Marshmallow Pilgrim Hats

I did something fun for snack day at the office and for our Thanksgiving holiday.  I made these cute Marshmallow Pilgrim Hats.  I found this recipe many many years ago, and I made them for a snack day at the office.  Since then, every time we have a themed snack day, I tried to find cute snacks to bring.

It was very easy to make these cute snacks.  If you have kids, it is fun to have them make the hats.  In this case, I had my grandson, Kameron, to make them for our Thanksgiving dinner with the family.

I needed chocolate-striped shortbread cookies, large marshmallows, chocolate chips, and yellow icing.  How simple is that?

 

 
First I dumped the chocolate chips into a microwaveable bowl.

 

 
Then I nuked the chips in the microwave until they were melted, stirring occasionally.

 

 
Then I arranged the cookies up side down on a platter.

 

 
Poked a marshmallow with a toothpick…

 

 
Dunked the marshmallow in the melted chocolate…

 

 
Then plopped the chocolate-coated marshmallows on top of a cookie, then slowly pulled the toothpick out…

 

 
After a couple of marshmallows, I decided to use a quicker route.  I used a fork and a spoon.  I dumped a marshmallow into the chocolate bowl…

 

 
Then used the spoon to roll the marshmallow over until it was coated thoroughly with chocolate…

 

 
Then I picked it up with the fork, placing the round part of the marshmallow on the body of the fork…

 

 
Put it on top of the cookie, and slid the bottom of the marshmallow from the fork using a toothpick.

 

 
It was a whole lot easier, and in no time I had these 14 marshmallows coated with chocolate.  Then they went into the refrigerator to get chilled…

 

 
The chocolate hardened and it was time to put the buckles on.

 

 
Picked up a hat…  Don’t you think it looks like a hat??

 

 
Drew the buckle on the hat…

 

 
And, the Pilgrim Hats were done!

 

 
Aren’t they cute?

 

 
Do you want to eat them?

 

 
Yes I do!!

 

 
Maybe not??

 

 
Well, they were too cute to eat, but people at work had no qualms about gobbling up these hats.

 

 
This one reminds me of Dr. Seuss’s cat in the crooked hat…  Not that I watch Dr. Seuss…

 

 
Last week, when the grandkids came down for Thanksgiving, I had Kameron in charge of making these hats.  He enjoyed making the hats, and really liked drawing the buckles.

 

 
These are Kam’s version of the hats.  Easy, quick, cute, snacks.

 

 
Print recipe here.

Marshmallow Pilgrim Hats
Recipe by: Family Fun Magazine

Ingredients
24 chocolate-striped shortbread cookies
12-ounce package of chocolate chips
24 marshmallows
tube of yellow decorators’ frosting
Instructions
Set the chocolate-striped cookies stripes down on a wax-paper-covered tray, spacing them well apart.

Melt the chocolate chips in a microwave or double boiler.

One at a time, stick a wooden toothpick into a marshmallow, dip the marshmallow into the melted chocolate, and promptly center it atop a cookie.

Using a second toothpick to lightly hold down the marshmallow, carefully pull out the first toothpick.

Chill the hats until the chocolate sets, then pipe a yellow decorators’ frosting buckle on the front of each hat.

This entry was posted in Candy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

