut tree.  That, my friends, is a specialized skill.

So back to the fruit salad.  I don’t know how old the recipe is, and I believe Hubby grew up eating this fruit salad during the holidays.  So I imagine the recipe could have been passed down from generation to generation.  Well, right now it was passed down to me, so it is a generation at least.   :)  Canned chunk pineapple, mandarin oranges, maraschino cherries, small marshmallows, sour cream, coconut and pecans.  I imagine that if you would like to add something else, anything could be added, as far as fruit goes.

 

 

The first order of this Fruit Salad was draining the juice out of the cans.  I had kids in the house, so they were happy to drink up the juice.  Of course, after that, I had a houseful of bouncy kids.  Ha ha… actually just one kid.  The other one was too busy doing something.

 

 

For a good measure, I drained the fruit in a colander, and let the juice drip down into the sink.

 

 

Then I dumped the pineapple into a big mixing bowl.  Then I added the pecans.

 

 

Marshmallows…

 

 

Meanwhile, I drained and rinsed the cherries.  I didn’t want my salad turning pink, so I rinsed the cherries and got the red out as much as it would.

 

 

Then I dumped them into the mixing bowl…

 

 

Next, I scraped out some sour cream.

 

 

Coconut…

 

 

Mixed them up…

 

 

And then I added the mandarin oranges last.  I didn’t want to add it earlier because I didn’t want the oranges to get mushed.

 

 

I folded the oranges carefully, and voila!  Done!  How quick was that?

 

 

Easy, sweet, crunchy fruit salad.

 

 

This salad can be made ahead too, except, just remember to bring it out of the refrigerator and serve it.  Don’t do the same thing I did during Thanksgiving dinner – forget about it.  🙂

 

 

Print recipe here.

Mom’s Fruit Salad

Ingredients:
2 cans mandarin orange
2 cans pineapple chunk
1 package of miniature marshmallow
1 can angel flask coconut
1 pint sour cream
1 bottle cherry maraschino
1 cup of whole pecans

Preparation:
Drains fruits completely.
Mix all together except mandarin orange.
After everything is mixed, fold in mandarin orange.
Chill for at least an hour, then serve.

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Fruit, Salad, Side Dish and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom’s Fruit Salad

  1. Cheryl Knight says:

    Thank you. I was looking for the perfect thing to take to work for munchies this week. YAY! Found it. Happy Holidays!
    C

    Like

Leave a Reply

