Chocolate Pecan Pie

What came to your mind when you read the title of this post?  Do you think more of the pecan pie part or do you think more of the chocolate part of the pie?  Well, I was thinking more of the pecan pie part, and was thinking of the taste of the pecan pie, except it was made from chocolate.  Well!!!  I was somewhat disappointed with the outcome, since I was thinking more of the pecan pie.  The chocolate overwhelms the pecan pie flavor, and in fact, the pie turned out to be more fudgey type pie.  So, if you are a chocolate lover, go for it!

Hubby found this recipe from someone’s blog in the Houston Chronicle.  I tried to locate the original recipe, but, no such luck.

The ingredients were typical of a pecan pie, except with the chocolate chips thrown in.  Butter, light corn syrup, sugar, egg, pecan, chocolate chip, and vanilla.  And an unbaked pie shell, not pictured below.

 

I poured the light corn syrup into a pan…

 

Added the sugar…

 

Added the butter, and then vanilla…

 

Stirred it …

 

Until the butter and sugar were melted.

 

While the sugar and butter were melting, I did a quick chop on the pecans.

 

Then I beat the eggs lightly…

 

After the syrup was combined,  I turned off the stove and removed the pan from the heat.  Then I dumped the chocolate chips.

 

Stirred it until the chips were melted….

 

Then, I dumped the chopped pecans into the bottom of the pie crust – note, I didn’t really like this step since I ended up with most of the pecans at the bottom of the pie.  I usually dump the pecans into the syrup pan, coat the pecans, and then pour the concoction into the pan.  The chocolate pecan concoction was too heavy for the pecans to float themselves around.

 

Then, the recipe said to cool off the chocolate concoction, but I found a faster way.  Thanks to previous recipes that taught me how to temper egg with hot ingredients, I proceeded to temper the eggs by pouring about maybe a whole cup of the chocolate syrup mixture into the egg bowl.  Since I was dealing with some delicacy issues here, I didn’t have any other picture other than when I was about to pour the chocolate into the beaten eggs.  If I insisted on taking pictures, I would have ended up with chocolate omelet.  We didn’t want that, did we?

 

So, I drizzled the chocolate concoction into the beaten egg, while I was whisking the egg.  This way, the coolness of the egg seized the chocolate concoction, rather than the heat from the chocolate cooking the egg.  I continued to add the chocolate until it was incorporated, and then the mixture in the bowl resembles the chocolate, syrup, sugar, butter concoction.

 

Then I poured the tempered egg into the pan, and this way the egg was already incorporated with the batter, and would not get cooked.

 

Whisked them until all of them were combined….

 

Then poured the batter into the pie shell…

 

Then it was ready to be baked.

 

I could barely see if there were any pecans on the top of the pie once it was baked.

 

I served it with a dollop of whipped cream….

 

And you can see from the picture below that the consistency of the pie was more like of a fudge pecan pie.  Well, that’s one of my experiments in the kitchen that I didn’t really like the outcome.  However, office people?  Some of them loved it.   They were definitely the chocolate lovers.  All right, until my next post!  Ciao!

 

Print recipe here.

Chocolate Pecan Pie
Source unknown, adapted by me.
Ingredients:
1 cup light corn syrup
2/3 cup sugar
½ cup or 4 oz. bittersweet chocolate
2 TB unsalted butter
1 tsp vanilla
3 eggs, beaten
1 cup pecan pieces
1 unbaked 9” pie shell

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a heavy saucepan combine corn syrup, sugar, margarine, and vanilla. Bring to boil while stirring constantly.
3. Remove pan from heat and add chocolate. Stir until chocolate is completely melted.
4. Beat eggs lightly.
5. Temper the eggs with slowly drizzling about a cup of the chocolate mixture into the eggs,
while whisking the eggs so that the chocolate will combined.
6. Place pecans evenly at the bottom of the unbaked pie shell. Pour chocolate mixture over
pecans.
7. Bake 1 hour until set. If the crust begins to prematurely brown, place aluminum foil over the crust while cooking, to prevent it from turning too dark.

This entry was posted in Chocolate, Food, Pie and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

